We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Upper Lachaumiere, National Highway 6 Near Malki Point, Shillong 793001 India
StayForLong
Priceline
FindHotel
Agoda.com
Trip.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (37)
Dining (5)
Room & Suite (5)

About

#10 of 91 in Shillong
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Best Holiday Inn, a Guest House, the best of its kind, at a low cost we provide all the neccessary facilities a normal hotel does - cable TV connection in all rooms, flat screen TV, spacious rooms and bathrooms, electric kettle and tea, coffee, milk and sugar sets in all rooms, free Wifi connection and mini fridge.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry service
Room features
Room service
41Reviews2Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 13
  • 18
  • 8
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Dr K Sundara Raman wrote a review 2 May
India72 contributions44 helpful votes
This hotel is a moderate one, but the location is not good. It is not easy to go around the city from this hotel by walk. Food is all right. The front office staff Mr. Darrar and an another person are friendly. We stayed for 2 nights and the room for the 1st day was not at all good. The front office person has changed us to another good room. Room has a good view.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: First floor side rooms with a lane view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Anil Kumar Ramdas wrote a review Feb 2020
Kannur, India804 contributions50 helpful votes
+1
We had booked this place through an agent for three nights. The booking was for a deluxe room. We reached there late night and were given a room on the second floor. It was just a simple room with only basic amenities and hardly fall under superior category. It was freezing temperature and there was no running hot water. On taking up the matter with the management and agent, we were given a better room on third floor the next day. This was having better look and was also having a water heater in the washroom. This signage outside the hotel gives an indication that this is a guest house and not a hotel. The food and beverages is prepared to order. The road leading to this place is narrow and big vehicles may not be able to enter. The service at the reception and the room service was excellent. There was parking space for about 5 vehicles. The breakfast provided was good. I would recommend this place to those who are looking for just basic accommodation. However pricing looked a bit higher vis a vis the quality of room provided. Room 5/10 Service 8/10 Food. 8/10 Overall 7/10
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Vishnu wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
The location of the hotel is not ideal, it's quite isolated from the main market place,rooms are neat and clean but there's nothing extraordinary,food was very affordable and tasted good, but the complimentary buffet breakfast had very limited options and was repetitive as in the same dishes were served on all our 3days of stay at the hotel, also the tea and milk powder sachet's kept in the room we're expired, hence we had to get them replaced , but to add insult to injury the replaced sachet's had also expired,room service was terribly slow ...we ordered dinner at 7 and finally after several follow-ups the dinner arrived at 9, so all in all not an ideal place to stay and will definitely not recommend this place to anybody traveling to shilling...... lastly it was marketed as a hotel but it turned out to be a guest house
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
RangaiahManchikanti wrote a review Dec 2019
Bengaluru, India104 contributions11 helpful votes
Very cleanly maintained hotel. Offers good and hygienic food. Staff are polite. Very close to city center. Complimentary breakfast was good. I had very satisfying experience overall. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Jyothi wrote a review Nov 2019
6 contributions
Hotel is of average STD....rooms are small but clean...and food was good and staffs were very friendly 😊.. location of the hotel is not very far from the city center...breakfast no much verieties but tasty
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
hdg63 wrote a review Oct 2019
Mumbai, India151 contributions77 helpful votes
Hotel is located in a narrow street where only smaller vehicles can go. As we had a tempo traveler we had to stop at nearby petrol pump and the Hotel staff brought their cars to take us and our luggage to the Hotel. Waiting at Petrol pump after a tiring day is not a comfortable situation. The Hotel RCC structure is little odd so some rooms may be not so good. So have a look at the available rooms before hand. Other then this the staff was very co-operative, food satisfactory and service good. The rooms were also need and clean.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
alam4366 wrote a review Aug 2019
Dhaka City, Bangladesh24 contributions2 helpful votes
The Hotel location is 10 minutes walking distance from the main road. No taxi is available so, someone have to walk up to main road to get a taxi. The reception staffs are very inefficient. They took almost 30 minutes to check in. They don’t know how to print a copy. Their computer knowledge is very poor. They are incapable to do the office work and they are laughing amongst themselves for their mistakes. One staff put the credit card in a wrong way and claimed that card is not working. Very funny !! Check out time was informed before but again the reception took almost 25 minutes to complete the process. They mentioned regarding the room tariff over mail but, the reception staffs has no idea. Very embarrassing !! The breakfast quality is very poor. The room size is big and clean.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Mounika K wrote a review Jun 2019
7 contributions1 helpful vote
This place is a good place to stay! The room was very spacious and very clean. The breakfast options weren't too many!. However, the food ordered for dinner was good. The route to reach this hotel isn't very comfortable. Had to ride in a narrow road with few turns. But overall, we enjoyed the stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Go792154, Guest Relations Manager at Best Holiday Inn
Responded 24 Jul 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your time to share your experience staying with us and we thank you for the points that we need to better in the future.
Read more
Arijit S wrote a review Jun 2019
Kolkata (Calcutta), India265 contributions56 helpful votes
+1
I had very little time to book a hotel, so without much research I booked "Best Holiday Inn" & I am so happy that I didn't make any wrong decision. It was indeed a great value for money experience. What worked well? βœ” As I had booked in a hurry (last minute rush), I wasn't expecting a room with great view. But to try my luck, I called up the property & placed a request for a room on higher floor. The lady over the phone politely explained that she can't assure of it (quite understandably), but will try. I was obliged. βœ” I didn't realize that we will be reaching late in the evening (around 8:00 PM) - when many parts of Shillong will be closed (e.g. shops/restaurants etc.). Thankfully, when I had called up the property requesting for the room on higher floor, this lady (apologies - I didn't take her name) reminded me of this & advised to call and inform hotel in advance if we were willing to have dinner there or not. This was a great help! βœ” As we reached hotel - we were very happy to find that we were indeed given a room on the top floor - with a nice view of the city & surrounding. βœ” Room: Though bit tightly spaced for a family, it was clean, with cupboard (with lock), drawers, sofa, LCD TV (with HD DTH) βœ” Hotel has a lift - which is very helpful for elderly people in particular βœ” Toilets: Western facility, with hot & cold water round the clock βœ” Balcony: Rooms generally appeared to come with an attached balcony - which are safely cordoned with extended grill/rails for safety, but good to have a glimpse of the surrounding βœ” Food: In one word - "delicious"! Room service was top quality! What wasn't that great? βœ— I wish there was more creativity in breakfast menu - it was quite disheartening (especially when you have already tasted the great food at room service) to see only paratha, sabji, upma, cereals, bread (butter/jam) & a single variety of juice βœ— Also, the amount was small for buffet & every few minutes people were forced to wait for refill to come from kitchen βœ— The wi-fi is not that workable (I personally couldn't connect for more than 5-10 minutes) - but it could have been an isolated incident. Summary: β˜… Skipping the minor hiccup with the breakfast, this is indeed a great value for money place to stay. β˜…Just be cautious of one point - though the local cabs will know this place as "Upper Lachaumiere", the hotel entrance comes at a steep downward slope (generally on your left - considering how the traffic flows in general). So, it is better to let the driver speak with hotel for the initial journey - so that you avoid any unwanted loops. β˜… All Hotel Staffs were VERY HELPFUL! Be it for providing extra bed or fan or water or room service or arranging a cab.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Rooms generally don't have AC or Ceiling Fans! If you need, please let reception know &...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Go792154, Guest Relations Manager at Best Holiday Inn
Responded 24 Jul 2019
Dear Mr. Arijit, Thank you for your feedback and we are so glad to see that you had a good stay in spite the hiccup you met with the service or the breakfast. As a good hearted person you tend to see things on a positive side which really motivates us to work for the better in life. We hope, we can host you again in future
Read more
Deepti D wrote a review May 2019
Pune, India6 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel. Plus points - location is good, at the center of Shillong. Have hot water available all the time. Room was clean. Minus points -Rooms are small, not enough furniture. Dining area is small and can accommodate 4-5 tables only. I was not happy with the breakfast. Food was not tasty. At dinner, we ordered dal-fry. But it tasted like south indian Sambar. At the time of checkout, they made mistakes in bill. Same thing happened to other guest as well. So be careful while paying bill.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Go792154, Guest Relations Manager at Best Holiday Inn
Responded 24 Jul 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and pointing out the points we lack behind in order for us to better ourselves in the future.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$38 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaMeghalayaEast Khasi Hills DistrictShillong
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Holiday Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Best Holiday Inn?
Nearby attractions include Ward's Lake (0.8 km), Cathedral of Mary Help of Christians (0.5 km), and Ward's Lake (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Holiday Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Best Holiday Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Holiday Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Holiday Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include City Hut Family Dhaba, Cafe Shillong, and Dylan's Cafe.