We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Meningie's Waterfront Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Meningie\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 53: English reviews
Start your review of Meningie's Waterfront Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed with the kids. Room was cosy but clean. Staff were amazingly helpful and nothing seemed too much. Million dollar view with the birdlife plentiful including ducks, seagulls and pelicans. Food an coffee in Cafe so yummy too. Totally recommend calling in if going through.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed over the long weekend and had an amazing stay the rooms are a bit tired but they are clean and comfy the food in the restaurant was delicious, the view of the sun setting over the lake just perfect we will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Desiree A
Au
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There's just no way to praise this Motel. It has SO MUCH potential but it needs to be driven by expertise and enthusiasm. It has new owners who are trying to make a fist of it, but you can't make chocolate out of chewing gum. The best we can say is that we were glad it was for one night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SrAct3
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staff super friendly and helpful. Hired 3 rooms really cheap. Definitly get the waterfront rooms if you can because it is Pretty cool being right on the lake! There is a little jetty and Cafe which serves alcohol and fresh coorong mullet amongst your usual cafe food. It's not a fancy place but we felt so comfortable and it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amythompson12
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Very basic rooms. Reasonably clean. Absolutely cannot beat the view or location. On site cafe and restaurant. Main meals excellent. Very friendly host. Most definitely will stay here again. Quiet and relaxing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roadst
Waikerie, Australia
Reviewed 31 December 2016

A nice motel on the shores of Lake Albert , The motel has new owners and are starting to upgrade the rooms as some are a bit tired but will be good when finished . It was windy when were there and the waves on the lake were splashing near our window which I liked . I think it's a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nifty499736
Melbourne, Vic
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

You'd be hard pressed to find a nicer setting for a motel, as it's right on the lake. However, my experience was soured somewhat by the huge clump of matted hair blocking the plug hole in the shower. On the positive, the woman running it is very friendly, and the range of beers in the cafe/bar/restaurant is surprisingly good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jedro11
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Reviewed 13 November 2016

We stayed here overnight. While the motel is basic it is clean & welcoming. The wow factor was that Lake Albert was right beside our room. We could sit on the bed & watch the water lapping the edge, the pelicans gliding by & the sun as it set over the lake. The beds were comfortable & the towels were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joy722
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

Stopped here on a journey. The motel is basic and the decor a bit tired but more than made up for by being right on the lakeside literally only ten feet from our room to the water. Fabulous sunset and pelicans bobbing about. Room was small but bed queen size and comfy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katiemaybee
Nubeena, Australia
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately there's not much, if anything, positive I could find here. Booked an overnight stay as I had prior confirmation it was pet friendly. This proved to mean only if you're happy to leave your dog outside or in your car. Where's the 'pet friendly' in that? The room was very small, no room for a small suitcase; no table;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veronica W
MeningiesWaterfront, Owner at Meningie's Waterfront Motel, responded to this review

I suppose there is not much I can say about this review. Health regulations do not allow animals in rooms that will be used by other people and we do not have enough rooms to maintain an animals only room. We do as much as we can to accommodate animal lovers. You can't expect a lake view if you book...

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meningie hotels
1.5 km away
Lake Albert Motel
Lake Albert Motel
#1 of 2 in Meningie
52 reviews
2.3 km away
Lake Albert Caravan Park
Lake Albert Caravan Park
#1 of 3 in Meningie
96 reviews
11.0 km away
Coorong Wilderness Lodge
Coorong Wilderness Lodge
#3 of 3 in Meningie
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the shores of the largest freshwater lake system in Australia, this budget motel in Meningie is the ideal stopover for those travelling between Adelaide and Melbourne or on their way to and from Kangaroo Island. Motel is a 2.5 star member of the Budget Motel Chain. There are 11 ground floor units available, including: standard rooms (which offer a queen bed), waterfront rooms (which offer a queen bed), superior waterfront room (which offers a queen and 2 single beds), and family room (which offers a queen and 2 single beds). Most of the motel's stunning rooms are located just metres from Lake Albert's edge. The rooms at Meningie's Waterfront Motel feature an ensuite bathroom, ceiling fans, reverse cycle air conditioning, clock radio, electric blankets, tea and coffee making facilities, refrigerator, toaster, remote control television and DVD player. Microwaves are available in some rooms. A hairdryer can be made available upon request (from reception). The motel only serves breakfast at the motel but there are several options for meals in the town. Guests can arrange to bring pets by contacting the property directly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Meningie's Waterfront Motel

Address: Princes Highway, Meningie, South Australia 5264, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Meningie
Price Range: ₹ 4,397 - ₹ 5,521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Meningie's Waterfront Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Meningie's Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Meningie's Waterfront Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nice view from the room over the lake”
Nifty499736, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Service road access to Motel with parking outside your room.”
  • Lake view from room window.
  • Bedroom to outside door and passage way.
  • Looking into the on-suite
  • Bed with side and above the bed reading lamps.
davidpN1122MK, 20 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ask owner/staff, they will advise you, depending on why you are there.”
588cheryly, 25 Sep 2015 | Read review
“no rooms to recommend at all”
karengZ6724HB, 1 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Waterfront is just $10 more than standard, well worth it.”
  • Lake Albert Pelicans, natural home and breeding ground
  • Sunset views from the motel, pretty as a picture every day
455darrylb, 29 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5