We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

421 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 421: English reviews
Start your review of Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
 Click to rate
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As a group of 20 members, we need the flexibilty and size that a Shearings hotel can offer. We had options for room sizes and floors and with entertainment at night, this was an ideal hotel. Group bookings give some reduction in costs which is a bonus. The staff were all friendly and efficient. The breakfasts were plentiful and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OVERANOUT
yorkshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 4 nights as our hotel base with Shearings. There is some maintenance work going on at the hotel, but it did not disturb us in any way. The hotel is warm, clean and well run. The staff are friendly but not over familiar. The meals were excellent with lots to choose from. There is a pleasant sheltered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandyladyYorkshire
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review and thank you for your great comments, so pleased the maintenance work did not disturb you, we are always very careful in the contractors we choose to ensure any works undertaken do not upset the running of the guests or running of the hotel. I will pass on...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited on a Self-Drive basis and was greeted on arrival by a very cheerful and professional Receptionist and throughout the visit found everyone equally professional and obviously enjoying their work. Each morning going down to breakfast there was a "Good Morning" wish from the Housekeepers and an equally happy greeting from the Waiters and Waitresses in the Dining Room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KPYorks
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your very kind review, it is so nice to read, I think we are quite a happy crew and it is lovely that this comes across to our guests. I do hope you will be able to visit us again and so sorry that you had to cut your holiday short due to illness, please pass on my...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2017

This is the first time my wife and I have taken a Shearings coach break in the UK and we were not disappointed. The tour was excellent value with a trip out each day with a mix of the beautiful Cotswold countryside and the fascinating cities and towns of the area including Bath and Moreton-in-Marsh. The hotel was first class...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James M
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you so much for such a lovely review, we certainly do take pride in our work and I am very pleased this comes across. I will pass on your comments to all of the team with a special mention to Julie and our new little lady Lexi. Melanie Mann General Manager

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Stayed this week on self drive break Lovley hotel friendly staff, spacious bedroom reasonable bar prices.Food very good and well presented only problem they ran out of our main course choice on three of the four nights and had a seven minute wait for bacon and beans one morning, should be better than this for a Shearings hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie580406
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to post your comments, Its a shame you did not always get your first choice of main course but unfortunately this does happen sometimes if it is something that is very popular, there are always four choices on the menu to choose from so I would also recommend...

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2017

My husband and l have just returned from a weekend break 24/3/2017 to 27/3/2017 at The Prince of Wales hotel,Berkeley with national holidays at a price of £109 with four complimentary drinks on the Saturday night , can only be an offer not to be missed. The hotel is located on the outskirts of Berkeley village and is within easy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank allytjegreat
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

So pleased you had an enjoyable stay and thank-you for taking the time to post your lovely review, I will pass on your praise to all concerned and look forward to seeing you again soon. Melanie Mann General Manager

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Went to this hotel with Shearings. The staff were extremely helpful, the food was very good and the bedroom we had ( a Plus room ) was very good and clean. Two of our party were gluten free and were catered for very well. The only downside was the shower which was quite weak and varied in temperature when used....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank telNorwich
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review, so pleased you found us to be a friendly hotel, I will pass on your praise to all of the team. Melanie Mann General Manager

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Stayed there for the Cheltenham Festival. It was a little bit far away but we had got there by coach so it didn't matter. You need a car to get around because public transport is nearly impossible. Good position to explore Cotswolds. The building is nice but ask for a ground floor room if walking is not so good. No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank homesteads
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, I hope you had a couple of winners at the festival !! Melanie Mann General Manager

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2017

From beginning to end, we cannot fault this Shearings trip. Our driver was really good and knowledgeable making all our excursions excellent. The hotel was exceptional value for money. My only slightly negative criticism would be the bathroom- one had to move around a fair bit in the shower to get wet plus cleaners could look a bit closer to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank duchessm43
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your kind words, very pleased you had an excellent break. I will pass on your comments to all concerned. Melanie Mann General Manager

Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2017

My wife and I stayed at the Prince of Wales hotel last week. The room exceeded our expectations and the bathroom was well equipped. The food was perfectly cooked and well presented. We found the all staff to be helpful and friendly and would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ptchill46
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

A lovely review, thank-you so much for taking the time to post it. Melanie Mann General Manager

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
5.1 km away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
400 reviews
8.0 km away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,413 reviews
6.9 km away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
652 reviews
34.5 km away
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
3.6 km away
The Malt House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the outskirts of the historic town of Berkeley, on the edge of the Cotswolds, the Prince of Wales Hotel is a former public house built 150 years ago. Full of character and maintaining some original features, this hotel is south of Gloucester and just a short drive to the small local towns of Dursley and Stroud. The hotel has a pleasant restaurant opening onto pretty gardens and a patio area. The Prince’s Bar and reception were recently refurbished creating a warm and welcoming environment. You can enjoy the extensive bar menu at lunchtimes and evenings as well as wonderful local ales. The Prince of Wales Hotel is the perfect base for exploring the Cotswolds and the many other attractions that this part of the country has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Berkeley Rd, Berkeley GL13 9HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Berkeley
Price Range: ₹ 2,513 - ₹ 7,540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Prince of Wales Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom
10 months ago
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Liverpool, United Kingdom

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Prince of Wales Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor if you have mobility issues. A rear room to see Countryside views.”
KPYorks, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“For the less agile a ground floor room would be the best option as there is no lift.”
Q7801JUjamesm, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for a 'plus' room”
telNorwich, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No. 30 overlooking garden”
ianw956, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at back away from road noise”
Gerry133, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates