We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Motel 6 OSU

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel 6 OSU
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 81: English reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

I specifically asked for a handicapped accesible room. They put me on the 2nd floor, no elevators on premises mind you, tried to tell me they had no rooms and threatened legal action and amazingly found a handicapped accesible room. Okay great the ramp was the whole way at the other end of building, I was on the other far...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
SIMA P, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 OSU, responded to this review

Dear Danielle S, Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and share your experience! I am sorry to hear that you did not have a completely comfortable stay at our hotel we are now informed the management about your concerns regarding with your request which didn't grant your comfort and convenience are our top priorities.I do thank...

Reviewed 25 September 2016

I don't think it goes by this name anymore. It was a basic motel,pretty clean,a little beat up from the college crowd but ok. I was alone as a man and as they say "you get what you pay for". More upscale costs you more but this place was fine for me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donny b
SIMA P, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 OSU, responded to this review

Dear donny b, Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. We are so glad to know that you had a wonderful time with us and that you find great value in staying with us. We always aim to give you the best value for your money and we are so happy to know that our efforts are...

Reviewed 14 August 2016

This was a nightmare. I booked this hotel online, putting my cc info to HOLD the room. When I arrived at this location, its not the Varsity Inn, its a Motel 6 having construction work done to it! I went into the front office to cancel my reservation and the owner told me "I would just have to do it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JAnders81
SIMA P, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 OSU, responded to this review

Dear JAnders81, Thank you for reporting this incident you had in the hotel. We are already making reports about this so the management will be informed by this news. We are very sorry about your disappointment but rest assured, your concerns will be highly appreciated to better our services to our dear customers. We hope you can consider us again...

Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

We love staying at varsity inn the staff Tanisha and Robyn have been absolutely amazing to us. They give us all our special request and allow early check in time for our father when he's done with radiation would definitely recommend this hotel thanks so much.. skeens family

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurasanders30
SIMA P, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 OSU, responded to this review

Dear laurasanders30, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and to acknowledge the efforts of our hardworking staff to be as accommodating, helpful and welcoming as possible. It is rewarding to hear that we have succeeded in making you feel at home and that you experienced no difficulties with our services or amenities. Your five star review...

Georgia
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We checked in to this motel after being at Riverside hospital (sister in law had brain surgery) for 48 hrs. Going by the reviews it seemed like a pretty good place. Got over there to check in and found out it HAS CHANGED TO A MOTEL 6. so there are no coffee maker, microwave, or a refrigerator. This was disappointing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cindy b
SIMA P, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 OSU, responded to this review

Dear cindy b, Thank you for your review, your feedback and your comments regarding your stay. We take all reports of lacking service and your suggestions for improvement, particularly those that you have raised. We greatly appreciate your time in bringing a number of important matters to light and we hope that you will find your expectations to be far...

Reviewed 27 June 2016

I was in room 116, which has a dinner plate sized hole in the ceiling directly above the shower head. We were warned that there is a "spot" on the ceiling but that management knows it's there and has plans to fix it. It's obviously been there for a long time...and still not fixed. The TV remote didn't work, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley R
SIMA P, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 OSU, responded to this review

Dear Lesley R, Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. Your concerns regarding the level of cleanliness and outdated condition of the facility will be addressed accordingly. Allow me to apologize for any inconvenience these issues may...

Reviewed 22 October 2015

I have stayed in many different types of motels across the country. Frills are not a necessity. Recently checked in but did not stay with colleagues. These rooms were BAD and we had over 8 rooms reserved! I have my own photos of the moldy bathrooms tub/shower area, dirty sink tops, bug carcasses on the wall and in the picture...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank BeachyGrandma
SIMA P, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 OSU, responded to this review

Dear BeachyGrandma, Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am so sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations of quality service and accommodations. I apologize if you did not feel that our housekeeping met your own standards of cleanliness, though our own standards are very high and include checking up to ensure that rooms are as...

Griffith, Indiana
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Room reeked of stale cigarette smoke. TV remote did not work. Bathroom exhaust fan made horrendous noise so we took showers in the dark. Oh, and lets not forget the quaint crappy bath towels they provided. I will never stay in this place again. Not even all that convenient if you're going to an OSU game. Much better places to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LizardQueen926
SIMA P, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 OSU, responded to this review

Dear LizardQueen926, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. Your concerns regarding the level of cleanliness and outdated condition of the facility will be addressed accordingly. Allow me to apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused...

Albright, West Virginia
Reviewed 21 September 2015

We stayed last Friday night and loved that there were food and shopping options within steps. The room was clean, although it's an older place and shows wear. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and quickly helped us when I said we had forgotten to pack toothpaste. Easy to get in and out of, quiet and safe area. I'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LocalFoodie_13
SIMA P, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 OSU, responded to this review

Dear LocalFoodie_13, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay with us! It is very rewarding to hear from you on this matter and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean, convenient, and hospitable experience. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and...

Reviewed 9 September 2015 via mobile

I'm not going to degrade the stay. It was very clean. No breakfast services and they like to tell you at the front desk that there's a $15.00 holding fee on your card then withdraw a total different amount that puts your bank account negative. Then when you call to resolve the situation tell you Noone told you that and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kristina B
SIMA P, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6 OSU, responded to this review

Dear Kristina B, Your review is greatly appreciated, though it is very disappointing to learn of the bad impression we made with the state of our accommodations. I am very displeased to hear that anyone was treated with rudeness or that any misunderstandings were not addressed in a professional manner. The standard procedure in such cases is to confer with...

37 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus University Area - OSU
1.0 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
0.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus OSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Staybridge Suites University Area OSU
4.2 km away
Varsity Inn
Varsity Inn
#98 of 142 in Columbus
122 reviews
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn -Ohio State University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Motel 6 OSU

Address: 3246 Olentangy River Rd, Columbus, OH 43202-1519 (Formerly Varsity Inn OSU North)
Region: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Price Range: ₹ 5,076 - ₹ 8,866 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 OSU 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 OSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Inn Osu North Hotel Columbus
Baymont Inn Columbus Osu
Columbus Baymont Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Motel 6 OSU staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 OSU staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't always go by the reviews, call ahead and ask before booking.”
 of 5 bubbles Z8941XQcindyb, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms closer to front are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles jillc176, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
“When the outside pool is open, get a room away from it unless you're at the pool a lot because the people at the pool are loud.”
 of 5 bubbles thomasmcsweeney2014, 16 May 2015 | Read review
“Usually a fine choice for a reasonable, clean, inexpensive room.”
 of 5 bubbles Buckeye19444, 8 May 2015 | Read review
“Don't look for anything special, just a clean room”
 of 5 bubbles 139juneb, 4 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay