We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Booking.comUS$ 75*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 106*
US$ 75*
Great Deal
US$ 76*
US$ 76*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

620 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 616: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
 Click to rate
Bournemouth
Reviewed 1 week ago

We travel frequently in the UK and mostly use Premier Inns, which we are addicted to - they're great. On this trip, however, we wanted a hotel close to the A1M in County Durham and this hotel was the best value price wise. We were lucky that it wasn't too busy on a Sunday night. The reception area is extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chocice60
Tow Law, England, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 29 March 2017

we stopped here as we were attending a family event in newton aycliffe first off the reception staff were fantastic and very friendly and very helpful i asked about taxi numbers to take us to our venue not only did they have the numbers but they booked them for us leaving us to relax for a while we stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank met181
About Hotel's Favourite Review
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Dear Met181, Thank you for the lovely comments. It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while in the area. We pride ourselves on always trying our best to help our guests and we are delighted that you had this experience with us. Thanks you so much for saying that you would recommend us. Kind...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived at 10pm after a long 6 hour journey through thunder storms and lots of road works we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who checked us in fast and efficiently Our room was very nice and large with tea and coffee making facilities which was appreciated after such a long journey although more milk portions would be appreciated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a comfortable stay at this hotel. It is conveniently located right next to the motorway, but this Junction has limited options for dining. Your choices are limited to the hotel restaurant/bar or fast food. The room was clean and comfortable, but lacked power outlets near the bedside, and I felt the air conditioner did not adequately cool the room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
Cardiff
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I chose it due to the location for business. However the Wi-Fi is atrocious here it drops out more than it's in. That's unacceptable in a hitel so I chose to go to the McDonald's about 400 yards away and use theirs. The food is very basic they can't even do a Caesar salad which part of iceberg lettuce do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights over Easter. The staff were good, really friendly and helpful. The restaurant coped well with 26 of us in our group. Our room was large and well equipped and the bathroom was fine. The only problem we had was NOISE from the rooms above us. We had a ground floor executive double room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We are sorry that you were disturbed during your stay. It is unusual that we were not able to move your room at the time and again we are sorry for this. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager

Eydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Clean and a good good room. Iron and ironing board in the room. Shower was OK - but poor pressure. I'm sure it's kind to the environment! Despite proximity to the road it was pretty quiet and I had no problem sleeping. Bed was good. Breakfast also good and there was a bar and food service in the evening which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crafty_Jock
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We are very pleased that you found the hotel to be nice and quiet for your purposes. It is always great to be able to pleasantly surprise our guests and we hope that you will come back to stay with us again. Hopefully we will still...

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Hotel was easy to find. Clean with great facilities. Staff welcoming and helpful. Room was lovely with a comfortable bed. Restaurant provided a good quality self service breakfast. Food was available all day though we didn't eat there. The menu appeared to give adequate choice - similar to basic pub grub. Hotel was further away from anywhere than we expected...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary Q
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and we hope to welcome you back again. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Well placed for visiting the North East. The staff are friendly and very helpful, and the rooms are very clean, comfortable and spacious, with double being a 6 foot bed. Breakfast was a standard holiday inn breakfast. Would stay again. However, could not recommend the restaurant. It was very poor value for money. It was very ordinary heat and serve...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pattie42
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us some feedback on your recent stay. Please accept our apologies that you did not find our food to be of a good standard. It is always helpful to have specific comments so that we can address them. We do try to serve good hearty meals that our guest will enjoy without being pretentious. Your comments...

Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

The staff are great and are what make the hotel. The rooms are ok but the bathrooms are poor. A small cupboard like room with a toilet and shower, made it feel like a poor b&b. The restaurant/bar area is small but nice and down in the new more funky HI style. It's probably more suited to a Holiday Inn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amp330
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We are very pleased that you found our staff to be great and we certainly agree that the people are what makes a hotel great. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager

149 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Aycliffe
1.7 km away
Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel
17.2 km away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
7.7 km away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#9 of 21 in Darlington
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,072 reviews
0.8 km away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
757 reviews
5.6 km away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Address: Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Price Range: ₹ 3,685 - ₹ 8,081 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Durham, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We used ground floor and the room was silent (no motorway noise).”
  • A touch of class with the decor
  • First-class shower room (no tub)
  • King size bed
  • Well-designed curved wall around shower room
  • Useful desk and computer area
chocice60, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on west side would be quieter.”
fluffysfriend2015, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't accept Room 19 unless you want a poor sleep from noise, or need an access room”
AlanF_100, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had accessible room 19”
LBDYork, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
Ness1976, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 75* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 76
HolidayInn.comUS$ 76
HotelQuicklyUS$ 106
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates