We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beales Hatfield Hotel

Hotels.comUS$ 136*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 139*
US$ 136*
US$ 139*
US$ 139*
US$ 135*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Beales Hatfield Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

634 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 625: English reviews
Start your review of Beales Hatfield Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent two nights here after attending a conference elsewhere in Hertfordshire. Clean modern and well equipped friendly staff. Arrived very late (after midnight) and they weren't phased at all. Comfortable bed and shower over bath excellent. Breakfast good with wide choice of cooked and continental options but we felt there wasn't too many people partaking. Only real complaint was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bev W
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, which has been run by myself and my family for over 50 years, albeit with two completely different hotels on this site during this period ! Delighted that we looked after you so well, so do come again when you are...

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited on business and stayed at Beales after struggling with the quality of the Ramada on a previous visit. Rooms are modern, with enough space and bathrooms are simple but clean. I noted on my first night that the bedside table lightbulb had gone and reported this along with a comment that the shower head was not giving much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James N
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel, I am pleased that we looked after you well, and fixed anything that needed fixing in quick time. The Ramada is, I believe, shutting down this summer, so it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to this stunning hotel on your next visit to Hatfield. Kind regards, Andrew Beale...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Can't imagine they get a lot of holiday travel but on first impressions, it was a decent hotel, good rooms, good food, good wifi, decent rate. Better than a premier inn and severl holiday inn express I've stayed in recently. Would certainly stay again if in the area and would recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank falvey001
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel, I am glad you have found us superior to the competition, we are the only 4 star hotel in the area, and a highly rated one at that, We are very busy at weekends, either with our own function guests staying with us, or with guests attending events at Hatfield House, Brocket...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came here for a wedding that was close by the hotel was ok room was smallish and the corridor smelt strong of air freshener not nice!! The bed pillows were awful so uncomfortable!! There was a wedding there at the same time we were staying and we were eating in area by reception which is where we were told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna1331
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't really enjoy your stay with us, The pillows at Beales Hotel are practically brand new, being goose feather and down, and to an expensive five star specification. We also have hollowfibre non allergenic pillows for those that prefer non natural pillows. I have spoken to my colleague Linda Purton about where you were offered to eat, and...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very accommodating hotel, lovely breakfast with room service all locally sourced. Perfect location for visiting my son at hatfield university with big shopping centre directly opposite. Will be returning. The Kemp family

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel, I am glad we fitted the bill for your recent visit to your son at the University of Hertfordshire, which is practically next door to us. The shopping centre opposite is the Galleria, and is full of interesting shops, and being an Outlet centre, the prices can be amazingly low. Do...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed one night and took advantage of the spring, dinner bed and breakfast offer, which is good value. Reception staff were very friendly on arrival. Our first room on the first floor was noisy from the kitchen vent outside so we asked to move and were given one overlooking the car park which was much quieter. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynne H
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 4/5 or 80% review of Beales Hotel, I am glad that overall you had a good stay and would return, I have discussed all the breakfast issues with my colleague, General Manager Mark Schipper, and already things are hugely improved. Do come again when you are next up from Bournemouth. Kind regards, Andrew Beale Managing Director...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Our deal was Dinner Bed & Breakfast, first our room no 32 was noisy, the vent fan from the kitchen sent a humming sound through the room, it was easy to move across the corridor to room 33, very helpful staff. Our dinner was very tasty 3-course meal, waitress very friendly indeed, we slept well, down to Breakfast a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rogthehat
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 4/5 or 80% review of Beales Hotel, I am glad you would stay again, and that you enjoyed the dinner particularly. As mentioned in my response to your wife's review above yours, the team is now fully on top of breakfast for all our future guests. Do come again when you are next up this way....

Arundel
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

We had a two night break there and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were so helpful and friendly. The room was lovely, clean, comfortable and spacious, and a good hospitality tray. We had dinner on one night, which was excellent, and so was the breakfast. We hope to return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ags1950
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely email, and this super review of Beales Hotel, I am so glad that you both enjoyed your stay so much, We have been open for twelve years since the £5.5M demolition and rebuilding of our old Hatfield Lodge Hotel, Since then we have been continuously updating the hotel and it still feels very fresh. Do...

London
Reviewed 20 March 2017

I stayed over one night, arriving tired and hungry on a Sunday evening. The welcome was warm and friendly and the hotel decorated in beige wood with some truly horrible artwork on the walls. No matter. The double room was comfortable and the window actually opened. I do like a bit of fresh air in a hotel room. Tea and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janeyboo
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very detailed 4/5 or 80% review of Beales Hotel. I am pleased you had a good welcome and good service from the team. We are bemused by your description of the artwork as truly horrible, all 130 contemporary works around the hotel are original and of very high quality, your statement is very sweeping in nature....

Reviewed 11 March 2017

Lots parking, modern although not that modern, shopping centre opposite. Meals depending on staff on night sometimes good, sometimes not so. rooms modern although compared to other hotels not that modern.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonSydney2020
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel, I am sorry that you didn't really enjoy the hotel very much, We are perplexed by your comments about the hotel not being modern, it was built in 2004 and is by far the most contemporary hotel in the Hatfield, Welwyn Garden City, St Albans area. However I hope you will reconsider...

107 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
4:36
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
1.9 km away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
11.8 km away
West Lodge Park Hotel
0.3 km away
Ramada Hatfield
Ramada Hatfield
#5 of 6 in Hatfield
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Hatfield Hotel
6.7 km away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,109 reviews
7.5 km away
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
#1 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Outsidein Restaurant & Talk Bar
Outsidein Restaurant & Talk Bar
Cuisines: International, European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stunning contemporary four star hotel, built in 2004, independently owned and run by the nine generation Beale family, with award winning cuisine, restaurant and bar, 53 bedrooms with modern facilities, excellent conference and banqueting areas, free unlimited parking. Over 130 original works of art throughout the building. Free membership of the Hertfordshire Sports Village (large pool, gym etc) less than 5 minutes walk away. Quiet location despite such a central position in Hatfield. Close to Hatfield House, St Albans, Knebworth House and trains to London. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beales Hatfield Hotel

Address: Comet Way, Hatfield AL10 9NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Price Range: ₹ 6,527 - ₹ 12,925 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beales Hatfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Beales Hatfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beales Hotel Hatfield
Hatfield Beales Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel Hertfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beales Hatfield Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago
London, England, United Kingdom
10 months ago
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Inverness, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Beales Hatfield Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“doubt there's a bad room in the place.”
falvey001, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't go in room 32 so go for a room over the carpark.”
rogthehat, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“choose a quite room”
LondonSydney2020, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Executive rooms are very well equipped.”
leejont, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay overnight on this occasion”
839alans, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 136* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 139
Expedia.comUS$ 135
PricelineUS$ 139
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates