We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The King Charles Hotel

687 reviews
Save
Traveller (95)
Room & Suite (271)
Dining (57)
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good41%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“royal engineers”(15 reviews)
“family run hotel”(13 reviews)
“bar meals”(11 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (687)Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Filter reviews
655 results
Traveller rating
189
251
110
53
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
189
251
110
53
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal engineersfamily run hotelbar mealsbridal suitechatham dockyardfull englishfamily roomwould stay againbudget hotelreception staffrestaurant staffbirthday partyfriendly hotelpleasant stayplenty of parkingtea and coffeestayed here for one night
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 655 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly reception, plenty of parking, clean, comfortable room, bar meal tasty and good value. Location itself is convenient but not especially attractive, but the hotel itself has character. Spacious public area. I would consider this as a base for a touring holiday in north Kent.

Thank Jon R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed one night for a business trip. I only stayed in this area as it was close to work. Not a place for leisure, unless you like boats. You get what you pay for with this hotel, its nice and cheap and does the job....More

Thank 201louiseh
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is not a fancy place - or pretty for that matter - but the staff are friendly, the rooms are clean and efficient, and they serve a decent English breakfast. Cheap, cheerful and recommended. PS Avoid Gillingham High Street - it’s not worth the...More

Thank Counosboy
Response from stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your recent review of the King Charles Hotel Cleanliness and Customer Service are very important to us, and I am happy to read that you more than satisfied with both aspects of the hotel.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was not surprised that no changes to this hotel Room was dated USB Plug not working in room Radiator in bathroom not working Shower flow off water not great Bed a bit lumpy Breakfast poor and a very out dated layout and not great choices...More

Thank valhalla4901
Response from stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your recent review of the King Charles Hotel I am sorry that some of the facilities in your room were not working. If you had notified reception of this we would of either fixed the fault, or moved your room for you.

Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel Friday to Sunday rooms clean tidy ate at restaurant food great service quick food hot just as I like some restaurants slow cold food not this restaurant breakfast good value would recommend 🧡❤️💛💚💙 thanks for great time

Thank graham w
Response from stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your recent review of the King Charles Hotel A guest recommendation is the best review we could ask for. I hope you will see you at the hotel again in the future.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
123456131
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 59 - US$ 108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 59 - US$ 108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (95)
Room & Suite (271)
Dining (57)
Amenities (45)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
alis0nsmith46
4 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from graham w | Reviewed this property |
When we stayed did not need to book table great menu standard prices cater for every one great food
1
Vote
maria j
12 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from samantha w | Reviewed this property |
Hi Marie sorry I only went overnight. Was fab tho and very close to the town
1
Vote
Maureen N
22 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Terry S | Reviewed this property |
I Presume you are disabled, Parking is bad at this hotel, suggest you ask them to reserve a space if they can. Large unmarked car park last year we stayed there.
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"I have stayed here on four occasions and had different rooms. All were quiet, warm comfortable and..."
Read review
"Excellent menu choice and quality of food"
Read review
"Check with hotel to see if they have any theme nights or parties going on and get a quiet room away from the..."
Read review
"Book the Spa Bridal Suite for a lovely experience!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing