We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Medway

PricelineUS$ 36*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 38*
US$ 36*
Great Deal
US$ 38*
US$ 38*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Medway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 35: English reviews
Start your review of YHA Medway
 Click to rate
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We come every year to the YHA Medway with a group of french speaking girls from Belgium who are around 14 years old to practice their English. We love this place mainly for the homey feeling we get after so many years visiting. The people working here are always doing their very best to ensure we have everything we need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Céline L
YhaMedwayManager, Manager at YHA Medway, responded to this review

Thank you for the great feedback, we always aim to give every group the best possible experience and are glad you keep choosing to come back and stay with us. We look foward to your next visit.

Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Booked a family room for three for a two night stay. The room and bathroom facilities were as expected (good value for money). The service was excellent - very helpful and friendly. Enjoyed a YHA evening meal and breakfasts. Found lots of activities in the area. We'll be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K S
YhaMedwayManager, Manager at YHA Medway, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback, we try our best to make families feel at home whilst they stay with us and continue to work hard to make every experience with us as good as possible.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Our walking group stayed at Medway Youth Hostel March 2017 which is a former Oast House typical of the brewing heritage of the area in a great location with ample parking and is close to the North Downs area. The rooms were clean although quite compact but were well laid out with ample and spacious hot shower and toilet provisions...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bluewalkerspringer
YhaMedwayManager, Manager at YHA Medway, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback. We have recently reviewed our booking policy to keep group bookings seperate from individual/family bookings giving everyone the best possible YHA experience. We really appreciate your feedback on this matter and hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Reviewed 19 March 2017

Excellent staff very professional, sympathetic and flexible The hotel was very clean We had a typical english breakfast every morning We had very peaceful nights We also had a huge parking for the coach

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Philippe C
YhaMedwayManager, Manager at YHA Medway, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback, we aim to give the best possible service in a clean comfortable environment for everyone especially for school groups. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will consider the YHA for future school trips.

Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Stayed here for a full week for a work seminar. Staff were fantastic- always friendly and professional and accommodating to any of our needs. Specifically the food was great and the place felt like home after one night.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank heffernansheila
YhaMedwayManager, Manager at YHA Medway, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. We try our best to make our hostels feel like home from home and with our new Menu's their is a different meal to enjoy every night of the week. We hope you visit again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

We would never stay here again. On Saturday night the whole place was taken over for an all night party. Music shouting and screaming until 4am. Completely out of control. Not what you'd expect from YHA.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichaelEason
YhaMedwayManager, General Manager at YHA Medway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review YHA Medway, we are genuinely sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We always endeavour to provide guests with the best possible service so your comments are truly disappointing to hear. Your feedback has been vital in assessing our procedures for large group bookings and I can assure...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

I have recently been staying at YHA Medway for 2 nights a week to reduce my commute/ time/fuel costs. I have enjoyed the home from home feel. The feel of the hostel is professional but somehow manages to stay very relaxed., The staff also make you feel welcome. Fantastic value for money , a hot shower , a place to...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nhendrie
YhaMedwayManager, Manager at YHA Medway, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback. The internet can be a bit of an issue unfortunately due to our country location. We try to offer the best value for money and are glad you have found a home away from away staying with us. We hope you continue to come and stay at the YHA and we look forward to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017

As a weekly guest at YHA Medway, I have never been disappointed. This hostel has been a complete sanctuary in an otherwise quite challenging area of Kent. Reassuringly warm, homely, welcoming and peaceful, the hostel is impeccably well cared for. One important aspect to note is that the hostel is a little out of town, so if you are a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ontheroad2017
YhaMedwayManager, Manager at YHA Medway, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. Without a car travelling here can be a bit tricky but as you mentioned Taxi's and Buses are available and now we are coming into the summer months it is the perfect refuge away from the more industrial surrounding areas. We are glad you enjoyed staying with us and hope you return through the...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017

I was so happy to have found this gem tucked away close to where I grew up. I immediately felt welcome from the minute I arrived, and the christmas tree and festive lights really cheered me up (as I was spending christmas away from my family). The hostel was clean and well kept, and my room was warm despite how...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laura951004
YhaMedwayManager, Manager at YHA Medway, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay around the holidays. We hope you consider visiting us again now the weather has picked up and summer is just around the corner.

Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

A friend recently recommended YHA hostels and we weren't disappointed. Clean and comfortable beds with a double and bunks for kids, perfect for a family. Minimalistic with no fuss. Exactly what we wanted. Hostel doesn't open until 5pm which isn't mentioned so had to wait around but made the most of the great location with Capstone country park on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rob B
YhaMedwayManager, Manager at YHA Medway, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review. We are very pleased to hear you were happy with all the facilities and it is ideally located for families being opposite Capstone park, especially now we are coming into the warmer months. We always strive to get important information to customers as easily accessible as possible and the opening times are specified on...

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gillingham
3.9 km away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
609 reviews
1.6 km away
Premier Inn Gillingham Business Park Hotel
4.2 km away
Premier Inn Chatham/Gillingham (Victory Pier) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
3.9 km away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
298 reviews
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in rural Kent, YHA Medway is opposite Capstone Farm Country Park. This traditional Oast house is also just 10 minutes' drive from Chatham's Historic Dockyard Trust Museum. The Youth Hostel offers both private rooms and dormitory accommodation and has lots of character - look out for exposed beams and beautiful brickwork. Guests are welcome to relax in the ambient communal lounge and make use of the self-catering kitchen, we've got a garden full of colourful planters and picnic benches outside too. YHA Medway is well located accommodation for winter sports at Chatham ski centre, historic Rochester, Chatham Dockyard and the Kent Downs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Medway

Address: 351 Capstone Road, Gillingham ME7 3JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Gillingham
Price Range: ₹ 2,327 - ₹ 4,072 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Medway 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your YHA Medway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Medway staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Medway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Most are bunk beds - you do not get a choice”
Clashworth, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Find a deal online for a hotel!”
24KateG, 16 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Remember it is a youth hostel not a hotel so check roos first”
222paulw222, 25 Jun 2013 | Read review
3 of 3
Priceline
US$ 36* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 38
Orbitz.comUS$ 38
TravelocityUS$ 38
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates