We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
85 Leeson Road, Bonchurch, Ventnor PO38 1PU England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (77)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (8)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Set into Bonchurch Downs on the pretty southern side of the Isle of Wight, we welcome you to their Victorian country home with spectacular panoramic sea views. Situated on St Boniface downs elevated above the historic village of Bonchurch your country house [which is B&B only] retreat is ideally situated for coastal and downs walks – yet convenient for Ventnor and Shanklin and touring the Island. Our extensive gardens are a welcome point of relaxation whilst you watch the tranquil activity of the shipping on the English Channel. All rooms have all the comforts you would expect from a five-star B & B country house, ensuite shower and many also with bath and separate shower. All enjoy superb sea views. You can also choose from three luxury rooms - Ground floor Boardwalk suite, Captains bridge or Admiral suite both with large terrace balcony. Secure off road parking for all guests with level access to ground floor rooms available. To ensure your comfort we are pleased to be totally no-smoking including external terraces and balconies, no dogs and we do not have family rooms and therefore cannot accommodate children under the age of 16.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Complimentary tea
Hiking
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Special diet menus
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
482Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 435
  • 35
  • 8
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Travelling Pair wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a wonderfully comfortable and restful stay at the Leconfield in what turned out to be Paul and Cheryl Judge’s final week before retirement. The new owners will have a hard act to follow. If they manage to maintain the Judges’ high standard, the Leconfield will remain a first class place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Judge, Owner at The Leconfield
Responded 29 Oct 2021
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your kind comments and good wishes. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and wish you well Kind regards Paul and Cheryl
Read more
machinmad wrote a review Oct 2021
Yaxley, United Kingdom2120 contributions956 helpful votes
This is a 19th century country house at the east end of Ventnor’s many winding roads. Beware the steep drive but you get use to it. You get a very personal greeting from the friendly proprietor who shows you round the place and explains the way things work while you stay. Our room was large and comfortable, with a new modern bathroom. Covid security is taken really seriously (which we really liked) ... you can choose whether or not to have your room serviced daily. You choose you breakfast nightly in advance...a good idea as it’s waiting for you in the morning, freshly cooked, with no food waste. Our breakfasts were extremely high quality, cooked with care by the proprietor with very fresh ingredients. Breakfast is taken in the sea facing large dining room...again a Covid secure eating experience. Prices are a bit steep, but consistent with the quality of other accommodation on the Island. This is a friendly, intimate, B&B (not a hotel) run by two professionals who care that you have a good time in their spotless guesthouse.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Jayne wrote a review Oct 2021
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom1 contribution
Stayed here in September and Paul and Cheryl were the most welcoming of hosts nothing was too much trouble. The back room staff too were polite and very attentive. Breakfasts were served by Paul with a smile and were excellent. Good luck to Paul and Cheryl for your next adventure which we know you are looking forward to. Our very best wishes to you both. Jayne and David ………….. P.S if George and Margaret read this (they were staying here at the same time) it was a pleasure to meet you too
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: It is a very hilly area so comfortable shoes advisable. Absolutely fantastic views
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Judge, Owner at The Leconfield
Responded 13 Oct 2021
Once again, thank you for your support in these challenging times and your kind comments are much appreciated by all the small team we have/are. Kind regards from us all Paul and Cheryl and team
Read more
MAF wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Beautiful b&b, staff were lovely and polite, very sad to see that it is closing at the end of October. Paul was lovely and very attentive. Hotel location was perfect and we caught the local buses (bus stop right outside the hotel). Overall I cannot fault in anyway and made our visit to the Isle of Wight very enjoyable. Thank you for your hospitality ❤️
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Judge, Owner at The Leconfield
Responded 10 Oct 2021
Thank you for staying with us and for your lovely comments in your review it was a pleasure looking after you during your stay. We are retiring at the end of October, hence the comment about closing. We cannot comment on the future as we will no longer own the hotel. Kind regards and again, thank you for your support in this challenging time Paul and Cheryl
Read more
emmagoat wrote a review Aug 2021
Gillingham, United Kingdom96 contributions20 helpful votes
We Booked this for anniversary and birthday celebration s Beautiful place but not a hotel as we thought by reading the description !, it’s a b&b There is not a cosmopolitan wine list as there is no bar or restaurant for dining It would of been nice to have a little fridge for wine and milk & bottle of water Fill in a form for breakfast choice on arrival breakfast no later than 9am no lay in ! But to be fair it was very tasty. Pub down the hill was full for a meal so had to cab into town as it’s on the main road out of town too far to walk. And we agreed to pay for two nights as we checked out next day putting our views across in a fair way but was charged in full very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Judge, Owner at The Leconfield
Responded 29 Aug 2021
Thank you for taking the time to comment and we are very sorry the Leconfield did not match your requirements and expectations. We make every effort to ensure we offer is what is expected by our guests. We are in challenging times and work constantly to accommodate a safe comfortable environment for all guests [to reassure them before, during and on departure]. We are always on hand to make adjustments or supply requirements if we can and are sorry we were not asked to assist with in room extra preferences. Thank you for taking the time to review.
Read more
paulrC7795YM wrote a review Aug 2021
Kent, United Kingdom8 contributions5 helpful votes
We selected this hotel as it was adults only, selected Captains Bridge Suite which had great views of the channel and is the best thing about this hotel. the room was tired with only facilities on offer in the room being tea and coffee. Room would benefit from bottled water and small fridge for fresh milk or bottle of wine and include a mini bar due to not having any bar facilities. Breakfast was limited and from a 5* hotel would have expected more selection such as smoked salmon, eggs benedict etc along with fresh croissants (not pre packed) and artisan bread. The jam/marmalade selection in glass pots and not plastic containers. In addition our accommodation was for a week and I would have expected our bed linen to have been changed which it wasn’t. In addition there was no offer of assistance with our luggage from the proprietor
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Captains bridge suite offered good terrace and views of channel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Judge, Owner at The Leconfield
Responded 18 Aug 2021
Thank you for your review and I am so sorry that you felt there were shortcomings to your expectations. We are NOT a 5 star hotel and do not advertise as such. We are rated as guest accommodation and the 5 stars on Tripadvisor are from the guest reviews, NOT a rating. We noted that you made the option/choice of having your room serviced daily and having towels replaced by our small and very approachable team and had you asked they would have been more than pleased to have replaced your bed linen on a daily basis also. As we are NOT a 5 star hotel we do not offer porterage unless you are infirm or disabled and then we will arrange for assistance. I (the proprietor) met you in the car park on arrival and showed you around the house as we do to welcome all our guests. I am sure that you realised I was always available as each day of your stay I brought the refrigerated wine at your arranged time, to your room in a bucket of ice with wine glasses free of charge. We hope in the future you are able to find a 5 star hotel that will meet all your expectations which will be reflected in the price you pay. Regards Paul and Cheryl
Read more
111janef65 wrote a review Aug 2021
Salisbury, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
Enjoyed our stay, Paul was very welcoming and helpful, room lovely, breakfast good however felt for the price a few small changes could improve the experience! Tissues in the room would have been appreciated. Breakfast menu could have included fish, ie smoked salmon, kippers and smoked haddock. Jam in pots not foil also butter in pats not foil. A small fridge in room for fresh milk and a bottle of wine as there is no bar facilities! Quiet and great for adults, Paul recommended several good local restaurant easily accessed by walking or the excellent local bus service!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Judge, Owner at The Leconfield
Responded 18 Aug 2021
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your comments are kind and most helpful. We have a specific fridge we use to store guests wine and are always personally on hand to supply when required. We are conscious that guests must feel safe and therefore minimise the risk of cross contamination by supplying open food. – the food packaged on the tables is all sanitised before being presented. Thank you again for taking the time to review and for supporting us in this challenging time. We are pleased you found the local services were good and you were able to enjoy the local area. Kind regards Paul and Cheryl
Read more
Bex T wrote a review Aug 2021
Newbury, United Kingdom9 contributions5 helpful votes
We have recently come back from a fabulous stay in the Captain’s Bridge suite at the Leconfield. A beautiful room with a spectacular view of the sea. A really comfortable stay over the three nights. This whole place has a real sense of luxury and relaxation. Paul and Cheryl were excellent hosts, where nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast each morning was well organised and delicious - always cooked fresh and using local ingredients, where possible. They were able to cater for my dietary needs too! The hotel’s location was great, whether you want to drive or take a bus to explore the island. Really recommend staying here, we will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Judge, Owner at The Leconfield
Responded 7 Aug 2021
Thank you for visiting us this week and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit and the room. It is a challenging time for all so we are even more grateful to see and have satisfied customers and again, thank you for taking the time to review. Kind regards Paul, Cheryl and the team
Read more
tjfclily wrote a review Aug 2021
Speldhurst, United Kingdom151 contributions71 helpful votes
we booked to stay here for three nights and when we left the stay seemed a lot lot longer because we were so relaxed from the the moment we entered this beautiful house the atmosphere was quiet and peaceful throughout our room was large and spacious and very light with big bay window and patio doors with balcony and loungers with a fabulous sea view on site parking was a very special bonus albeit up a steep slope the preordered breakfast was exceptional with all its choices for food and drinks Paul was an amazing breakfast waiter making us feel very comfortable and welcome Paul's welcome and goodbye were such that they made us feel as though he had known us for years We would most definitely recommend a stay at The Leconfield a very special place
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Judge, Owner at The Leconfield
Responded 7 Aug 2021
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and it was a pleasure meeting you. Your review and kind comments are much appreciated by our team and we enjoyed your company and again thank you for visiting us in this challenging time. Kind regards Paul and Cheryl and team
Read more
juls63 wrote a review Jul 2021
Selby, United Kingdom149 contributions127 helpful votes
We had a very pleasant stay recently in the ground floor Boardwalk Suite at the Leconfield. The suite is unusual in that it has two bathrooms, one with a bath and one with a shower, so all very comfortable. It was all spotlessly clean and felt Covid-safe. There was a sitting room in our suite too with TV, which overlooks the outdoor area (pool was closed when we visited) but we noticed that the phone reception and wifi connection were very poor in there so didn’t really use it. Wifi connection was okay in the bedroom. Paul is very organised and the breakfast pre-order system worked really well. Breakfast ingredients were of good quality and really well cooked and presented. We’d recommend the Leconfield for anyone wanting a nice quiet place to relax.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Judge, Owner at The Leconfield
Responded 16 Jul 2021
Thank you for your recent visit and kind comments in your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and room and we hope to welcome you back in the future Kind regards Paul and Cheryl
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandIsle of WightVentnorBonchurch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Leconfield
Which popular attractions are close to The Leconfield?
Nearby attractions include JURASSIC JIM (2.8 km), The Isle of Wight Donkey Sanctuary (3.7 km), and Steve's Beach (6.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Leconfield?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Leconfield?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Leconfield?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Leconfield?
Conveniently located restaurants include TZ's True Food Kitchen, Le Tour Du Monde, and Crave Ice Cream.
Are there any historical sites close to The Leconfield?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Godshill Church (6.0 km), Appuldurcombe House (3.8 km), and Yaverland Battery (7.8 km).
Does The Leconfield have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is The Leconfield accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.