We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Square & Compass Inn

    Station Road | Darley Dale, Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2EQ, England
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darley DaleSee available hotels in Darley Dale
    Hodgkinson's Hotel
    373 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Matlock Bath
     
    New Bath Hotel and Spa
    292 reviews
    #2 of 3 hotels in Matlock Bath
     
    Premier Inn Matlock
    327 reviews
    #2 of 4 hotels in Matlock
     
    The Temple
    198 reviews
    #3 of 3 hotels in Matlock Bath
     
    Overview
    • Excellent23%
    • Very good40%
    • Average17%
    • Poor5%
    • Terrible15%
    Travellers talk about
    “b b” (8 reviews)
    “tasted great” (2 reviews)
    “chunky chips” (2 reviews)
    Internet
    Free Parking
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Pets Allowed
    Wheelchair Access
    All hotel details
    Offers from The Square & Compass Inn
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_hsx","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_hsx__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_hsx","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel_hsx__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Hodgkinson's Hotel
    373 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Matlock Bath
     
    New Bath Hotel and Spa
    292 reviews
    #2 of 3 hotels in Matlock Bath
     
    Premier Inn Matlock
    327 reviews
    #2 of 4 hotels in Matlock
     
    The Temple
    198 reviews
    #3 of 3 hotels in Matlock Bath
     
    Write a Review
    Turn Your Opinions into Points!
    Turn your opinions into JPMiles
    Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
    *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    50
    Reviews (69)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 69 reviews

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

    Excellent evening with friends and family. Great laugh with all who were present. Will definitely be calling in again only next time make it for a meal. Found that the landlord and landlady very pleasant.

    Thank mazzarella15
    Reviewed 17 May 2017

    I had eaten at this pub when I was there on holiday so I New the food was good, I went this time with 3 mates on a fishing w/e so we stayed Sat night, the evening meal was very good and a good selection...More

    1  Thank David C
    Reviewed 15 May 2017

    What a disappointment, eight of us stayed on the campsite for the weekend and despite booking a table for us all on the Friday afternoon for Saturday when we arrived they said they were busy and no table was available, with the help of some...More

    Thank Charles G
    Reviewed 4 October 2016

    Well, what can you say? You turn up -and we were not the only ones- expecting a place to e open... the website gives the hours and it was half an hour after the opening time advertised. The A-board was out in the road.... If...More

    1  Thank sarw
    Response from Joel A, Guest Relations Manager at The Square & Compass InnResponded 6 October 2016

    Hi there, thanks for your review. We were closed due to a family bereavement and did not think to put a sign on the door. Please accept our apologies.

    Reviewed 28 September 2016

    We booked for twelve people so they should have been able to cope. We waited an hour or more for food. The beef was cold and tough. By the time they offered some "chef this one's cooked better" we were off. Chips and pie were...More

    3  Thank Adam M
    Hodgkinson's Hotel
    373 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Matlock Bath
     
    New Bath Hotel and Spa
    292 reviews
    #2 of 3 hotels in Matlock Bath
     
    Premier Inn Matlock
    327 reviews
    #2 of 4 hotels in Matlock
     
    The Temple
    198 reviews
    #3 of 3 hotels in Matlock Bath
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Room types
    • Suites ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 5
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Derbyshire >
    • Matlock >
    • Darley Dale
    Nearby
    Hodgkinson's Hotel
    373 reviews
    4.87 km away
     
    The Temple
    198 reviews
    4.75 km away
     
    Premier Inn Matlock
    327 reviews
    2.38 km away
     
    New Bath Hotel and Spa
    292 reviews
    5.47 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Barringtons Pub and Dining
    114 reviews
    .26 km away
    The Miners Arms
    131 reviews
    .58 km away
    Church Inn
    47 reviews
    .81 km away
    The Orangery Restaurant
    102 reviews
    .98 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Whitworth Park
    61 reviews
    .00 km away
    Peak Rail
    77 reviews
    .10 km away
    Little Monkeys
    27 reviews
    .72 km away
    Red House Stables and Carriage Museum
    37 reviews
    .34 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from The Square & Compass Inn staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "This campsite is on a busy road so please be careful with small children"
    Read review
    "all rooms are at the front of pub it is on a busy road but they now have double glazing"
    Read review
    "We did not stay here but just visited for a meal"
    Read review
    "Did not sleep here."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing