We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Moresby Hall

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Moresby Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 176: English reviews
Start your review of Moresby Hall
 Click to rate
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was really looking forward to afternoon tea but was a big disappointment 'staff were lovely ,tea coffee scones nice but that was it ,sandwiches tasteless bought pork pies cheese cracker okay ,cakes disappointing no nice home made sponges or tarts ,presentation not impressed for 35.00 for two people not worth it could have made better at home sorry.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigdad01
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this review

So surprised and sorry to see this negative review. Of the eight tables booked on Sunday the feedback was excellent, each table was served the same food. You didn't say a word on the day which any proprietor would wish for to be able to rectify any perceived issues. For every table cleared we always ask if all is OK...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

From the time of booking to the final departure after a 3 night stay we were made to feel special. I have never had any hotel, B&B etc ever call me to discuss my reservation with a view to make our stay comfortable and memorable. Nothing was too much trouble when we descended upon Moresby Hall to celebrate my father's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank plusjp
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this review

How wonderful to have your family review. I know you were anxious for this family get together to be successful especially with some guests travelling from Canada to celebrate your most charming father's 80th birthday. I can only say it was a great pleasure to liaise with you, as success is always in the planning and we both wanted a...

Reviewed 11 February 2017

Our stay was a birthday treat for my fiancé and a stopover on our way to Scotland. I chose Moresby Hall as I was struck by its age and history. It is a handsome and imposing building with beautiful gardens and outside space. It has a rich and interesting past and has been sympathetically restored and furnished. We were warmly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joleighton1804
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this review

I'm so happy - I wish every guest was so contented after a stay at Moresby Hall, your review should be our benchmark as we truly wish everyone to be as satisfied and rested. I know you were on your way to a luxurious well known hotel in Scotland so to receive such a lovely expansive review is a great...

Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

What a fantastic find! We stayed here for the weekend and will definitely be back! We came to this area to hike Scafell Pike -The hall is perfectly located to make the most of being close to the sea but not far from the hills. Jane and David were super hosts and nothing was too much trouble. We had the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChristyBrit
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this review

Its really good to know you were so happy and comfortable. Even better that you were able to find the perfect January day to get to the top of Scafell Pike and see the world beneath your feet! We are lucky to be in our location as we have not just the Western and Northern Fells / Lakes but also...

Irvine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016

My previous visit was whilst on business in the area and thought then how nice it would be to return with my wife. So this was the perfect opportunity. We consequently had a relaxing short holiday at the end on a busy year. Jane, David and the team looked after us in splendid surroundings. Nothing was too much trouble.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roymartin2016
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and your wife was pleased with your surprise short break. Its always nice to know our corporate guests are so happy and comfortable that they would like to revisit with family or friends on another occasion. It was great to meet you again and we hope 2017 will...

Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Only stayed for one very wet and stormy night but it was a delight to get to. Nice large room situated at the top of a stone spiral staircase with a comfy bed, large tv and sofa. Bathroom was clean and moderm. Didn't have an evening meal but the breakfast was lovely with very courteous staff. Overall a great place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this review

Fantastic, I'm so glad you were happy with your single night stay. I am guessing you were travelling on business mid week and our beautiful Smeaton room is one of our new executive rooms but in the oldest part of the Hall dating back to the 13th century accessed up the stone spiral staircase which would have been a pele...

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Only stayed for one night, me and my partner had a 2 and half hour drive. When we were arrived we were welcomed by the owner. The room was lovely, old fashioned but everything was in good condition. We were too late to book for an evening meal but the menu looked good, so instead the owner recommended a restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simonelouise n
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this review

That's lovely, its really great to know how happy you were with your short stay. Moresby Hall is the perfect place to recharge the batteries and enjoy a change of scene. Thank you for your nice comments - we are really a Country Guesthouse rather than a large hotel hence our ability to be more hands on and liaise with...

Reviewed 21 November 2016

I stayed two nights in De Asby room, complete with four poster bed. The room is huge, private, welcoming and well equipped. Dinner on Saturday night was delicious. Would definitely return in the future. The staff were very polite, and very helpful. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mandy T
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. i'm sorry I missed you on this occasion, being away from The Hall due to a family bereavement. I'm so glad our staff looked after everything so well for you and that our young chef produced a lovely dinner, despite being on her own in the kitchen in my absence. I am very proud...

Conwy County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016

I have stayed for several weeks here, in two of the rooms, "Agricola" and "Copeland." Both are huge and very comfortable in comparison to other hotels in Whitehaven. The 4 poster in the latter is fabulously large and comfortable. The breakfasts are excellent, and I've had a couple of evening meals there which are also very good, although be aware...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phil675
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this review

A lovely review, thank you very much for your kind comments. We're delighted you have been so comfortable when staying on business, it's good to know guests are happy when away from home comforts. Moresby Hall is a relatively small establishment, so it keeps costs down to know in advance if guests wish to dine in as sometimes guests also...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We recently stayed for 4 nights in the Copeland Room at Moresby Hall. I think it was the jacuzzi bath that swung it! The room was huge and well laid out. The super kingsize bed was a stunning centerpiece. Moresby Hall is situated just outside Whitehaven and was close enough to the sea and the lakes to satisfy our requirements....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this review

It was wonderful to be chosen as the location for your wedding get away and we are delighted that all went well for your secret arrangements and ceremony. I'm glad you liked the little posy and button holes I made for you, and champagne, just little tokens for the day. We do work long hours but if you like meeting...

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moresby
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
6.8 km away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
8.0 km away
Grove Court Hotel
Grove Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cleator
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St Bees
395 reviews
37.7 km away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
799 reviews
3.6 km away
The Corner House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grade I listed 16th c historical building, now open as an award winning country guesthouse (5 stars + Gold Award). Delightful guest and reception rooms. Sumptuous four poster rooms with hydro massage power shower & steam enclosure or Jacuzzi bath + TileVision colour TV en-suite. Walled gardens / private parking. Hearty breakfasts and imaginative dinners (fully licensed) using predominately Cumbrian free range produce. Conferences, celebrations and licensed venue for small weddings. Adjacent self catering cottages available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moresby Hall

Address: Moresby, Whitehaven CA28 6PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Whitehaven > Moresby
Price Range: ₹ 7,856 - ₹ 12,067 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Moresby Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Moresby Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moresby Hall Hotel Moresby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Moresby Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Copeland room was lovely and spacious. Comfy chairs and a great jacuzzi bath!”
 of 5 bubbles David89uk, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The oldest rooms are up winding stone staircases so not great for those less able”
 of 5 bubbles LexieLea, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are all nice although the Copeland is the biggest”
 of 5 bubbles 281karen2015, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is a fine selection of beers, wines and spirits which can be served in the lounge, though there is no bar as such.”
 of 5 bubbles E4159HZjohnk, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are quiet from our experience.”
 of 5 bubbles silverspray33, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5