We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Saracens Head Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Saracens Head Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

399 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Saracens Head Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 397: English reviews
Brackley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2016

I booked a table for our 46th wedding anniversary and we were both very pleased with the standard of food and the service we were given. It made for a very nice evening and rounded off a lovely day.No surprise though because we have been before and always enjoyed it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tinojam1148
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for celebrating your 56th wedding anniversary with us. We are delighted with your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Haven't been for after a few bad visits, so on a last minute decision , it was a lovely meal , lovely and hot , all meals and arrived together seems to be getting a good vibe again a and attentive service nice to able to go back will visit again soon xx

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julieharris1931
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank your for a wonderful review of our hotel on trip advisor. It is fantastic to know that you enjoyed the atmosphere and attentive team. We look forward to your next visit

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We held our wedding at the hotel, and all the staff made it a truly wonderful day. We wanted a relaxed atmosphere and this was achieved effortlessly. The food was wonderful and everything ran smoothly. Some of our guests had rooms - which were all lovely. Breakfast in the morning was great, well cooked and organised. We couldn't have asked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annierbaker
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a brilliant write up on your special day. Our team love weddings and it was a delight to look after such a great bunch of lovely guests. We are grateful for your kind words and wish you a long and successful marriage

Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for one night with dinner and breakfast. The hotel is a lovely old building with masses of character, be it in the bar, restaurant or rooms. Ours was a standard room and quite presentable, if in need of a little tlc. The room was clean enough, but some of the furnishings were a little worn....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are grateful for your positive feedback regarding pricing, attentiveness and food quality. It was a pleasure to read and we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 1 June 2016

We booked one of the larger rooms as it was a birthday treat. The room was nicely decorated and the bed was big and comfortable. The tea tray had fresh ground coffee which was nicer then the normal nescafe ground powder and little brownie bites. Breakfast is served until 12 so good if you like a lie in and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew K
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. It is comforting to know that you enjoyed your birthday treat. The comments regarding the friendliness of the team are very kind

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Basic bed and breakfast....I would say overpriced however it served its purpose. The rooms could do with a refurb however it was clean and comfortable. Very noisy in the morning if your room is near the main road! Breakfast was nice...cooked to order with a variety of choice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank x_sks_x
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased that you appreciated the cleanliness and comfort. With regards to pricing we operate a best available rate which changes daily

Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Stayed overnight en- route on holiday. Lovely room, nice pleasant clean smell on entering. Had dinner, a Sunday roast, which was good and cheaper in the evening. Breakfast very good with an extensive choice. Only drawback was that our room was at the front on a busy main road and as it was warm we had the window open. So...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. The rooms here are lovely and we appreciate how much you enjoyed your room. We also take your comments on board regarding the busy road and noise

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2016

The last time I tried to eat here, over a year ago, I found the staff unhelpful to the point of rudeness. I am gluten free and the staff refused to do anything to keep contamination to a minimum and told me that I ate and was ill they couldn't be held responsible. As you can imagine my heart sank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thatanngirlie
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review on trip advisor. It is wonderful to know that you appreciate the improvements we have made. We look forward to your next visit

Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

We hadn't eaten at the Saracens for some time due to bad experiences but we were pleasantly suprised to find the quality of the food was now fab! The menu catered for us all including the children who cleared their plates! Will certainly visit again soon ☺

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ejh64
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding the fab food. We are delighted that you appreciate the food and service

Swanage
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We stayed here to break our journey from Yorkshire to Dorset and it is a great location to do that situated where it is. There are great car parking facilities and the staff are laid back, friendly and welcoming. The room was good, we had a pleasant meal in the evening and breakfast was great and we were on our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wasawilson
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for recent review on trip advisor. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the honesty of your review. We look forward to your next stay

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Saracen's Head Hotel Restaurant
Saracen's Head Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The Saracens Head Hotel

Address: 219 Watling Street West, Towcester NN12 6BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Towcester
Price Range: ₹ 4,808 - ₹ 9,533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saracens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Saracens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel Towcester, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Saracens Head Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Peterborough

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Saracens Head Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms 15, 16, 17, if you want to sleep beyond 7am.”
squirrelmonkey, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room facing the courtyard are quieter”
steves_been, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Please note there does not appear to be any lifts and the loft rooms face the main road so a lot of traffic noise”
lisaanalan, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Think a road side room could be noisy due to the A5”
scottonBoz, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“stayed in quite a few rooms - all good and no complaints with any of them”
robinhandmj, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5