We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Albion Hotel

Hotwire.comUS$ 151*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 151*
US$ 151*
US$ 151*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Albion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 279: English reviews
Start your review of Albion Hotel
 Click to rate
Ely, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Isle of White. What a lovely place to go to. It really is like a little piece of England has fallen off in the 1980's and time has stood still. It is a beautiful place in every sense of the word. We stayed at the Albion Hotel in Freshwater bay, a few minutes drive from Yarmouth where the ferry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Proimage_Photography
Seasoned traveller from Devon
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for one night on a cycling holiday in the IOW. The welcome was excellent, our bikes were secured in the locked beer store and the room ( overlooking the car park) was spacious and very clean. The towels and bedding were spotless and crispy clean. In the evening we cycled to the nearby Red Lion ( unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chocky1948
IOWHotels, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review of your stay with us at the Albion and many thanks for all of your positive comments. In this day and age, we receive many bookings where guests do not require/want breakfast, we therefore need to know how much food to stock so we charge a small extra price of £10 for our residents....

Shropshire, England
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Food was awful set menu for dinner fish with tin of cold tomatoes on top duponaise potatoes on side cold looked old been out of kitchen a few times Should have realised starter out minutes after we ordered this was like an onion bhagee on rocket tasteless and cold Breakfast was cold Did complain but waiter smelt of sweat very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill C
IOWHotels, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Albion and expressing your thoughts of your stay with us on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay due to the quality of the meals. We do not expect this to happen and the issues you raised will be brought up with our Head Chef...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Receptionist pleasant on our arrival. Room very large and we paid extra for a seaview. Room was clean although seemed generally a little worn, old and dated. It had an indoor pool which we looked at but did not use, appeared to be very clean. To me over priced but a fantastic seaview:)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
IOWHotels, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Albion. Many thanks for commenting positively on one of our receptionists, the room and the cleanliness. The Albion's decor is supposed to be cosy rather than having a more modern look. We hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future.

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Superb break hotel was very clean staff all friendly and so helpful food was good will be coming back next year hotel is in superb place our room had such lovely views thank you to all staff keep up great work.see you next year . Just make hot spa warmer that's only thing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dazwest1
AlbionIW, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your mostly positive review of your stay with us at the Albion. The jacuzzi is the same temperature as the swimming pool, and this is how it is supposed to be, but many people expect it to be warmer. Despite this, we thank you for your comments on our staff and rooms. We look forward to welcoming...

Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2017

First time for a while we have stayed at a seaside hotel, a mixture of good and room for improvement. Pros, great location, lovely room, indoor swimming pool. Cons, did not know we had booked hb and told we were room only until I produced the confirmation, service in restaurant very mixed, wine service hap hazard from having to ask...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy5047148
AlbionIW, Manager at Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us at the Albion. Thank you for commenting on the quality of the room and our new swimming pool, although I have taken note of your comment regarding the pool temperature. I would like to apologise for the confusion with meals - there was obviously a lack of communication...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2017

We enjoyed our stay, great setting and 15 metres from the sea which was amazing superb location, great facilities, decoration is a little dated but very clean and of high quality. Comfy beds and lovely thick quilts. Great swimming pool, bar, and restaurants…..we had a great time and would recommend this hotel. However there were a few points that let...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Djo2904
AlbionIW, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for reviewing your stay with us on TripAdvisor. Thank you particually for commenting on our facilities, cleanliness and quality furniture. Thank you for also saying that you would recommend us. I understand the issue with the receptionist managing the desk and the bar - and when we get busier we do have separate people for each job....

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2017

We have just finished a midweek break, couldn't fault anything. The room overlooking the sea was as good as any we have ever stayed in, that's world wide. Breakfast and evening meal were first class,with good portions plenty of choice for vegetarian wife. Staff we're very friendly. We spoke to reception prior to booking ferry and they found a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patweiss2016
AlbionIW, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Hello - thank you for writing a review of the Albion. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us where you liked our rooms and our meals were also "first class", thank you also for commenting on our friendly staff. We hope to see you again sometime in the future.

somerset
Reviewed 25 March 2017

my husband and I have just got back from a four day break at this hotel. When we arrived we where given a very warm welcome by the receptionist Annmarie who explained we where unable to have our booked room as the boiler had broken down but that she had moved us to another room.as we had booked a suite...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank somersetlady61
AlbionHotelIOW, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Hello there - thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us at the Albion. We particularly thank you for commenting on the attentive service of our receptionists Annmarie and Mike, as well as the cleanliness of the hotel. We are so very sorry that the room you had booked experienced boiler issues, we were aware of this and...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Large, spotless, immaculate room overlooking the sea with easy access to the beach. Lovely, new, in-door swimming pool. Good food, cooked to order from a limited menu. Clear signs of a lot of investment for the benefit of customers, although some areas do have a dated decor and are clearly work-in-progress. Dated? Yes, but spotlessly clean. Staff attitude, eagerness to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank oj20082016
AlbionHotelIOW, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for your pleasing review of your stay with us at the Albion. Thanks also for commenting on the cleanliness and food quality. The Albion's decor is supposed to be old fashioned-looking and cosy rather than a more modern style. Thank you also for commenting on our staff service and our indoor pool. We hope to see...

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater
22.8 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
801 reviews
0.2 km away
Freshwater Bay Country House
25.5 km away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
24.2 km away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
814 reviews
4.2 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Albion Hotel has 40 bedrooms most with sea view balcony or patio. The hotel is situated right on the beach in Freshwater Bay, just a stones throw from the sea. We have double or twin rooms at the hotel - twin rooms offering two double beds. All of our rooms have en-suite bathrooms with a bath and shower. You can book room only, bed and breakfast or bed, breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Address: Freshwater Bay, Freshwater PO40 9RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Price Range: ₹ 6,368 - ₹ 10,305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Freshwater
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Albion Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
York, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Albion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a sea view, It's a must have.”
Proimage_Photography, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“The sea views are superb!”
  • View from hotel room
  • View of the bay
  • View from hotel room
Djo2904, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“One with sea views but expect to hear the sea!”
oj20082016, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We chose sea view with balcony, we were given side sea view, above the bar, and over looking what appeared to be a car park!”
markwH5810SS, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beach view with balcony 1st floor”
NadineW855, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$ 151* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 151
TravelocityUS$ 151
Orbitz.comUS$ 151
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates