We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

557 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 547: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Good location if you're travelling, easy, no hassle. But pretty unexciting and expensive. The bar and restaurant seemed ok but the music was loud so I didn't bother. Breakfast was pricey so I went to the M&S and the cafe at the garage across the way for half the price. The room was clean and reasonably comfortable but the bathroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne001_12
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Anne001_12, thank you for your feedback after a recent stay with us. I am sorry to read that you were not completely satisified with some aspects of your time here. Hopefully the music issue was rectified at the time. We are continually updating our rooms and bathrooms so that all guests receive the same standards. We do hope that... More 

Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on business for four nights. Room was clean and tidy. Bed was very comfy. Had dinner at the bar for three nights and the food was tasty. Breakfast was fab, great choice of both cooked and continental.

Helpful?
Thank brymills
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Brymills, thank you for your 4* review of our hotel after a recent stay. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that everything met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Located just off the m1 junction, it's reasonably convenient. A nice looking hotel with pleasant staff and large rooms. Unfortunately we had a very small double bed with a hard mattress and flat, hard pillows so sleep was not easy. The bar area was quite small and cold, the restaurant was very cold so didn't enjoy eating there. Food in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane T
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Jane T, thank you for feedback after a recent stay with us. I am sorry to read that you were not completely satisfied during your time with us especially with the mattress and also the food. This is not up to our normal high standards and again I apologise. However I trust that the team were able to resolve... More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night on 14th Nov with work, attended course at the hotel the following day. My arrival was late, approx 10:30pm due to a 3 hour drive after work. I confirmed my late arrival with the hotel earlier in the day via email to which I got a response saying that a note was put on my reservation... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark L
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Mark L, thank you for your feedback after a recent stay with us. I am disappointed to read that your experience on check in was not up to our usual high standard and for this we apologise. I can appreciate you were not impressed after a long day and just wanted to check in quickly and easily which should... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly staff, good breakfast, dont know about dinner. rooms are a little bit outdated but clean and ok. nothing fancy but surely nothing bad either. good choice for a short business stay. nothing in the neighborhood, need to take a taxi or bring your own car if you want to ga anywhere.

Helpful?
Thank Richard Z
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Richard Z, thank you for your feedback after a recent stay. I am pleased to read that everything met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards More 

Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A nice hotel. The reception, bar and restaurant area has recently been refurbished. There are plenty of areas for discussion and areas for quiet relaxing. The restaurant food is good, hearty and reasonably priced. The rooms are good, but showing their age, but they are clean, comfortable and the beds are nice and firm.

Helpful?
Thank PaulWilkinsUK
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear PaulWilkinsUK, thank you for your feedback after a recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time here and found everything to your satisfaction including our newly refurbished areas. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here overnight when travelling on a National Holiday trip to London. The staff were friendly, the hotel was very modern, clean and looked like it had recently had a refit. The evening meal and breakfast were excellent with a variety of choice. Bar prices are what they are, it is London after all but a lovely relaxing place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Amanda H, thank you for your comments after a recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that your enjoyed your time here and that the staff looked after you well. I apologise that you had a problem with a leaking bath but trust that this was resolved at the time by maintenance. We hope to see you... More 

Parcent, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A short drive from Hemel Hempstead but very convenient for the motorway. We stayed one night and it was probably the best accommodation we had on our weeks road trip. The main areas are light and have a feeling of space. All the staff we met were friendly and professional. The room was as you would expect and the bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nigel_Pain
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Nigel_Pain, thank you for your feedback after a recent visit. I am pleased that everything met your expectations and that you found our hotel accommodation the best during your trip. We do apologise that you were disappointed with the eggs at breakfast, this is not up to our normal high standard and we will follow up with the chefs.... More 

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My Husband & I stayed for one night after attending a party here on a Saturday night . We were very pleased with our stay . We had a friendly welcome . The Room was of a High standard & was lovely . Before the Party we went to the Bar & My Husband asked the Man behind the bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neilk407
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Neilk407, thank you so much for your feedback after a recent stay. We are pleased to read that everything met your satisfaction and that you were well looked after by our teams. We hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again in the near future and we look forward to welcome you back. Kind regards More 

Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

From the time we arrived to the time we left the staff were friendly and helpful. We had a lovely breakfast and found that the garage next to the hotel sold Marks and Spencer food. The room was clean and comfortable. Will definitely be using this hotel again!

Helpful?
Thank Iona w
IanR1010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this review

Dear Iona W, thank you for your feedback after a recent stay. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time here and found everything to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards More 

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (75)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
664 reviews
3.2 km away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
683 reviews
7.5 km away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gatew...
#7 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
467 reviews
3.7 km away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
518 reviews
4.9 km away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 is in the perfect location for business and leisure guests. The hotel is easily accessible from M1 & M25 motorways and just 1 mile from The Snow Centre, 8 miles from Luton Airport, 21 miles from Heathrow Airport 19 miles from Wembley Stadium. Getting into London is easy as the hotel is just 10 minutes from Hemel train station with direct services into London Euston. Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead combines an excellent range of facilities with 144 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 19 Executive Rooms along with family and accessible rooms. The hotel also offers a Spirit Health Club with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, fitness gym and health and beauty products & treatments. The hotel has conference and banqueting facilities that are a perfect venue for any occasion. These rooms all feature natural daylight, high speed internet connections and Starbucks Coffee. The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead offers 3 dining options; Traders restaurant, Lounge Bar and 24 hour room service. Here at Hemel Hempstead, we are proud to welcome families so why not take advantage of our Kids Stay & Eat Free offer! The hotel is just 11 miles from Whipsnade Zoo, 27 miles from Woburn Safari Park and just 1 mile from the Snow Centre. A perfect way to keep those little ones amused! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Address: Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: ₹ 5,756 - ₹ 10,996 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead m1 j8 Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 Hertfordshire
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Preston, United Kingdom
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A back room as it is on a busy dual carriageway”
 of 5 bubbles amandahT3015UG, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ALWAYS CHECK YOUR BILL and avoid any room on the lower ground floor - especially room 28”
 of 5 bubbles mmccnn, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All good standard”
 of 5 bubbles FrankieDP, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Speak with susie!!”
 of 5 bubbles M8766AVtony, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Above reception”
 of 5 bubbles dannydanchev1, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay