We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
31 Dover Street, Ryde PO33 2BW England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (115)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (16)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ryde
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Dorset House was built in 1842 during the reign of Queen Victoria and has been operating as a bed and breakfast for many years. We are not of modern design and have 23 rooms varying in size. Centrally located in the historic town of Ryde, we are close to many restaurants and cafes. The house has a large private car park at the rear and offers a garden with seating area to take in the peace and quiet that the Isle of Wight offers. Free wi-fi is available throughout the hotel and we operate a licensed bar. Inclusive ferry packages are available to suit the cost of your trip. We have many special offers throughout the year. Please note we do not have a swimming pool at this establishment
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free internet
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Breakfast available
Complimentary tea
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
227Reviews0Q+A44Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 78
  • 84
  • 39
  • 18
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sheila G wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
I am sad to say this was not an enjoyable stay, the staff were very helpful & friendly, but We had two awful nights sleep & this morning I found out why, see attached photos. Please supply your guests decent beds, I suffer with a bad back & this was not fun. No one was on reception when we left this morning so I was unable to report.☹️
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from MICHAEL BAKER, Owner at Dorset Hotel
Responded 20 May 2022
Hello Mrs Goodchild, thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent promotional voucher stay with us. I am sorry you found the bed to be uncomfortable. As you are aware the room you chose was not the room that we had allocated for your stay and had you stayed in the room as booked you would not be writing this review, The room occupied has a very soft mattress and a topper and not suitable for persons with back problems. I note you failed to request a firm mattress which as a fellow sufferer with back problems I would have thought you would have mentioned in advance. Considering you stayed for two nights why did you not bring your concerns to our attention after the first night? The reception is staffed from 10.00 a.m. - 10.00 p.m. daily and the breakfast staff would have been able to assist you. Our premier double rooms would have been more suitable for you but these are not offered on the promotional voucher scheme where we receive a payment from the company of just £37.00 per night for two persons bed and breakfast. We will take a look at the bed in question but suggest next time bring it to the attention of the hotel rather than post on forums like this. I am glad you found the staff friendly and helpful and surprised you were unable to approach them as they would have resolved this issue.
Read more
Andydjp wrote a review May 2022
Stotfold, United Kingdom571 contributions332 helpful votes
Well located by the beach and local pubs the hotel is clean and comfortable and I suspect starting to recover from the pandemic. The staff were friendly and welcoming. We had booked three rooms for a family weekend in Ryde, all were clean and had en suite showers and tea/coffee makings but all were quite small. The sound proofing isn't great as we could hear the conversation of people in the room above us and to the side of us. Breakfast was very good but is in a small dining area which was a bit uncomfortable due to COVID. There is a small bar available in the lounge area which sells bottle and cans of drink. There is also free parking at the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Evie83 wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom14 contributions16 helpful votes
We just came back from 3 nights at the Dorset Hotel and I highly recommend it. Our room was a bit small, but charming nonetheless, with plenty of room to unpack our clothes, bathtub in the ensuite, kettle, tv, and a good view of the Solent. The location is very conveniently located near the heart of Ryde, and it's beach, as well as close proximity to bus stops and railway station. The staff were all very friendly and the breakfast was very nice too! I'd happily stay there again if we return to Ryde.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Ian B wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
helpful and friendly staff the rooms are clean and comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities, clean towels are provided everyday, the breakfast menu is well varied and cooked breakfast is great and plentiful, I hadn't realised that I had book a room with a shared bathroom (I did think all rooms had en suite) how ever when I asked if I could upgrade it was no problem , this was my second visit to the Dorset hotel and will use again when I go back to Ryde
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from MICHAEL BAKER, Owner at Dorset Hotel
Responded 2 Apr 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, we appreciate your comments and I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I hope to be able to welcome you back on some future dates.
