We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Montagu Arms Hotel

Hotels.comUS$ 236*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
Panoramas (19)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Montagu Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,129: English reviews
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2015

This hotel is in the most beautiful setting and the hotel itself is very old and charming .Saying that be sure to ask for a room on a lower floor if you do not want to climb 3 flights of stairs to what seemed to be the converted attic .It was a tastefully decorated room and en suite but a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maureen M
SunilKanjanghat, Resident Manager at Montagu Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for writing and posting your review following your recent visit. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to be tastefully decorated. I am sorry, however that you found it a little noisy. We have double glazing in most of our bedrooms, although you will appreciate that this can be...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2015

This was our 2nd two night stay at the hotel. We stay there a couple of years ago. This time we took advantage of the Dinner Bread & Breakfast deal. Our superior room was very pretty, with a welcome back card, which was a very nice touch, bed was a double, no room for a king-size due to how old...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lratford
SunilKanjanghat, Resident Manager at Montagu Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many, many thanks for taking the time to write and post your review following your recent two night stay with us. I am really appreciative and almost speechless by this fantastic 5-star review! The whole team and I are absolutely delighted that you have returned and enjoyed your stay and I am pleased that you found everything to...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2015

Our lovely friends treated my husband and I to afternoon tea here as a wedding present. It is certainly one of the best we've ever had, being gluten free can often mean you are taking a bit of a gamble! But both the food and service here were completely impeccable and my gluten free substitutions were just as good as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GLDP
SunilKanjanghat, Resident Manager at Montagu Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am really appreciative of this outstanding 5-star review! I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea (awarded Best Afternoon Tea by Tea Guild 2013/2014) – and I thank your ‘lovely friends’ for choosing the Montagu Arms Hotel for such a special treat. We are pleased to be able to cater for any guest who has...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2015

A good example of a well established English country hotel in the small village of Beaulieu on the southern edge of the New Forest. The historic hotel has a quite relaxing atmosphere with lots of spacious wooden panelled public rooms. Has a variety of bedrooms in terms of size and decor - mine had a four poster bed. Pleasant dinning...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Marc S
Maidenhead
Reviewed 21 May 2015

We sourced this hotel through design restaurants and also read the reviews through this website. The location is beautiful with lots of character and a bit quirky with cattle & donkeys roaming the roads through Beaulieu. The room we had was basic by modern standards but perfectly acceptable however the addition of quality bath robes, slippers and toiletries enhanced the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
SunilKanjanghat, Resident Manager at Montagu Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our beautiful location. We are so lucky to be located in the beautiful New Forest with its abundance of wildlife, free to roam the forest, the fantastic walks and bicycle trails and the quirky little towns and pebble/sandy beaches, all located...

Reviewed 20 May 2015

Recently stayed at the Montagu Arms hotel for a 2 night stay. The hotels location in Beaulieu village is ideal for exploring the New Forest, and there are some good local walks and I highly recommend the walk that starts at the rear of the hotel and goes along the banks of the Beaulieu river to the lovly village of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RetiredPaul1902
SunilKanjanghat, Resident Manager at Montagu Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting a fantastic review following your recent two night stay, I very much appreciate the time you have spent. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your ‘totally relaxing short break’, it was lovely to be able to pass on your comments to the whole team – they are extremely hardworking and very...

Orlando
Reviewed 19 May 2015

While everything about this place was very good i.e. service amenities and the gardens, the restaurant was exceptional. Don't miss an opportunity to eat at this Michelin starred restaurant. While you can dine a la carte, we took advantage of the chef's secret tasting menu with wine paring. It is secret because they don't tell you what it is you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flannelmouth
SunilKanjanghat, Resident Manager at Montagu Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Wow! I cannot thank you enough for summing up your recent stay with such a fantastic 5-star review! What can I say, you have just mirrored our whole ethos and everything we strive for! We are extremely fortunate to be located in such a wonderful location and I thank you for regarding the Montagu Arms Hotel as a...

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2015

My Mum and I stayed here recently and went on the flower arranging course. The room was really lovely and overlooked the gardens. We went out for dinner as it was a Monday and the restaurant was closed. Breakfast had a very good choice with a buffet and also a menu for hot food. The flower arranging course was really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
SunilKanjanghat, Resident Manager at Montagu Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write and post your lovely review following your recent stay with your Mum for our flower arranging course. I was so pleased to read that you found your room to be lovely and you enjoyed our New Forest Full English breakfast. The flower arranging courses are very popular and our in-house,...

Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 May 2015

We hosted a reunion for 23 friends over 10th to 12th May. The hotel could not have been more helpful, or made our group more welcome. Additionally the food was excellent, as were the friendly staff. All the rooms received good comments, and faults (broken light bulb) were rapidly sorted out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
SunilKanjanghat, Resident Manager at Montagu Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to post a short and concise review following your reunion recently. Everything that you have mentioned, is everything that we strive to achieve and it gave me great pleasure to pass on your comments to my fantastic team who work so hard to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay....

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 May 2015

On arrival the parking facilities can be a bit of a lottery. The stroll down thru the gardens to the rear entrance however is a delight. The garden terracing lovely too. The staff are clearly well drilled when it comes to helpfulness and politeness especially anybody with a French accent who without exaggeration were better equipped to look after you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RedorDead58
SunilKanjanghat, Resident Manager at Montagu Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your time spent posting a review following your recent stay. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your visit and I appreciate you taking the time to highlight these. Following a total refurbishment to all of our public areas, we are currently in the process of refurbishing all of our bedrooms...

485 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (222)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (94)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (243)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (44)
Viewed
Four Poster Suite (32)
Viewed
Junior Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Superior Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
8.8 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,015 reviews
10.7 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
18.1 km away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
764 reviews
8.4 km away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,571 reviews
12.3 km away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Terrace Restaurant
The Terrace Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British
Monty's Inn
Monty's Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Montagu Arms Hotel offers luxury accommodation in the quaint village of Beaulieu in Heart of the New Forest. The Michelin Starred Terrace Restaurant makes it the venue of choice for indulgently delicious fine dining with a taste of tranquil country life. The 18th Century Hotel is the perfect setting for a romantic getaway, walking holiday or a midweek break; oozing traditional charm with its open brick fireplaces, oak panelling and impressive gardens. The historical village of Beaulieu is just 30 minutes from Southampton Cruise Terminal making us the ideal base both pre and post your cruise. The Terrace Restaurant has held its Michelin Star for 5 years running and pays homage to both tradition and innovation; whilst Head chef Matthew Tomkinson uses the finest seasonal ingredients available to create award winning dishes. We are not ones for passing fads, every ingredient has to deserve its place in our dishes. No gimmicks, Just great food.For a more relaxed meal, Monty’s offers wonderful home-cooked classics or country fare, whilst delectable Afternoon Tea can be served in our conservatory or gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Montagu Arms Hotel

Address: Palace Lane, Beaulieu, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Price Range: ₹ 12,624 - ₹ 19,102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Montagu Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montagu Arms Beaulieu
Hotel Montagu Arms
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Montagu Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Montagu Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we always choose to stay in room 17. A little bit of road noise and a long walk from reception, but lovely.”
sergeantWorthing, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Possibly the rooms looking over the garden our quieter but no room is noisey.”
whistlefish, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 7 ... it's the best ... with lovely views over the river and lake. Beautiful.”
892berniew, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“they are all fabulous”
hampshire_grrrrl, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms either have a view of the Garden (back of Hotel) or a view of the lake (Front).”
C1674OEbenc, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 236* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 242
Orbitz.comUS$ 236
TripAdvisorUS$ 236
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates