We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Royal Esplanade Hotel

    16 Esplanade, Ryde PO33 2ED, England
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    US$ 105US$ 117
    View Deal
    Traveller (68)
    Room & Suite (13)
    Dining (2)
    Overview
    • Excellent39%
    • Very good44%
    • Average12%
    • Poor3%
    • Terrible2%
    Travellers talk about
    “harry's bar” (11 reviews)
    “coach trip” (5 reviews)
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Wheelchair Access
    Meeting Rooms
    Paid Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    3.5 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from Royal Esplanade Hotel
    Deals (31)
    3 Sep4 Sep
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Double Room - Non-refundable
      US$ 117US$ 105
      View Deal
    • Classic Double or Twin Room (Free breakfast, Free WiFi)
      US$ 117
      View Deal
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
      US$ 117
      View Deal
    More deals for this hotel
    • Double Room - Non-refundable
      US$ 105
      View Deal
    • Double Room
      US$ 105
      View Deal
    • Double Room - Non-refundable
      US$ 105
      View Deal
    • Classic Double or Twin Room (Free breakfast, Free WiFi)
      US$ 117
      View Deal
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
      US$ 117
      View Deal
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
      US$ 117
      View Deal
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
      US$ 117
      View Deal
    • Premier Double Room, Sea View (Free breakfast, Free WiFi)
      US$ 127
      View Deal
    • Premier Twin Room, Sea View (Free breakfast, Free WiFi)
      US$ 127
      View Deal
    • Premier Double Room, Sea View
      US$ 127
      View Deal
    Collapse room deals
    View more room deals
    Showing room deals 1 - of 31
    Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
    351 reviews
    #8 of 39 hotels in Portsmouth
     
    Warner Leisure Hotels Sinah Warren Hotel
    1,825 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Hayling Island
     
    Rowborough Hotel
    211 reviews
    #1 of 52 hotels in Shanklin
     
    Premier Inn Isle of Wight Sandown (Merrie Gardens)
    334 reviews
    #4 of 117 hotels in Isle of Wight
     
    Write a Review
    Turn Your Opinions into Points!
    Turn your opinions into JPMiles
    Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
    *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    50
    Reviews (277)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 274 reviews

    Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

    Luckily we were only staying for two nights when we booked it just said classic double room we thought ok last time we stopped in one it was fine how wrong can you be we had what can only be described as an attic room...More

    Thank Lorraine F. S
    Response from Peter M, General Manager at Royal Esplanade HotelResponded yesterday

    Thank you for your comments. When you arrived at the Hotel it was explained to you that we did not have any sea view rooms left but even then you were insisting on having one. Unfortunately if the sea view rooms are all booked, it...More

    Reviewed 6 days ago

    I booked this hotel with some trepidation as I know and have been warned that some of the older Hotels on the Island can be very "tired" and lack service and facilities suited to a business traveller. However, it had a free sea view room...More

    Thank marySEEngland
    Response from Peter M, General Manager at Royal Esplanade HotelResponded yesterday

    Thank you for your four star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your business stay so much. Your comments are much appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.

    Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

    We booked for along weekend to tie in with the 80s festival being held in Ryde. The Hotel was perfectly situated near the bus station where they were running buses to and from the festival.So for this reason we only booked for B&B. On arrival...More

    Thank Mark781
    Response from Peter M, General Manager at Royal Esplanade HotelResponded yesterday

    Thank you for your review It sounds to me that we did not meet our usual high standards of service during your visit and for this I would like to apologise. I can assure you that things are running smoothly once again. We chose not...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    2 adults and 5 grandkids meal and drinks took ages to be served Very dated surroundings and disappointing Meal itself was very poor and expensive for children One to cross of the list when next in areaMore

    Thank jodycav
    Response from Peter M, Manager at Royal Esplanade HotelResponded yesterday

    Thank you for your review I'm a bit bemused by your comments. When you say the surroundings are very dated, do you mean of the Victorian era? it cant be anything else as we have just had a major refurbishment programme. Maybe it is just...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    We spent one night at this hotel when we were attending a funeral. The staff were extremely helpful and let us check in early so that we could change. The room and facilities were OK, but the hotel generally was very tired. Our sea view...More

    Thank holly2236
    Response from Peter M, General Manager at Royal Esplanade HotelResponded 1 week ago

    Thank you for your review and nice comments regarding the staff. sorry that you found the bar food disappointing I will investigate this for you. I am a little bemused that you felt the hotel tired as we have had a major refurbishment on the...More

    Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
    351 reviews
    #8 of 39 hotels in Portsmouth
     
    Warner Leisure Hotels Sinah Warren Hotel
    1,825 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Hayling Island
     
    Rowborough Hotel
    211 reviews
    #1 of 52 hotels in Shanklin
     
    Premier Inn Isle of Wight Sandown (Merrie Gardens)
    334 reviews
    #4 of 117 hotels in Isle of Wight
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$ 82 - US$ 146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 69
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royal Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Isle of Wight >
    • Ryde
    • Also Known As
    • Royal Esplanade Hotel Ryde, Isle Of Wight
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (68)
    Room & Suite (13)
    Dining (2)
    Pool & Beach (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (53)
    Bathroom (7)
    Nearby
    Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
    351 reviews
    14.22 km away
     
    Premier Inn Isle of Wight Sandown (Merrie Gardens)
    334 reviews
    9.66 km away
     
    Warner Leisure Hotels Sinah Warren Hotel
    1,825 reviews
    12.32 km away
     
    Rowborough Hotel
    211 reviews
    10.73 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Michelangelo
    591 reviews
    .15 km away
    Chocolate Apothecary
    272 reviews
    .09 km away
    The Alamo
    241 reviews
    .13 km away
    Blaze Cafe Bar
    243 reviews
    .09 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Ryde Beach
    207 reviews
    1.51 km away
    Hovertravel
    378 reviews
    .07 km away
    Isle of Wight Bus & Coach Museum
    93 reviews
    .65 km away
    Ryde Pier
    222 reviews
    .03 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Sonia C
    21 July 2017|
    AnswerShow all 6 answers
    Response from jane j | Reviewed this property |
    Hi, it wasn't a family room but it did have a sea view. It had two single beds. My parents room was a superior family room with a double bed and a single and had a really nice sea view, far better room than ours. Hope this... More
    1
    Vote
    Marina E
    20 July 2017|
    AnswerShow all 5 answers
    Response from lodekk | Reviewed this property |
    We purchased a tourist parking permit on arrival in Ryde. (Details are on the ticket machines) We then parked on the street outside the hotel. You get unlimited parking and you can park all over the island at no extra cost.
    1
    Vote
    EllieJones1987
    16 June 2017|
    AnswerShow all 10 answers
    Response from Peter M | Property representative |
    Yes they are.
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Chose a room on the first floor."
    Read review
    "Best at front with view but cheaper rooms at back are quieter"
    Read review
    "All rooms are quiet but go for a sea view I would next time."
    Read review
    "Room 10 was near the tyre garage and could be noisy during daytime working hours - no problem at night"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing