We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel

Save
Traveller (60)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (7)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good28%
  • Average14%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“oysters”(15 reviews)
“dover sole”(12 reviews)
“sea view”(24 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (285)
There are newer reviews for Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
139
81
39
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
139
81
39
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoystersdover solesea viewan amuse bouchepigeon breastserved on hot platessorbetsea frontblack puddingsuperb foodweekend staylamb shoulderbar menufull englishpleasant stayate herecooked to perfection
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2017

This evening my wife treated me to a birthday meal. We have eaten here before and never been disappointed. Tonight was no exception. Nice warm and cosy atmosphere, friendly helpful staff and superb food. If you have any form of allergy, no problem. My wife...More

Thank Danny B
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Second time I've stayed here. Once again, my wife and I were not disappointed. Room perfect overlooking the sea, breakfast choice fantastic. Bar meal menu comprehensive. Staff polite and nothing too much for them. The bar is cosy with it armchairs and two fires.

Thank ManinFrance
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Fantastic Sunday lunch, the bestest, freshest most amazing Oysters to start (incredible homemade tomato soup for our 9 year old) followed by a superb traditional Sunday roast with lots of fresh veg, roasties and beef cooked to perfection. Great service. Thank you Dunkerleys!

Thank SJA001
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

booked here to stay for our3 yr anniversary. stayed here before and again top class our room was nice. over looking the sea.. but it dont matter what room you have in this great hotel it is down to the great service you allways get...More

Thank Vic M
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Stayed 1x night while attending a family birthday at local venue. booking as easy and friendly. we used the hotels bar/pub which again was friendly service. The room was clean and well equipped. Good size TV. Bed comfortable with nice linen. Quiet, and warm. the...More

Thank roybush
View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Beachfront
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 114 - US$ 209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 114 - US$ 209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (60)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (7)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
J M
Good morning Dunkerley's My wife and I stayed with you on Saturday June 24th, this was in celebration of our 20th Wedding Anniversary. We have stayed with you on 3 / 4 other occasions and always had a good experience. Sad to say this time was a huge disappointment for us both. From ordering our starters and main the wait seemed to last forever, in fact it was 2 hours, yes 2 hours from ordering until our mains were delivered to our table. My wife had ordered the Asparagus with the poached egg and Hollandaise. My wife asked if she could forgo the poached egg, when it arrived at the table it consisted of 3 tiny sprigs of Asparagus and a splattering of Hollandaise at nearly £8:00 was this value for money " I think not " a couple of extra sprigs of Asparagus in place of the poached egg might have helped or even some Parmesan shavings just to make it look like there was more on the plate. We were offered no bread, our wine order and drinks to forever to come......not good. In fact the table next to us came in after us and got served before us including their starters and mains, again not good. The next morning at breakfast things hadn't improved, again service was poor and very slow, so much so a couple waiting for their breakfast got up from their table and went next door to the Cafe. When booking out I mentioned the above to the lady on reception and she duly made a note of our concerns and said she would have it dealt with. When booking in my details were taken including phone number and email address. I was expecting a response from Dunkerleys but it fairly obvious this isn't going to happen, which probably tells me something about your customer service. Would I say I had value for my £200 + one night stay...... probably not. Hopefully you'll take note of my comments and take steps to insure they are not repeated. Regards.
3 July 2017|
Answer
Response from IndianaMimiTravels | Reviewed this property |
I'm sorry you had such a bad experience! That is no fun at all. We stopped in for a late lunch (did not spend the night as we were staying in Dover). It was very slow customer-wise and we received our wine and lunch in a... More
0
Votes
Michael G
17 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ian D | Property representative |
Hi Michael Still going strong Dunkerleys is 30 years old thursday 22nd june good to hear your kind words hope lifes good for you Regards Ian
0
Votes
john z m
7 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Bob K | Reviewed this property |
There's a parking lot close to the hotel (on the map) the 'circle' behind the library. Paid parking until the evening and starting again rather early. There's another (between Union and Duke Street) a little further away... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Captain’s Cabin room is spacious, rooms 16/ 17 quieter, but none of these have a sea view."
Read review
"Stunning views over the English Channel."
Read review
"Front rooms overlooking the English Channel & Deal beach & pier are the best"
Read review
"Sea view rooms available. Top floor is a bit of a climb, especially with luggage, but staff will take your..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing