We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Bell Hotel Epping

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Bell Hotel Epping
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Bell Hotel Epping
See the most recent reviews
Showing 366: English reviews
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

Had an executive room as travelling to London for an early meeting room was very tatty marks splashed all up the wall heating was via a convector heater that smelt of burning paper, shower was very poor (luckily I have a shaved head if I had hair is have never been able to rinse the shampoo away) bar ran out...

Thank Rammieuk
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2015

wanted to stay overnight following an all day wedding. Rooms OK clean and fresh, breakfast OK . Gave us what we wanted which was a bed and breakfast. No frills but we were not expecting the hilton or ritz

Thank Violet-grace
Temora, Australia
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

We usually like to book into Best westerns. Had tried a couple that were full and was directed to this one. It is very tired and dated. The manager was very good. He seen I was on crutches so managed to change our room to the ground floor as there was no lift. It was still a bit of a...

Thank NannyKate29
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2015 via mobile

I chose to stay here as it was coming in cheaper then my normal premier inn in Harlow.. Having driven past a number of times I wasn't expecting to much, however I am very pleased to report in this case looks are deceiving. Check in was painless and the staff were very helpful, the room was a very good size...

Thank DSB36
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2015

I stayed at this hotel for one night at the beginning of October 2015 my arrival time was around 11pm at night, upon arrival the the entrance of the hotel and reception were very clean. The male member of staff who dealt with the check in process was rather scatterbrained and wouldn't let the people I arrived with try to...

Thank lcollins7
Reviewed 3 October 2015

We enjoyed an excellent Tea For Two on Tuesday 29th September. There was a good selection of sandwiches, 2 scones each with jam and cream served separately and a generous assortment of small cakes. More than enough for two and all delicious. A fresh pot of tea was served part way through. We found all staff helpful and friendly but...

1Thank LondonForesters
Kabul, Afghanistan
Reviewed 28 September 2015

My experience was ruined due to the man in reception. The booking process did not go to plan and the man in reception then made me wait as he called Booking.com. He informed me I would be ok as he had loads of rooms free and while I was kept waiting he gave the person on the other end of...

Thank Griefy
Vijay S, Manager at The Bell Hotel Epping, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review us. It is rather unfortunate that you have failed to mention what exactly did happen with regards to your booking. ( It did not go as per the plan ?). It would have helped us to investigate what y had gone wrong with your booking. My sincere apologies if you felt that the...

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Very average hotel but fine for a short stay. Very under-staffed and therefore a long wait for food in the restaurant. Food was OK although Salad wasn't washed and the veg was overcooked. I would stay again but would eat elsewhere

Thank Klangers41
Reviewed 19 September 2015

I stayed here recently for two nights and I was very impressed. After reading other reviews I was a little apprehensive however I really enjoyed my stay. The rooms are quite dated however they are spacious and have a comfortable bed (the mattress is a hard mattress so not to everyone's like). I had the bed and breakfast package and...

2Thank Catherine W
Vijay S, Manager at The Bell Hotel Epping, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us 5* review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2015

We had Tea for Two at the Bell Hotel Epping on Tuesday 15th September 2015. It was fabulous. The sandwiches, scones and a selection of home made miniature desserts were absolutely yummy. Our compliments to the Chef for providing top class afternoon tea. Angela added to our experience with her warm welcome and helpfulness. We sat and chatted, eating of...

Thank Elaine W
Vijay S, Manager at The Bell Hotel Epping, responded to this review

Dear Elaine Thank you for giving us 5* review. I am really pleased to hear you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. I will pass on your complements to our Chef. We hope to see again soon.

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (42)
Room/Suite (12)
Bathroom (7)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
View from Room (1)
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (4)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epping
4.8 km away
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
656 reviews
0.0 km away
Elmcroft Guest House
Elmcroft Guest House
#1 of 3 in Epping
48 reviews
7.0 km away
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Premier Inn Loughton/Buckhurst Hill Hotel
11.5 km away
9.9 km away
Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The character of the countryside is never far away here and neither are the bright lights of London! Business and pleasure meet personality-packed accommodation here, so be our guest! Free Parking, Free Wi-fi, London underground, 32" LED TV and all Non-Smoking En-suite rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel Epping

Address: Bell Common High Road | Greater London, Epping CM16 4DG, England (Formerly Epping Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Epping
Price Range: ₹ 4,938 - ₹ 7,538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Hotel Epping 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Bell Hotel Epping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Epping
The Bell Hotel Epping Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bell Hotel Epping staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Newport, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bell Hotel Epping staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I booked a superior room which located are in a quieter part of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles bestanley2016, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“One at the back, away from the main road”
 of 5 bubbles SueR614, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for main hotel otherwise there's a further walk to the other rooms”
 of 5 bubbles OAPSheffield, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front can be a little noisy from the traffic.”
  • Two towels for two of us, just not enough!
  • Mould on the ceiling.
  • Our room, no central light, just sidelights.
 of 5 bubbles happyessextraveller, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“No. Avoid all”
 of 5 bubbles Dawn281, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay