We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
G.S. Road Police Bazar, Shillong 793001 India
Priceline
Booking.com
StayForLong
FindHotel
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (17)
Room & Suite (20)

About

#15 of 91 in Shillong
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Looking for a budget stay in Shillong right in the nucleus of Shillong? Hotel Monsoon is your pick. Hotel Monsoon is Shillong's Best Budget hotel option with cosy rooms, complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi access, a bottle of packaged drinking water, TataSky Digi Cable, Daily Housekeeping, Room Service, Restaurant and travel assistance as its prime facilities. All this in the heart of the town at a reasonable value point. If its a no-frills value stay option that you are looking for in the vicinity, Hotel Monsoon is would be your choice..
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Laundry service
Room features
Room service
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
45Reviews9Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 9
  • 22
  • 8
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Shahib wrote a review Nov 2018
Uttara, Bangladesh2 contributions
Only the breakfast is okay. No wifi. Phone network works only in the lobby. Rooms are below average. Don’t pay in full when you check in cause if you have to check out before your expected date for some emergency, they wont give the money back for the days you are not staying there. So if you stay for 3 days, pay only for 2.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Srijit G wrote a review Jul 2018
1 contribution
We stayed there for 2 days and it was pretty good.The rooms are small but very clean and bathrooms also are clean.You get hot water anytime u want.They have a restaurent too,they food is very tasty at decent price.You get free wifi and free breakfast which is served in buffet style. The price you pay for normal rooms is bit high but the service and the rooms u get justifies that. Will suggest this place if u want to have a comfortable stay in the prime location of Shillong.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Mario DSylva wrote a review Apr 2018
Bandra, Maharashtra, India304 contributions55 helpful votes
I had booked a single occupancy room thru TripClues. It was a compact, clean room, very quiet at the rear of the hotel. I realized, that there was no network reaching this room. The Manager/staff on duty were kind enough to change the room to a more convenient one. There is free WIFI and breakfast included. I may add here, that breakfast was a meal in itself, with a wide variety of dishes. The staff were extremely helpful. They have a restaurant, and every night by 8.30pm a waiter would come and inquire if I needed dinner. Through the suggestion of the staff, I could do a 2 day tour, without unnecessary expense. And this hotel is practically near the main circle, which is a happening place. All in all a very delightful experience at Hotel Monsoon. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kush L, Director-Operations at Monsoon
Responded 22 Apr 2018
Dear Mr. Mario, We thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Monsoon for your recent trip to Shillong & sparing time to share your delightful experience on this forum. We are glad to learn that our team ensured that all your requirements were met & you liked our room hygiene and breakfast spread. Thank you for your recommendation and words of encouragement to be shared with our team. Wish to serve you soon.
Read more
karthick srinivasan wrote a review Mar 2018
Hyderabad, India163 contributions49 helpful votes
This is an average place to stay right at the police bazaar. The location is bit of a bonus if you wish to explore the bazaar and stuff. But otherwise it was a average place though the bathrooms were pretty clean.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kush L, Director-Operations at Monsoon
Responded 5 Apr 2018
Dear Sir, Thank you for choosing Hotel Monsoon- Shillong's preferred budget hotel and sparing time to share your views. As you rightly mentioned, the location is a premium which makes it convenient to access all needs. We strive to provide guests a clean and cosy ambience to assist their stay while they explore the city. We wish to see you soon.
Read more
NafeeTA wrote a review Nov 2017
Dhaka City, Bangladesh755 contributions102 helpful votes
The hotel is actually one of the better ones in the police bazar area and is in good demand, which is why the price is a bit on the higher side. However, the place has good wifi, offers complimentary breakfast, and is located in Police Bazar, the city centre.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kush L, Director-Operations at Monsoon
Responded 22 Nov 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you to choosing to stay with us at Hotel Monsoon once again and taking out time to share your views about your stay and our offerings. Indeed, one of the highlights of the hotel is it's location and this added with complimentary breakfast, free WiFi, a bottle of packaged drinking water and warm services makes Hotel Monsoon one of the most sort after budget destination for guests traveling to Shillong for work or to experience Meghalaya. Wish to serve you again soon. Thanks & Regards, Kush Loungani Director-Operations Hotel Monsoon
Read more
BasuAN wrote a review Oct 2017
Kolkata (Calcutta), India89 contributions64 helpful votes
Located right in the hub of Shillong this hotel provides great location for relatively affordable price. Our experience was mixed though. We stayed here for 2 nights. On our first night, when we returned to our rooms we found that there was a pipe leakage and water (probably dirty) was dripping from the ceiling. All our luggagw was wet, so was our beds. On informing the authorities we were promptly relocated to nearby Shillong Club, presumably of the same owner, which was a more expensive facility. Although the experience was really unpleasant but the prompt response of the staff saved the day for us. The breakfast was really good and interaction with the staff was pleasant
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kush L, Director- Operations at Monsoon
Responded 16 Nov 2017
Dear Mr. Anirban, We thankyou for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Monsoon and would like to apologise once again for the pipeline failure during your stay. We did the best in our capacity to try and move you to a higher category hotel closeby since what you experienced was totally uncalled for and certainly the last thing we wish any guest encounters with us. We thankyou for your patience while we arranged for your transfer and your kind words post the one-off incident. We would love to host you once again soon. Do feel free to contact me directly at gm.hotelmonsoon@gmail.com for your booking. I would be glad to meet you and ensure that you have the right stay just like most of our patrons. Warm Regards, Kush Loungani Director- Operations Hotel Monsoon
Read more
Saurabh B wrote a review Aug 2017
New Delhi, India47 contributions18 helpful votes
+1
We stayed at this hotel for 1 night only in the month of June 2017. Location is great, bang on the Police Bazaar road. Shops, people, hotels, restaurants, cafes, post office you'll find everything around this hotel in walking distance. Initially we had booked 3 rooms through OM TRAVELS, Guwahati but had to cancel one room at the time of check-in. So we thought there will not be any refund but as a courtesy the hotel staff agreed not to charge for the one room. Also the check-in was very quick and smooth. Room service was also quite prompt. Hence a great service overall. We had 2 rooms. One room was road facing, with balcony and other one was inner side. The rooms with balcony are smaller compared to rooms on inner side. But overall rooms were clean. One issue we had with the room on inner side --- exhaust fans were making too much noise. Food - Breakfast was complimentary, it's served in buffet but with very limited choice. Bread, butter, cookies were very fresh as they have their own bakery. We didn't have dinner or lunch at this hotel as we wanted to explore various food joints of Shillong city. We didn't experience anything luxurious here but overall a decent place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Choose rooms with balcony
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kush L, Director- Operations at Monsoon
Responded 16 Nov 2017
Dear Mr. Saurabh, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Monsoon and sharing your short stay experience. Short stays are about small quick services and a chance to explore various aspects about the hotel, city and places to see within a short time. We are glad that we fit the bill as far as your expectations are concerned. With the management having its own bakery, indeed the breads offered are fresh and we are glad that you liked our offerings. We wish to serve you for a another trip to Shillong soon and hope you try our in-house homely food as well. Best Regards, Kush Loungani Director- Operations Hotel Monsoon
Read more
Indrani S wrote a review May 2017
2 contributions
It was very close to Police bazar. Room was clean and bathroom was very good. Room Service was awesome. Food was also good.. Breakfast banquet was very good. Wi fi was not working. We stayed there for four days. Hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful. all over nice stay at this Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kush L, Director- Operations at Monsoon
Responded 18 May 2017
Dear Ma'am, Thank you for choosing Hotel Monsoon​ for your stay in Shillong and sparing time to write about your pleasant experience. We are glad to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and we will share your feedback with our team. We take pride to share that Hotel Monsoon is considered as one of the best in our segment offering small budget rooms with value added services in a prime location and is the only hotel to provide a Complimentary Buffet breakfast which was welcomed by you. The Wi-Fi glitch has been resolved by our broadband partner and we wish to welcome you back soon. Warm Regards, Kush Loungani Director- Operations Hotel Monsoon
Read more
Saptarshi R wrote a review May 2017
Mumbai, India19 contributions2 helpful votes
Location this is one of the best hotels in Shillong. Situated at the heart of Police bazar , the hotel is easily accessible . The rooms are pretty good and washroom was clean. Their breakfast buffet was too good which gave us a kick start in the morning. Starting with tea , oil free parantha r rajma to bread toast and cereals and fresh fruit juice. We used to have our dinner outside mostly but one night we ordered food from the hotel and dinner was simple yet extremely tasty ! Our stay was extremely comfortable to say the least. Overall a good experience!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kush L, Director- Operations at Monsoon
Responded 18 May 2017
Dear Guest, Many thanks for choosing to stay with us and sparing valuable time to write your review on this forum. We added buffet breakfast realising that our tourist and corporate clients​ wished to have a sumptious spread in a quick time before leaving for sightseeing or work. Your mention of this feature is a testimony that it is preferred by our patrons. We at Hotel Monsoon believe that we are a budget hotel with a warm heart and strive to carry this ethos into our service and are glad to know that your entire stay was smooth and memorable. We wish to see you back soon at Hotel Monsoon. Warm Regards, Kush Loungani Director- Operations Hotel Monsoon
Read more
Samik Saha wrote a review Apr 2017
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Pro- Room & Bathroom More or Less Clean But Not Up-to The Mark. Room Service Was Good, Hotel Food Quality Also Okay, Location Is Good (In Heart Of Main City). Con- I Have Book The Hotel With 2 Nos. 3 Bedded Room & 1 Double Bedded In Same Floor Again Advance Payme nt. After Repeated Reminder None Of Time Received The Payment Acknowledgement. On Arrived With Family It Looks That They Are Unable To Give 3 Bedded 2 Rooms Where Willing To Give 2 Bedded 3 Rooms For 1st Night & Requested To Manage. But Is Was Really Surprised That Next Day They Told That They Are Unable To Give Room In Same Floor. I Was Really Not Understood That When Booking Done As Per Written Confirmation/Advance Payment Then How They Are Not Blocking Relevant Room For Me In Same Floor. I Strongly Denied Their Proposal Forcefully They Allow To Retain Room As Per 1st Night But Number Of Time Their Management Staff Told That They Are Loosing Money To Give Us Extra One 2 Bedded Room. This Was Personally I Felt Very Unprofessional Approach Towards A Genuine Customer. Honestly Not Recommend Due To Management Staff Behaviourial Pattern.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Gm_Hotel_Monsoon, General Manager at Monsoon
Responded 25 Apr 2017
Dear Guest, At the onset, we thank you for sharing the good aspects about your stay and would like to acknowledge that indeed we had your confirmed booking for 2 triple bed rooms and 1 double bed room but could not provide you rooms on the same floor. We, however, provided you with 4 double rooms instead for the same booking which were on the same floor. The front desk only intended to suggest that you were not charged for the difference amount since your booking was confirmed and by all means it was our responsibility to provide you your booked rooms. We trust that based on the feedback you provided us during your stay, you were comfortable and had a pleasant stay with regard to quality of rooms, food and apologize for the miscommunication on our front desk's part. Wish to serve you soon at Hotel Monsoon. Warm Regards, General Manager Hotel Monsoon
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$28 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaMeghalayaEast Khasi Hills DistrictShillong
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Monsoon
Which popular attractions are close to Monsoon?
Nearby attractions include Police Bazar (0.1 km), The Evening Club (0.2 km), and Cloud 9 (0.06 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Monsoon?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, room service, and kids activities.
What food & drink options are available at Monsoon?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Monsoon?
Conveniently located restaurants include City Hut Family Dhaba, Jiva Veg, and Madras Cafe.