Read more
girlfromsurrey2018 wrote a review Mar 2022
Egham, United Kingdom28 contributions7 helpful votes
We were disappointed in our stay at the Dorset Hotel, this is not a three star establishment. Although our room was clean the whole place needs a good tidy up. The discarded building rubble needs removing and the grass could do with being cut.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from michael baker, Owner at Dorset Hotel
Responded 31 Mar 2022
Thank you for your review, we are disappointed you were not happy with the outside facilities, we are in the middle of a rebuild of a heritage product and restoring a wall most of the building rubble is to be used to restore the facilities to its origional status so can not be removed. We agree that the grass needs a cut and this is planned now the weather is improving following the recent storms. I note from many of your reviews the constant word disappointing and feel that you need to upgrade your bookings to match your expectations.
Read more
VivIPianist wrote a review Feb 2022
Cambridge, United Kingdom258 contributions38 helpful votes
Many qualities deserve 5 stars - the staff, the breakfast, the cleanliness, free parking .... the shower and heating were also easy to control. It is located within a 15 min walk of Ryde centre, the beach, close to public transport. I am writing about the slightly more pricey 'Premier Double' in which we stayed three days. Some small flaws mainly with the furniture, which were adequate and clean but basic and not necessarily in perfect order - not much desk/table space to eat or write as half of it held the kettle/drinks tray (also had water damaged marks), the tall bathroom cabinet was wobbly, the internet in the room only worked next to the door (although it was very good in the reception and large common living room). It was nevertheless comfortable and well located as a base for visiting IoW.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Helpful
Share
Tom Willis wrote a review Nov 2021
Wisbech, United Kingdom5 contributions
Had an enjoyable stay at this hotel, Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and all were extremally pleasant. The bed was more then comfortable and although a bit basic you only use a hotel as a base but this was more then adequate for our needs. The toilet shower and bath were really good with piping hot water, very spacious and a nice decent sized wardrobe and chest of drawers for our things. They also organised cheaper ferry fr us so another nice touch One lovely touch is each day leave your rubbish bag outside the door each morning and staff cleared it away and left a fresh bag with 2 bottles of water and a pack of biscuits all in the price. The breakfast is more then enough to set you off for your day with plenty of toast and coffee, just ask for more and they provided. We stayed for the Isle of Wight car extravaganza and they let us park on the front as my Classic car was a tad big for the rear parking and they looked after the car all night for me so peace of mind it is safe. Really fantastic for us staying here and will definitely stay again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Michael L wrote a review Oct 2021
Torpoint, United Kingdom8 contributions7 helpful votes
Staying in Ryde for accommodation for a family funeral nearby. Staff were welcoming and friendly but the whole place was run down. The room was Pokey and the bathroom was very small and needed a lot of cosmetic attention. Furniture was cheap contiboard stuff with surface peeling. Bed was soft with only one small pillow pp. Generally very run down. TV didn't work properly. Breakfast room was nicely furnished and the breakfast was v. good and served quickly. Wouldn;t stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Can't say because we didn't see other parts of the hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
John B wrote a review Sep 2021
Carmarthen, United Kingdom673 contributions310 helpful votes
We found the Dorset, friendly, welcoming and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful and their breakfast offerings were a great start to the days. Short walk to the water and town centre. The bar was in a comfortable lounge area and was light and airy.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Extra parking at the rear
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
MeOnTripAdviser wrote a review Sep 2021
Cambridge, United Kingdom5 contributions3 helpful votes
Great location. Clean, friendly. Very solid 3* hotel. I would have loved some decaf coffee/tea in the rooms, but that's a very minor criticism. I was more than happy with our room, especially considering the price.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$65 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dorset hotel ryde
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandIsle of WightRyde
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Dorset Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Dorset Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Isle of Wight Bus & Coach Museum (0.4 km), Ryde Harbour (0.4 km), and The Lost Crypt (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Dorset Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Dorset Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Dorset Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dorset Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include No64 Ryde, Ada Mediterranean Kitchen, and Alamo Bar & Grill.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Dorset Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Dorset Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Little Woodham Living History Village (7.7 km), Bembridge Windmill (6.7 km), and Culver Battery (6.9 km).