We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Waverley Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Waverley Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 141: English reviews
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We decided to stay at the Waverley Hotel due to its central location; only 5 minutes walk from the centre. We took a ‘Superior Room’, which would be best described as ‘cosy’. It was clean and the essentials were there, plenty of cupboard space and the bed was very comfortable; it was just that the room was a bit small.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Captain_Coyote
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I think it's fair to say this is an old hotel with old furnishings. I would guess this hasn't much in the way of investment for many years. Some of the cupboards in my room were held closed with blue-tac. Most of the clientele appeared to be in the building trade so I guess this hotel meets their demands. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve T
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The rooms were lovely and the staff could not do enough. We had my brothers son with us and the staff basically adopted him!. The food was very good and they made special allowance for children.Would .recommend

Helpful?
Thank robin m
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

I have been staying here over the last three weeks due to work. The hotel is in an excellent location for the bus station, train station and the docks and is well used by contractors working in the local area. It would be equally useful if visiting the Lake District and surrounding areas without having to pay premium prices. Parking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keith M
Hazel Grove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

One of our stops riding from Ravenglas to Whitley Bay. Although from the outside its not impressive we were warmly greeted. The twin room was clean and reasonably spacious with a good shower. The evening meal selection was good and the portions were generous, with good bar facilities. The breakfast gave a good self service selection. In conclusion a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Davidann8
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Reception extremely friendly. Room 22 reasonable size with twins beds, desk, very small television and good sized en suite. Dressing gowns, tea/coffee and bathroom stuff all supplied Meal in bar, very average. Had the meat and potato pie but obviously there was a shortage of meat!! Shortcrust pastry soft and doughy, carrots and peas ok, chips nice crunchy outside and... More 

Helpful?
Thank dave v
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Feels like a local pub downstairs in the bar. No bad thing. Rooms were a good size with en suite shower and small TV with easy access to Workington town centre. Free parking on the road outside the hotel at the weekend but I think there are restrictions during the week. The lady on reception was very nice and welcoming... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian85361
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review we are delighted you enjoyed our hospitality and had a great stay. We look forward to any future visits you may have with us. More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Hotel room was worn and bathroom looked distinctly moldy. Wedding party when we arrived and we were put over the bar (which was at least the opposite side to the disco) but the double glazing was so poor we could hear all of the conversations between the many smokers outside. Very limited number of sockets in the room and unsupportive... More 

Helpful?
Thank hull_daniel
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we try to minimise any disturbance when events are being held and apologise we did not succeed on this occasion. We regret the standard room booked was not satisfactory we only have 2 of these still available as we are in the process of upgrading all our rooms to superior rooms. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

You get what you pay for not a bad little town. Short drive away from Keswick which is really beautiful and some good activities on offer. There's a local tesco store along with a few shops around but not much to do in Workington to be honest. It is ok for a couple but for a family I would recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank naji2016
Lynn P, Manager at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found Workington a good base to explore our wonderful Lake District. More 

Liverpool
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016

This hotel has a special place in my life as a very young child and the location was perfect for my business trip. However, I'm older, wiser and wealthier now and will stay in a B&B elsewhere next time. The hotel has "character", but this part of Workington has seen better times and the hotel reflects this. The bed was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wirralians

Travellers are raving about these Workington hotels

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Workington hotels
0.6 km away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
226 reviews
0.9 km away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Workington
116 reviews
4.2 km away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#5 of 9 in Workington
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Sleepwell Inn
The Sleepwell Inn
#8 of 9 in Workington
20 reviews
4.2 km away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
3.6 km away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Waverley Hotel

Address: 1 Gordon Street, Workington CA14 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Price Range: ₹ 5,240 - ₹ 7,732 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waverley Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You get what you pay for”
 of 5 bubbles davev218, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are not young or super fit and active ask for a 1st floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles Silvertraveler55, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Phone them direct”
 of 5 bubbles 720edr, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Nice room at the top”
 of 5 bubbles carolineahs, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else, this hotel will only disappoint”
 of 5 bubbles Myopinion012014, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay