We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Laitumkhrah Main Road, Shillong 793003 India
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$55
StayForLong
Agoda.com$55
eDreams$55
Trip.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (70)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (26)

About

#13 of 91 in Shillong
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled in the heart of the city Laitumkhrah lies Hotel Poinisuk. Hotel Poinisuk offers an amazing range of accommodation options with heartwarming hospitality for business as well as leisure travelers. The well-appointed room boasts of contemporary amenities and assures a comfortable stay for all guests. The apt location of the hotel provides travelers to commute easily to the best that the city has to offer. Home to the most beautiful church which is a major tourist attraction ‘The Cathedral of Mary Help of Christians’ lies within a short distant from our hotel, the most happening cafes of the town and the city’s famous salon and spa sets a perfect indulgence for leisure travelers and for fitness enthusiasts the city’s best gym is just a jog away from the hotel. Our rooftop restaurant ‘Dopwai’ is always brimming with tantalizing fragrances and offers multi-cuisine delicacies ranging from Indian to Italian and Asian. Delivering oriental tastes in their purest form, this setting is a montage of classic and contemporary taste under one ethnic roof. Each dish is prepared with meticulousness such that it’s perfect for sinful indulgence. ‘Klong’ the lounge bar, reiterates comfort and style a kindred spirit in ambiance, it thrives on its pep atmosphere to allow savoring of beverages amidst complete tranquility. Aptly manned by master bartenders; a drink for every mood and every soul to match the pulsating vibes of energy. Our well furnished banquet hall with 200(approx) people accommodation is an ideal venue for business get-togethers, parties and other events. Our knowledgeable and amiable concierges are delighted to help our guests in any way possible throughout their stay.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Doorperson
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Additional bathroom
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Bath / shower
Telephone
Clothes rack
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Portuguese
120Reviews3Q+A17Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 33
  • 44
  • 21
  • 8
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
sagarikamelkote wrote a review 9 May
hyderabad27 contributions29 helpful votes
Hotel Poinisuk ticks all the boxes - location, cleanliness, room size, courteous staff, good food. Rooms are large, well appointed and clean. Bathrooms are ok, though some of the fixtures like the bathtub look in need of replacement. The daily breakfast spread has enough choices for every palate. The rooftop lounge restaurant serves great food in the evening. Great ambience too. The hotel staff is very friendly, smiling and helpful. All in all, the stay was a very pleasant one, would stay here again if I had to.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Helpful
Share
Barnali Biswas wrote a review Mar 2022
Pune District, India64 contributions
+1
A relatively narrow road which is known as the Laitumkhrah main road leads to the hotel. This road is of historical importance in the sense that the British made and used this road for their horses to go down to Polo grounds via the Goralane-assam rifles roads. Frankly speaking, you might even miss the hotel entry if you are not aware. It stands parallel to the main road right before the main chowk (Police Point). Hotel Poinisuk is in the heart of the city, in Laitumkhrah, beside the Laitumkrah Post Office. They have a big parking space in the basement. Our driver dropped us in the parking. And immediately we had bell boys from the hotel tend to us. The entrance to the hotel is pretty with lots of plants along the walls. The lobby was chic and well decorated like any 3 or 4 star hotel. they also have a metal detector at the entry, which buzzes every time you cross it. They have installed automatic sanitizer dispensers everywhere around the hotel. At first glance you will like what you see in the lobby. The local ladies at the reception were in traditional outfit and welcomed us. We had a corporate booking in the hotel so we were entitled to the premier rooms with balconies. The formalities included giving them the dual vaccination reports, ID card and reservation email. We were given 3 rooms, two at 3rd floor and one at the second floor. We took the lift to our respective floors while the bell boys brought in our luggage later. The boys were very cordial and helpful. Since we got the premier rooms, the size was pretty big. It had a double bed, flatscreen tv, mini refrigerator, safety vault, big cupboard, electric kettle, a separate seating section with plush sofas, a small table and chair and a small balcony. They have ample plug points so it feels like a boon for people like me carrying N number of gadgets. The bathroom is also pretty spacious with a big bathtub and hand shower and a separate shower section. Standard set of toiletries were provided in the bathroom. At first glance the room definitely looked premium. But the trouble started soon after. Out of the 3 rooms, ours was the one which had a bunch of problems from day one. Since they only had 4 premier rooms and none empty they couldn't move us around. The first problem detected was the door to the balcony didn't close, so at night it would be a problem when the temperature dropped. The second problem was that the key card when inserted in the power slot would not work at times, hence we were not able to switch on the lights at times. The third problem was the bedside power switches were made in a funny manner and you wouldn't really understand which is a functional switch because it looks flat like a empty slot on the board. And finally to get hot water you have to keep the geyser running all day long and even after that let the water flow for about 5-10 minutes before hot water started. So over the 2 days of our stay in Poinisukh we had to call for housekeeping staff multiple times and at some point it started feeling like they would surely throw us out for making so many complaints. So to sum up, even in premier rooms we faced certain challenges. However I would say that the particular room on the 3rd floor had all these problems. The other two rooms we had got for our group didn't face most of the challenges apart from the hot water issue. Also we spent the last day of our Meghalaya trip again in this hotel and this time we got a different premier room. None of the above problems happened in this room. So I think the trouble is only with one of the rooms. I do not remember the room number but it is the last (premier) room in the third floor. The hotel has a roof top restaurant which serves some nice food. It s a very popular joint during the weekends so there is a lot of crowd in the restaurant at night. Even if you are boarding in the hotel you might not find a place after 8 Pm in weekend nights. Be sure to either place your order in advance or be at the restaurant before 8. We found the Ala carte menu having some wonderful choices. Do try their ice creams it is lovely. The serve buffet breakfast. Be there before 8.30 am or else if there is a big group staying at the hotel you might end up not getting half the things if you turn up late. It happened with us. And since we were the smaller group, the hotel didnt re stock on some of the dishes once they were finished by the earlier group. Especially things like poori, dosa, vada etc gets over pretty fast and is not refilled if it is a small group coming afterwards. The buffet menu has both continental and south indian options. In non veg there was various types of eggs and chicken sausages. Overall comfortable stay. The Laitumkhrah Market is just walking distance from the hotel, so if you want you can try out other eating options outside as well. There is also a KFC bang opposite to the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We faced a number of issues in the last room in the 3rd floor. Avoid it
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Arnab Mishra wrote a review Feb 2022
Mumbai, India42 contributions2 helpful votes
Located in Laitumkhrah, one of the hotspots in Shillong and only an hour's drive away from the Shillong Airport. I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and I had an amazing experience. The premium category room is very spacious with a bathtub and all other basic amenities. One of the best aspects is that the hotel has a rooftop lounge and restaurant where one can sit and enjoy the great food they serve which is of good quantity for the price and really tasty. Special Mention to the staff Mr Charles, Mr Shemlod for ensuring smooth stay(check-in, checkout and travel arrangements) and to the restaurant staff Mr Fredrick, Ms Minisha, Mr Niraj & Mr Bithya for being courteous and helpful while serving and catering to all personal requirements. Overall my stay was really enjoyable and comfortable with some great food.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Premium Quality Rooms
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Pulkit Singh wrote a review Nov 2021
13 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed at the hotel for 3 Nights and I can say that we really had a good time. The staff is very supportive and helpful. The highlight of this hotel is its rooftop restaurant wherein one can sit with a glass of drink after a tiring day of excursion. The rooms particularly Deluxe category are not much spacious. However, premium category room is very spacious and comfortable. A few rooms of hotel are disabled friendly which shows the commitment of hotel to serve masses. Special thanks to Ms. Doris (Duty Manager at the time of checkin and checkout), Mr. Bondekar, Mr. Charles and Mr. Andrews for cooperating with us throughout our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Parking is available in basement. However, no space available for drivers. The hotel serves...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Manoj Sharma wrote a review Jan 2021
New Delhi, India2 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed in this hotel on business visit ....very poor services ...poor ambiance & stinking rooms ...kept changing & still very uncomfortable. Staff very brazen & uncourteous. Felt cheated of my money. Not recommended for any kind of stay. Overpriced & bad food quality to top it making it one of the worst stays as far as I can remember.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Poinisuk, Other at Hotel Poinisuk
Responded 29 Jan 2021
Dear Guest, We thank you for taking your time and writing us your feedback. With regards to the service and food quality we sincerely apologize to you for all the convenience caused to you during your visit and we make sure we will work on it and try to improve.
Read more
parimal d wrote a review Mar 2020
Mumbai, India26 contributions24 helpful votes
Best part of hotel is its restaurant. Good food and ambience. No swim pool. Situated in busy street . Heavy traffic in Shillong needs to b catered to reach hotel. Hotel is good for tourist who needs food and bed only. No recreation activities available. Hot water supply is an issue. Desk staff harsh and not polite , may b culture in Shillong .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms are equally good
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel_Poinisuk, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Poinisuk
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for writing us your feedback and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and the ambience at the restaurant however with regards to the hot water supply we look forward to renovating the property in near future with geyser facility in the rooms. In regards to the behaviour of the staff we make sure to train them properly on how to deal with guests in every situation but we don't think it is right to question on the culture of any place no matter what.
Read more
Sree Pragassh wrote a review Feb 2020
Chennai (Madras), India3 contributions1 helpful vote
Rooms are Clean but very small. Toilets too are clean but Hot Water is available only from 6 am to 11 am and again from 6 pm to 11 pm. In some rooms even at those hours one has to run the water for 10 minutes plus for hot water to flow. Food is excellent and Restaurant staff- especially ans Isa and the other boys are excellent!! Their service inspite of us being there in Valentines Day was commendable! Location is excellent but One has to be prepared for Traffic Delays in Shillong!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel_Poinisuk, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Poinisuk
Responded 20 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, We appreciate you for taking your time in writing us your valuable feedback and are glad to hear that some of our team members have really won your heart with their excellent service in such busy operations however with regards to the room size and hot water we look forward to renovating them in the future with better facilities and bigger space. We hope to see you again.
Read more
Sanjay B wrote a review Jan 2020
New Delhi, India50 contributions37 helpful votes
One of the only hotels in Shillong with a parking. Nice place, compact, nothing more. Average breakfast, though in a good ambience. They did give me packed lunch on demand. That was a 5 star effort. thanks
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel_Poinisuk, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Poinisuk
Responded 25 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, We thank you for taking your time in writing us your feedback and also we are happy to hear that you liked our property, however in regards to the breakfast we are sorry to hear that our service didn't match your expectations. We would like to inform you that we have hired some of the best staff in order to improve our service and standard, we look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Sagar_Radhi wrote a review Dec 2019
New Delhi, India175 contributions35 helpful votes
Location wise this hotel is good, in the market. Parking is in a basement. Although this is a 4 star property but don't compare it with other properties. Rooms are small and average. Interior and designing is normal. They keep on reminding you by various messages around to save water /electricity which I found very nice. Also clearly articulated any damage /loss / linen etc. everything will cost to you. They have amazing restaurant on terrace which served liquor /hookah. Room service available.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel_Poinisuk, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Poinisuk
Responded 25 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, We thank you for taking your time and writing to us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our service at the restaurant and we are sorry that the size of the rooms didn't match your expectations, however in near future we look forward to the renovation of the property and hope to welcome you back.
Read more
VIBROMAN wrote a review Nov 2019
BANGALORE34 contributions8 helpful votes
We had to make a last minute change in our travel plan due to the tense situation in Manipur. Visited Shillong and stayed three nights at poinisuk. Good location if you want to be in the City with Good access to restaurant's and shopping all around. Bit noisy from early morning. Surprised that premium rooms are road facing experiencing noise all night. Deluxe rooms are smaller and poorly ventilated. In House restaurant is one of few high end places. Nice food and service.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel_Poinisuk, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Poinisuk
Responded 25 Nov 2019
Dear Guest, We thank you for taking your time and leaving us your feedback and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and the service at the restaurant. With regards to rooms as it is an immovable property we will not be able to change it however we will try to improve them by making some renovations etc. We look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$52 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaMeghalayaEast Khasi Hills DistrictShillong
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Poinisuk
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Poinisuk?
Nearby attractions include Ward's Lake (1.0 km), Cathedral of Mary Help of Christians (0.5 km), and Ward's Lake (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Poinisuk?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Poinisuk?
Top room amenities include a minibar, an additional bathroom, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Poinisuk?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Poinisuk?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Poinisuk?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dejavu, Cafe Shillong, and Dylan's Cafe.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Poinisuk?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Poinisuk?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Portuguese.