We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

North Gregory Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
North Gregory Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 262: English reviews
Start your review of North Gregory Hotel
 Click to rate
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I cannot begin to say how much I appreciate the staff in this place...especially our bar "wenches" Chloe and Jed... I was totally blown away by the reception I received for my birthday dinner with a drink on the house and a cake! It was always a pleasure to chat with them of the afternoon. As for the room itself,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kire M
NGHWinton4735, Owner at North Gregory Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kire M, We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us at The North Gregory! We are even more pleased that we could make your birthday feel so wonderful and we are so glad that you enjoyed your cake! Happy Birthday!!! Kindest Regards, The North Gregory Team.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms vary from having ensuite to sharing a bathroom. All have A/Cs. Pub bar is huge,never seen it full. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Be sure to visit the racing stable out back and see some premium racing chooks. You might even luck it and get there for the chook races. The cafe is good for a tasty breaky, good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
NGHWinton4735, Owner at North Gregory Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jon S, Thank-you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us! We hope to see you back sometime soon! Kindest Regards, The North Gregory Team.

Magnetic Island, Australia
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We had a flying overnight visit here at the start of Feb and it was HOT! The North Gregory looked after us so well - gorgeous rooms and decor, well appointed, good aircon! The true winners here though are the staff, even though it's the off season they could not have done more to help us and the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 799CarlyJ
NGHWinton4735, Owner at North Gregory Hotel, responded to this review

Hi 799CarlyJ, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us at The North Gregory Hotel. We look forward to seeing you back again soon! Kindest Regards, The North Gregory Team.

Reviewed 10 December 2016

Ideal for an overnight stay...a friendly bar, a dining room with good variety on its menu (and my meal was very nice), off street parking and plenty of it, and a quiet, clean & comfortable room with tea making facilities which I appreciated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gavin H
NGHWinton4735, Owner at North Gregory Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Gavin H, Thank- you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your ideal overnight stay at the North Gregory Hotel, we truly appreciate it. We are glad that you enjoyed the friendliness and comfort of our Hotel. We look forward to hosting you & friends & family anytime in the future. Kindest Regards, The North Gregory...

Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

I camped for the night, best prices in town for a unpowered sites. Hotel staff were very welcoming and accommodating. Bens chicken stampede it a hit. Bucket of laughs for the locals and travellers. Highly rated I would stay there again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leura K
NGHWinton4735, Owner at North Gregory Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Leura K, We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us here at the North Gregory! We hope to see you back again sometime! Kindest Regards, The North Gregory Team.

Caboolture, Australia
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We arrived just as a wild storm hit.. The manageress was super helpful providing shelter for our frightened dog. The room was clean comfortable and stylish. The bed was comforftable and we enjoyed a cold drink and hot meal inthe evening. Unfortunately the storm forced cancellation of the evening chook races. Maybe next time. A great place to stay in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Col R
NGHWinton4735, Owner at North Gregory Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Col R, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we are always glad to help. We would love to see you back some time in the near future for the chicken racing! Kindest Regards, The North Gregory Team.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 8 November 2016

We called in for a drink one Sunday afternoon, and in no time we were caught up in the "Chook Races" held in the beer garden. The Manager needs to be congratulated on his wonderful initiative to raise money for local charities by introducing the"Chook Race", and it certainly was a lot of fun. We decided to stay on for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sandykperth
NGHWinton4735, Owner at North Gregory Hotel, responded to this review

Hi sandykperth, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the North Gregory so much! We hope to see you back sometime! Kindest Regards, The North Gregory Team.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Lovely art deco surrounds - loved it! Wish we could have stayed longer than the one night. In the heart of the city was easy to walk to everything. Great bar and great service. If you love art deco style then I highly recommend a stay here.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nattie_G
NGHWinton4735, Owner at North Gregory Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Nattie_G, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the North Gregory. We hope to see you back here some time for another visit! Kindest Regards, The North Gregory Team.

Goondiwindi, Australia
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Well I walked into this hotel and was greet with a friendly smile and asked if I would drink, while I waited to be book in. I was told all about the hotel, including Happy Hour and the chook races, which at the time had giggle to myself but after I got settle into my room I came down for...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 615tonyj
NGHWinton4735, Owner at North Gregory Hotel, responded to this review

Hi 615tonyj, We are pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality! Can’t wait to see you on your next visit! Kindest Regards, The North Gregory Team. P.S. The ‘’ladies’’ are currently resting up for a very busy 2017. Hope you can make it!

Emu Park, Australia
Reviewed 5 November 2016

We walked over to the hotel for drinks and then dinner. The hotel is old and beautiful. We sat in the lounge having drinks when we were told the chicken races were due to start. New for us. We took our drinks into the courtyard and was introduced to chicken racing. Each bird was auctioned off to the highest bidder....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela R
NGHWinton4735, Owner at North Gregory Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Pamela R, We are delighted to hear that you had such a great time with us here at the North Gregory. We hope to see you here again in the future! Kindest Regards, The North Gregory Team.

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winton hotels
1.1 km away
Banjo's Overnight & Holiday Units
0.3 km away
Outback Motel
Outback Motel
#1 of 5 in Winton
97 reviews
0.1 km away
Matilda Motel
Matilda Motel
#5 of 5 in Winton
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The North Gregory Hotel prides itself on providing warm and welcoming accommodation to the discerning traveler and has been the focal point for locals and for travelers since the original hotel was first opened in 1879. The North Gregory Hotel is more than just a hotel, it is a part of many significant moments in our history and an attraction itself, and a must see in your ultimate outback Queensland experience. Set in the heart of Winton, the North Gregory Hotel, sets the tone for your outback experience. Located in the town centre, only a short stroll from the Waltzing Matilda Centre, The Opal Walk and the Royal Open Air Theatre, the North Gregory Hotel is perfectly situated for you to make the most of all there is to offer in Winton and beyond. The personality of the North Gregory Hotel reflects the history and ambience of yesteryear whilst providing all the comforts of today. Designed for your comfort, North Gregory Hotel offers a range of 29 rooms from standard hotel rooms to deluxe rooms, with many offering access to a communal balcony. Also on site are 15 unpowered van sites situated at the back of the hotel available for a small fee. The hotel offers many services on site. Our Daphne Mayo Dining Room is open daily for dinner delivering all the country comforts with a twist, utilizing local produce and seafood from the gulf, matched with the finest of ales and wines. The Musical Fence Cafe is open daily for breakfast and lunch, and our Horseshoe Bar and Banjos Beer Garden is open seven days a week for refreshments, counter lunches and counter dinners. Onsite we also offer, TAB and Keno services, a bottle shop, pokies, Laundromat, private cinema, massage services and a hairdresser. There are plenty of activities and parks to explore, ensuring visitors can find things to do while enjoying the relaxed atmosphere and picturesque surroundings. And with so much to see, do and explore a minimum 2 night stay is highly recommended to truly experience the range of activities in this pristine, untouched outback paradise. ... more   less 

Additional Information about North Gregory Hotel

Address: 67 Elderslie St, Winton, Queensland 4735, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Winton
Price Range: ₹ 5,862 - ₹ 6,970 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North Gregory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your North Gregory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from North Gregory Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upgrade to a suite”
 of 5 bubbles Nattie_G, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you can, choose a room with access to the verandah. Having said that, any of the rooms have their own positives.”
 of 5 bubbles m3shepherd, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the road have access to balcony so you can watch the world go by. Rooms at rear over look green area and caravan site.”
 of 5 bubbles 332raymondh, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We didn't stay overnight”
 of 5 bubbles targetmikie, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms leading to the balcony give you more space to relax.”
 of 5 bubbles 201MichaelL, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5