We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Millstone Country Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Millstone Country Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 276: English reviews
Start your review of Millstone Country Inn
 Click to rate
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great location to explore the Peake District. Close by to Eyam, Chatsworth House, Matlock and Derwent Dam. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was really good, great selection including daily specials. Food reasonability priced. Room was clean but unfortunately we found the bed too hard. The room is up steep stairs, so if you have mobility issues, this may be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
448111, Owner at Millstone Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad you had a happy experience with us and enjoyed exploring the area. There are some pretty and interesting places to visit with lots of history attached. Hope you will come and see us again soon.

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful inn located in a beautiful position Not much else around within walking distance but we only came to walk the peaks so not an issue for us Downstairs inn is beautiful and the food is absolutely stunning, very tasty plenty of choice , fresh and very well cooked. The service is also very good However, rooms are a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steph b
448111, Owner at Millstone Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your comments are appreciated. As you say, the downstairs of the inn is beautiful, this being due to the re-furb late Feb/early March, but it is a work in progress and we will be working our way upstairs in due course. It is unfortunate that your stay was disturbed by a neighbours gate, but...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Every year around this time, my friends and i visit Hathersage and stay at The Mill stone. Last year we were a little concerned as new owners had taken over and the place seemed a little "down". However, we can put that down to the transition period because this place is back! New decoration and furniture in the downstairs areas...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dean b
448111, Owner at Millstone Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and continued support and custom. We are pleased you like our 'new look' and hope to see you in the very near future.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The carvery itself was very good, the veg was excellent. Took in our little cockapoo as well so the pub is very dog friendly which is quite hard to find whilst looking for somewhere to eat. We will be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
448111, Owner at Millstone Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and hope you will come and visit us again soon.

Middlewich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had an overnight stay- the room was very comfortable- staff were great really friendly and helpful. We had an evening meal in the restaurant/bar area, the food was excellent quality and value for money. There's a good selection of beers to choose from at the bar 🍻. Breakfast the next morning was equally impressive really generous portion and well cooked,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DoubleExpresso
448111, Owner at Millstone Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and pleased to hear that your experience with us was a happy one and hopefully we will see you again sometime soon.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We pre-booked as I assumed they would be busy. Food served 12-8pm but carvery is 12-3pm only. They were indeed very busy but very efficient. Plenty to choose from, piping hot, home made and constantly being refilled. One of the best Sunday lunches I have had for ages. We also took our dog in with us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juniper247
448111, Owner at Millstone Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Opportunistic stop for a bite of lunch turned in to a culinary delight. We were on our way back home when we came across the Millstone. A very welcoming hostess in the form of Noreen. The meal was faultless. Good quality, amount and price. I had the goats cheese stuffed portobello mushroom which was delicious and myn husband had the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
448111, Owner at Millstone Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I hope you come back for another visit sometime soon.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017

It was very full on Sunday lunch. The staff are friendly and efficient. I intended to have the carvery, which looked really good, but opted for the meat and tattie pie. The meat and tattie pie was one of the best I've ever had. Lovely shortcrust pastry and full of tender meat. I would recommend without hesitation

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keffa26
448111, Owner at Millstone Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you had a happy visit to us and that you will come and visit us again soon.

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

I love the Millstone for food and drink so we decided to stay over for a lovely evening away. I was very disappointed with the rooms. The cleaner should be ashamed. The things we found were: - Dust everywhere. - A TV that needed a wipe down. - Filth behind the toilet. - Mould in and around the shower cubicle....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DimpleyDimples
448111, Owner at Millstone Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your understandable review and your constructive comments have been taken on board and action taken to rectify the totally unacceptable issues to which you refer. We take exceptional pride in all aspects of the service we provide to our customers, however our housekeeper had been blighted with ill health for many months (since mid 2016) and unfortunately,...

Sheffield
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Myself and 3 friends stayed the night recently as a birthday treat for one of us and we had a fabulous time. The rooms were lovely, we had a great nights sleep, and the food was delicious. The lady who checked us out was very friendly and we had a laugh with her, we will definitely return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelle m
448111, Owner at Millstone Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you had an enjoyable experience at The Millstone and look forward to seeing you on your return visit.

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hathersage
1.3 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
371 reviews
1.3 km away
Little John Hotel
Little John Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hathersage
200 reviews
2.6 km away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.5 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
8.7 km away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
12.4 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Country Inn set in the heart of the peak district ideal base to explore the Hope Valley offering a friendly family run inn with 9 rooms great beers and good home cooked food in a comfy relaxed setting ... more   less 

Additional Information about Millstone Country Inn

Address: Sheffield Road, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hathersage
Price Range: ₹ 6,780 - ₹ 8,996 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Millstone Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Millstone Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstone Country Hotel Hathersage
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Millstone Country Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Sheffield, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Millstone Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are good. Top floor rooms involve steep stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles 431deanb, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“all the rooms are good check out the keys for security”
 of 5 bubbles philipb302, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the road have very good country views.”
 of 5 bubbles janetr852, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Quite a climb to the top floor but the views are worth it”
 of 5 bubbles gilke2016, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room on top floor (Derwent) great view but bathroom had a bit of mould and shower wasn't working properly.”
 of 5 bubbles mitzilein, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5