We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens

Booking.comUS$ 288*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 393*
US$ 288*
Great Deal
US$ 393*
US$ 391*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,203: English reviews
Start your review of Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
 Click to rate
Tulsa, Oklahoma, Usa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is our 4th stay at Thornbury. My patience is less and their deferred maintenance is greater. I love the very old building and the period it was designed in. It really does feel very old and very magnificent but not in a gaudy way. The plumbing is maybe 1930's and you can have hot water or cold water but...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Shiela43
Tim P, General Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Sheila, Thank you for sharing your thoughts here on tripadvisor. We are very pleased that you keep coming back and that you seem to have a genuine affection for the Castle as after all, that's exactly what this old Tudor building is and we would never pretend to be a resort or anything other than a Castle which happens...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

what a splendid weekend getaway.. an authentic castle experience with modern comforts.. the restaurant makes you feel like a princess with service and food way beyond expectation.. wander through rooms filled with books and artworks from another era.. play croquet on the lawn after dinner and wander through the gardens filled with aromatic blooms. a wonderful romantic destination

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kkauffman2016
Tim P, General Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your five star review and for your very positive comments, which are very much appreciated by the whole team here at the Castle. I was so pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations and that you particularly enjoyed the food and the service in the restaurant. It is indeed a very romantic destination. I hope we...

London
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The main reason for my low rating of this castle is the extortionate cost. The Tower room itself has much potential and history, but that alone cannot warrant spending nearly £700 for one night. Spending this amount I naturally thought that we were in for an ultimate experience, but sadly I spent a sleepless night in the huge bed (2...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Catereena
Tim P, General Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts here on Trip advisor regarding your stay with us, which mirrors your email to me earlier this week. I am disappointed that you felt that your stay did not represent value for money and I am sorry that you did not enjoy dinner in the restaurant. Food can be a...

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed for dinner, b&b for my husbands birthday. Nothing bad to say. The room was amazing, lovely food with good service. Everywhere feels really cozy despite the size of the rooms. Enjoyed sitting in the bar/lounge for pre/post dinner drinks. I bet the gardens look even better once the roses are out. I have already recommended Thornbury Castle to friends...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank savvers1974
Tim P, General Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive feedback and for your recommendation, which is greatly appreciated. We are so pleased that you and your husband enjoyed all aspects of the castle on the occasion of his birthday and hope that you will return when the roses are in full bloom! best regards Tim Pettifer General Manager

Sartell, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in the Tower Room; 76 stairs to the top, but not as bad as it sounds (and I'm quite heavy and out of shape). Received help taking up our luggage though. We were not disappointed in the room. Pictures do not do this place justice. The bed is the size of two kings, the working fireplace was maybe 6...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thedohmfamily
Tim P, General Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review. We are all so pleased to read that you has such a nice time in the Castle and that you enjoyed all of the facilities and service from the friendly team. I was sorry to read however that you did not enjoy your massage and will ask the company that we use to contact...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Definitely worth a visit. You'll need to book in advance for a table for a cream tea. It's pricey, but worth it. Quality food, sophisticated ambience and excellent service. The grounds and gardens are pretty and worth a wander.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhian 0
Tim P, General Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive review. So pleased that you enjoyed the quality of the food and that you were well looked after. It's also nice to hear that the gardens are appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again. best regards Tim Pettifer General Manager

Newmarket, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fabulous service and food. Dinners were wonderful and we can't say enough about our charming and professional waiters. Make sure you go on the historic tour. Our guide had a wealth of knowledge and lots of her own personal memories to share. She is a retired long time employee. We enjoyed our standard room. Linens and toiletries were lovely and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bevchu
Tim P, General Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your five star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and in particular the history of this very interesting place. I do hope that we can welcome you back to the Castle soon. best regards Tim Pettifer General Manager

BRISTOL
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent a night here on the 7th of may for our 5th anniversary it's cost us £200 for a basic bedchamber! (Declare room) this being one of the cheapest ! I did feel it's was worth the money for a special occasion like this . Found it to be a great experience staying in a castle & it had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
Tim P, General Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your five star review Tim and many congratulations again on your 5th anniversary! We were delighted to welcome you to the Castle and I was pleased to read that you felt so well looked after by the team and that you considered your experience to be good value. Thank you for recommending us. best regards Tim Pettifer...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

...some good some missing. There are three different trip advisor areas for Thornbury Castle. I've posted a full summery of our busted on one of the others but basically yes we'd go back but the hotel could do better for the money and for its ambience with some little attentions to detail that are lacking But yes we'd go back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tara L
Tim P, General Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for your feedback. We are always looking to improve in all areas and the team here are all committed to providing friendly and attentive service, which is often mentioned on this site. You are correct that attention to detail is paramount and I am heartened to read that you would like to return, at...

Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were so excited to have our wedding here in this amazing historical venue. We had the Bedford suite which is the one we asked for - despite what it says on the net it is NOT where King Henry VIIIth and Anne Boleyn stayed. The first night was a bit disappointing as the event manager was not there to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jules S
Tim P, General Manager at Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your very detailed review Julia and for the account of your stay at the castle. I was sorry that you did not feel entirely comfortable at the beginning but delighted that your wedding went off so well and that you were well looked after by the team and by Hannah in particular. The Castle and the surroundings...

1,126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1101)
Viewed
Room/Suite (257)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (248)
Viewed
View from Room (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (45)
Viewed
Dining (60)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
4:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (409)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornbury
6.2 km away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,414 reviews
18.5 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
626 reviews
11.9 km away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Premier Inn Bristol (Alveston) Hotel
8.4 km away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
931 reviews
2.7 km away
Alveston House Hotel
Alveston House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Alveston
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens

Address: Thornbury Castle Castle Street, Thornbury BS35 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Thornbury
Price Range: ₹ 15,500 - ₹ 38,708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornbury Castle And Tudor Gardens Hotel Thornbury
Castle Thornbury
Thornbury Castle And Tudor Gardens England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Feature rooms are spectacular and very spacious.”
gstocker, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose room that has the view of the sunset and the church.”
  • Room.
  • View of the church from the room.
  • View from the room.
  • Room.
  • Bathroom.
dvdsinmk071161, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Particularly liked the Elizabeth Suite as it was on its own.”
ladywombat, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Howard deluxe bedchamber was quite nice!”
G4785YJjackm, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are beautiful.”
SGH57, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 288* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 393
Expedia.comUS$ 391
TravelocityUS$ 391
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates