We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lion Hotel

Booking.comUS$ 76*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Lion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 265: English reviews
Start your review of The Lion Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Last minute decision to go for a pizza. Parked in the secure car park behind hotel and managed to get a table in the pizza room. Good selection of beers and wines. We shared olives and spicy meatballs as a starter and they were just the job. The pizza was really good with plenty of topping. Reasonable price. Will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We have just had our wedding here and wow what a perfect day they gave us.. nothing was too much trouble for them and the staff on the day were amazing!! The food was very very good considering they were catering for large numbers you really wouldn't have known, was a very high standard!! regarding the rooms ours was fine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Visited the lion for a meal , had a great night, food was fantastic with a menus for everyone , pizza looked nice service was really good ,well done guys keep up the good work. Oh the knifes were really strange.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rogC56
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been here for sunday lunch which was fab. But this evening was aa little let down as the starters were poor. Mozzerella balls and bread oil the portions were dia. But the mains were fab byt as starters were poor we decided to leave desserts which was a shame.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jj B
Victoria C, Manager at The Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and continued support of The Lion. I gather on your most recent visit that you ordered appetisers (Breads, Oils and Mozzarella Balls) priced at £3 per portion. The appetisers are a separate section on our menu to the starters, which are priced between £4.50 and £7.50 and are considered a large starter size. I...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I think if I had paid £40 for this hotel I would have accepted its shortfalls but it was certainly not worth £60 a night. Our room was right by a busy petrol station and my husband and I were disturbed regularly in the night by customers. Not forgetting the lovely green BP neon light that lit up our room!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lol_bigsmile
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a friends wedding at the shottle. Very reasonably priced and not far away from venue. Room was perfectly sufficient for what you need. Good size. I very rarely sleep well in hotels but bed and bedding was so comfy, I slept very well. Not noisy at all. Breakfast was delicious, really good quality ingredients and very pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gdawg09
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here after a birthday party in another restaurant nearby, when I pulled up I was pleased as the outside looked very smart and once inside I saw the dinners being brought out, they looked very good. However the room was very tired, in need of redecorating and the floors were so creaky whenever someone went to the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teamrockape
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice, clean hotel. Spacious double room with ensuite shower room. Overlooking a pretty inner courtyard. Needed refurbishment, decorating, certainly a new bed but having said that a clean room for an excellent price. An equally excellent breakfast was served, plenty of choice and very hearty! Belper is a picturesque country town on the river Derwent. Lovely views, walks and historic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen S
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The burgers are still great ( and come with a free drink ) at this pub. The staff are helpful. Parking is a breeze, the only negative is the background music. Needs a rethink with that. Overall a good venue and great food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mastermuzz
Milton Keynes, England
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night whilst attending a conference nearby. On the plus side, staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast included a large selection of cold choices, as well as a hot and tasty cooked to order English breakfast. The room itself was quite basic and a little tired. The bathroom sink was cracked, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MirandaUK

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belper
3.0 km away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
965 reviews
6.7 km away
Premier Inn Ripley Hotel
7.7 km away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
336 reviews
8.8 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wirksworth
98 reviews
7.1 km away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel

Address: 24 Bridge Street, Belper DE56 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Belper
Price Range: ₹ 4,631 - ₹ 6,304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Belper
Best Western Belper
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lion Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Lion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Would request upper floors as bar a bit lively”
RachelG216, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I would not recommend this Hotel, but maybe other rooms are different, but not worth the risk”
oz19672014, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front may be quieter.”
Polly2149, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Back Rooms are quiet.”
Alanlewis1, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“my tip? Stay somewhere else!”
helen289, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 76* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 76
PricelineUS$ 76
Agoda.comUS$ 76
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates