Mystic Orchid Retreat

The Cottage
Traveller (294)
Photos from February 2019
Room & Suite (93)
Dining (12)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#9 of 34 hotels in Kalimpong
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Travellers' Choice
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi, Nepali
Property amenities
Free parking
Internet
Restaurant
Evening entertainment
Kids stay free
Airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Breakfast available
Complimentary tea
Car hire
Taxi service
Outdoor fireplace
First aid kit
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Dining area
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Separate dining area
Sofa
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Smoking rooms available
263Reviews5Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 185
  • 55
  • 6
  • 4
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Soumitra R wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a wonderful Journey it was. We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and 4 days. We like everything about this hotel. The location of this hotel in the middle of the nature. Behavior of the every staffs of this hotel are very good. Restaurant is also well decorated and hygienic as well as food is also very tasty 😋with reasonable price. You will get car service from this hotel for pickup and drop from NJP Railway Station or Bagdogra Airport and local sightseeing. I recommend you to book this hotel without any hesitation.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nivedita Mullick wrote a review Jan 2020
Kolkata (Calcutta), India4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Planning a stay in the lap of mother nature away from the city hustle and bustle? Mystic Orchid Retreat, Kalimpong offers you a great view of the surrounding mountains. This place is perfect for all the nature lovers out there. The cottages here are well decorated with a balcony outside and an attached bathroom with the facilities of geyser, shower and mirror. The staffs here are very helpful and welcoming. The food here was top notch and the taste of each and every item was amazing. The rooms are spacious and is a perfect blend of comfort and space to get its feel be there once.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from mysticbhum, Guest Relations Manager at Mystic Orchid Retreat
Responded 28 Jan 2020
Dear Madam Greetings from The Mystic Orchid Retreat Thanks for your wounderful word , Please do visit again
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KAUSTAV G wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I visited this resort with 5 of my friends.
Proper covid protocols were maintained and we were very satisfied with the overall hygiene. Rooms were spacious and food was delicious as well. A gala dinner was arranged on the new years eve which we enjoyed a lot
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Suman Mukherjee wrote a review Aug 2022
Kolkata (Calcutta), India1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Rooms were Good. Cleanliness could have be
Hotel Staff was supportive, good, well mannered, always had smile on their face.
Food was good.

House keeping and room service efforts need improvement on
*Everyday feedback
*Replinishment of all essential items everyday viz. Soap, shampoo, tea & coffee shachets etc. glass, cups.
*Followup on cleaning of rooms.

Hotel needs structural updation viz. installation of lift as it is extremely difficult for aged people with orthopedic problem to climb up through stairs from the cottage.

Prunning of plants and control of pest in and around hotel is necessary.

The entrance & glow sign with the name of hotel needs updation as they project initial brand value of property.

Thanks.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karanveer Singh wrote a review Jul 2021
4 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Washrooms needs to be updated, Rugs and carpets in the rooms not washed in ages. Service is very slow, average food quality and communication gap between the staff. Requisition staff is sleeping. Not good team work. Have to improve if you want to rate your hotel a star rated one.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nivedita Sen, Guest Services / Front Office at Mystic Orchid Retreat
Responded 25 Dec 2021
Dear Guest, Greetings from The Mystic Hotels Thank You for staying with The Mystic Hotels and for your valuable feedback. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us it was a pleasure to be at your service. It was really heartening to know that we were able to meet your expectation in providing exceptional services and hospitality. As guest comfort and satisfaction are the two main motives behind running our business, I believe that your appreciation will definitely motivate us in bringing the best of everything and achieving new heights in the fields of hospitality and management. Well it was a pleasure to have you here and we will be looking forward to your next stay with The Mystic Hotels properties. Regards Sanchita 09836929596 The Mystic Hotels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sagnik Dutta wrote a review Jan 2020
Kolkata (Calcutta), India44 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I always prefer staying in the outskirts rather than staying in the middle of the town. I prefer scenic beauties, rather than crowds. Mystic orchid retreat is located at the outskirts of Kalimpong. A perfect place for a couple, group of friends or a family. They have cottages which gives you a different experience of staying. The best part about this place is the scenic beauty. The cottages are also made with contrast to those beauties.

The rooms were surrounded by glass windows which will provide you more than enough sunlight in the morning, but also brings cold breeze which os guarded by hanging curtains. The beauty of these rooms can't be explained. They have various rooms in various steps of the mountain. The deluxe rooms were surrounded by walls only but the rooms were huge.

The ambience of the place is beyond explanation. The place was full of flowers and plants. Green was the colour of that whole place. They have sitting areas in various steps along with plants and flowers.

Then, coming to the restaurant. The restaurant was huge but the food there was limited. It was difficult to get whatever you want to have at Kalimpong. But the preparation was good. Their hospitality was no doubt great. They were very friendly. We enjoyed the bonfire with them. We had a lot of fun.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from mysticbhum, Guest Relations Manager at Mystic Orchid Retreat
Responded 28 Jan 2020
Dear Madam Greetings from The Mystic Orchid Retreat Thanks for your wounderful word , Please do visit again
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aditi wrote a review Jan 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed there recently. I really didnt like this hotel. Although they said complementary breakfast, yet they don't have enough option. If you ask for an extra egg in the breakfast, they will charge you for that.

Our bedroom was in the extreme corner so we need to climb up and down a lot everyday for food, again terrible. Not good for elder people.

The service is good. They are polite but food is not enough.

Its so chilling cold and if you ask for heater, they will charge you extra for that.

The head office is terrible, very poor management and extremely rude. I have sent them an advance amount in a wrong account and they have not paid me back.

I will not recommend to anyone.... At this pricing, you will get more options there....
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nivedita Sen , Guest Services / Front Office at Mystic Orchid Retreat
Responded 10 Apr 2021
Dear Ms Aditi Greetings from The Mystic Hotels !!!! Thank you for your time to write this review. I apologize for your bad experience, I wish, you had a better experience. It is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. Regarding the climb up and down a lot everyday for food we have cottages in down stair , But we provide room service as per the guest request , We are sorry to hear that you did not like our foods . Kindly allow us a chance to serve you again I will personally ensure you get the best rooms and services. Regards Guest Relation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sumitdutta17dcm wrote a review Oct 2021
Kolkata District, India2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have spent end week of September 2021 at this property with my family. Weather was very good. You can enjoy the whole natural beauty from here. Staff behavior is very good and food quality is fabulous with budget friendly. From here the local sightseeing will become closure. All the other facilities like bon fire, bbq are available as per your request. Local sightseeing will charge you around rs. 1500/-. Car facility will also available from the hotel property. Njp drop and pickup also available with budget friendly cost.
It's located in 15 mints distance (by car) from Kalimpong Taxi stand. Car fare from Njp to this property will charge you around 2200/-. In this property there are 4 standard double bed room, 4 Delux double bed room and two separate cottage with nature view balcony. I will recommended for standard or delux rooms with friendly budget.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nivedita Sen, Guest Services / Front Office at Mystic Orchid Retreat
Responded 3 Nov 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with The Mystic Hotels and Resorts and for your generous feedback. It was a pleasure to have you here with us. We are glad that you had a wonderful time with us. It does give us immense satisfaction to know that you you were pleased with the services that were provided to you during your stay. As our main concern has always been to provide utmost pleasure and comfort for our valued guest so it very heartening to receive such generous compliments from your side. we truly believe that it will definitely motivate us to set and achieve higher goals in the fields of hospitality and management. Well it was a pleasure to be at your service and we shall always be looking forward to your stay with us very soon. Yours In Hospitality, Sanchita The Mystic Hotels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anz M wrote a review Jan 2021
Kolkata (Calcutta), India1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mystic Orchid, Kalimpong is a well maintained property situated in a quiet area in Kalimpong 12 th Mile.(15 mins from the town centre) The service is very good and the property is very clean and well kept. Food choice can be improved to include a bit of continental. Overall very Nice place and recomended if you want a clean environment amidst greens and quiet nature with all amenities.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Raghu wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the best stay I had in my whole trip. The location was superb. The view from every room was so great that you'll feel very close to the pleasant nature. The staff were very helpful either. The food they served was one of the best I had in my complete trip of West Bengal. Overall it was a very pleasant and wonderful stay at Mystic orchid.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Mystic Hotels, Owner at Mystic Orchid Retreat
Responded 16 Jul 2020
Dear Guest, Namaste! We are grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our Hospitality services. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to give our best and go the extra mile for our patrons. We would love to host you again. Hope to see you again at at Mystic orchid Retreat at Kalimpong Regards Sanchita Guest Relation Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Passport21793142751 asked a question Aug 2021
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
What is the tariff of queen bed room
Answer from The Mystic Hotels
Kolkata (Calcutta), India58 contributions
Rs 3200/- in CP plan for DBL Occupancy per nights per rooms
Passport21793142751 asked a question Aug 2021
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
What is the tariff of queen bed ?
Answer from The Mystic Hotels
Kolkata (Calcutta), India58 contributions
Dear Sir Greetings from The Mystic Hotels !!! Yes we have 06 cottage out have 04 Cottages are cobined cottages and 02 cottage are single cottages further more details contact 9830538832 /9674269218
TrueBrit_10 asked a question Sept 2016
England2,488 contributions455 helpful votes
What is the weather like in March?
Answer from The Mystic Hotels
Kolkata (Calcutta), India58 contributions
Dear Sir Thanks for your wounderful reviews Regards Sanchita
Answer from Mark Yoganu
Paris, France16 contributions31 helpful votes
The orchid specialist is the owner,ask them directly ;-)
Sanjeet M wrote a tip Jan 2024
Noida, India2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not fall for the photos and the view this hotel offers, because amenities are all other services are pathetic."
Read full review
Inspiration577252 wrote a tip Sept 2023
3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Totally avoidable. The place takes pride in being there but that's about it. Find a better property which focuses on its service quality."
Read full review
Excursion14919758350 wrote a tip Jun 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel has many floors and the rooms offering great views are situated many stairs below. A lift would greatly help!"
Read full review
Niranth wrote a tip May 2023
Bengaluru, India9 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Located in outskirts and not easy to commute to Kalimpong city. Avoid this hotel due to worst maintenance attitude by hotel management. "
Read full review
RH wrote a tip Oct 2022
Dibrugarh1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to improve service and respond to customers"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kalimpong area.
PRICE RANGE
₹1,338 - ₹3,344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Orchid Retreat
LOCATION
IndiaWest BengalKalimpong DistrictKalimpong
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MYSTIC ORCHID RETREAT (Kalimpong, West Bengal) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mystic Orchid Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Mystic Orchid Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Deolo Hill (1.3 km), Pine View Nursery (4.6 km), and Zong Dhog Palri Fo Brang Monastery (5.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mystic Orchid Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Mystic Orchid Retreat?
Top room amenities include a dining area, extra long beds, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Mystic Orchid Retreat?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Mystic Orchid Retreat?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mystic Orchid Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Art Cafe, Sood's Himalayan Vista, and Cafe Refuel.
Does Mystic Orchid Retreat have airport transportation?
Yes, Mystic Orchid Retreat offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mystic Orchid Retreat?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Hindi, and Nepali.
Does Mystic Orchid Retreat have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Kalimpong HotelsKalimpong Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KalimpongHotels near Mystic Orchid Retreat
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire