We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gujarat Bhavan Hotel

Save
Share
Market Chalotte Lake Rd, Matheran 410102 India
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
CheapTickets
Snaptravel
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (96)
360
Panoramas (26)
Room & Suite (49)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 27/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Gujarat Bhavan Hotel
Updated 27/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 32 hotels in Matheran
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Gujarat Bhavan Hotel was built in 1975 and is one of the best and most beautiful hotels in Matheran. The hotel has maintained greenery across its approximately 2 acre property so guests feel close to nature and away from the concrete jungle. It is located in the heart of Matheran therefore all favourite tourist spots are just few minutes’ walk from the hotel like the Main Bazaar Peth, Railway station, Echo point, Charlotte Lake, etc. Gujarat Bhavan Hotel is famous for its pure vegetarian food i.e. Gujarati Thali for lunch and multi cuisine dishes for dinner like Punjabi, Chinese, Italian, Etc. and the hotel also specialises in Jain food. The hotel is proud to offer multitude of services and amenities like well furnished rooms, Free wifi (limited area only), Swimming pool with mini water slide, Baby pool, Jacuzzi, Children play-garden and many Indoor & outdoor games. Gujarat Bhavan Hotel is like a home away from home.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Public wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Baggage storage
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Table tennis
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
Hindi
272Reviews17Q+A51Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 143
  • 93
  • 22
  • 11
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kamal Saini wrote a review Jun 2008
Ahmedabad, India49 contributions38 helpful votes
We stayed at the hotel on 7th June 2008 but had bad experience with the staff. We cantacted the hotel from Mumbai and booked the room for Rs. 2500/- all inclusive. On reaching, we were informed that there was no room availabe. It was raining outside and using this opportunity, the manager (Bharatbahi) told us that there no room available. we requested to do something. He alloted a room for Rs. 3500/-. We had to put up due to bad weather conditions. Room quality and infrastructure was good. Staff quality was poor. Bed Sheets were not clean. We asked to changed them. they were replaced with equally dirty bed sheets. Room service was ordinary. Food Quality not good for the money. Also the entire property is muddy and no flooring is available which made experience still worse in
Read more
Date of stay: June 2008
2 Saves
Helpful
Share
Response from HarshD, Owner at Gujarat Bhavan Hotel
Responded 8 Aug 2008
Dear customer, you had contacted the hotel just 1 day before from Mumbai and we had just quoted the room rates and not booked the rooms. When we book the rooms we take advance token money and give a booking receipt with the room no. so there has never been a situation in past 30+ years where we give away a room already allotted to our customer. When you contacted our hotel a day earlier all type of rooms were available but when you reached next day at 5 pm all Regular rooms had got full in the morning itself, we can show you the check-in forms of all the Regulars rooms of that day. Another thing is that we have taken pains to maintain greenery and natural look of a hill station so you feel good away from concrete jungle thats why in the rainy season not just our hotel but the whole Matheran gets muddy.
Read more
wannabrb wrote a review Jan 2007
Mumbai48 contributions64 helpful votes
We physically checked out exactly 10 hotels before deciding to stay in Gujarat Bhavan. It was clean, friendly and comfortable with great vegetarian (gujarati) food. A difficult, if not impossible, combination to find in the small hill station of matheran, a 100km from Bombay. One shouldn't expect much in terms of luxury in Matheran. For about Rs.1500 a night, we got a spacious, clean room with b'fast, lunch and dinner. Beat that?
Read more
Date of stay: November 2006
5 Saves
Helpful
Share
PRICE RANGE
US$58 - US$89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaMaharashtraRaigad DistrictMatheran
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing