We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Wheatsheaf at Beetham

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
See the most recent reviews
Showing 161: English reviews
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2016

This hotel is just off the A6 near Milnthorpe. We called and had a really nice lunch. Special offer of 2 courses for £7.75p. Excellent value, good food, and friendly staff. Very varied full menu as alternative

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jbparker66
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2016

This hotel is well signposted off the A6, so we decided to call in for our evening meal.We were very glad that we did. It is a beautiful old building set in this pretty village. We were made very welcome and the staff were happy to let us choose where to sit. The room had a lovely fire burning and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liz n
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

Shocked at the current rating. Party of four over priced and disappointed with the whole meal. Frozen and reheated with high prices. One of those places where the staff never asked once how the food was as they already knew how bad it was. The service was extremely slow too starters took over thirty mins. And the Caesar salad was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jaspersuk
ralph028, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Beetham, responded to this review

We were disappointed to hear you were not happy after your visit to the Wheatsheaf. We did try to contact you via the website to find out exactly when this happened so that we can investigate fully. However we have not had a reply so all we can do is comment generally. Firstly if we are busy there is always...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2016

We just stayed for lunch and drinks prior to a local company visit, and the food was lovely with a wide choice, the location is pretty, the staff were polite and friendly, If I was in the area I would definitely go again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anatholie2014
Cheshire, UK
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Surprised at other reviews because our party of 4 found it very poor. Ordered what we were told was vegetable soup but turned out to be lukewarm onion soup - sent back for reheat. 3 ordered pie but were then told there were none and when tried to order chicken only one was available. Coffee was lukewarm. Shame because previous...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank janbrad
ralph028, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Beetham, responded to this review

We were very sorry to hear about your problems and I can only apologise wholeheartedly for the problems you had, this is well below our normal standards especially since you have been before and know how we usually serve people. We do make our food freshly from scratch and sometimes run out when we are busy so unfortunately occasionally run...

Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2016

We went out for lunch and on spec called in at the Wheatsheaf, Pleasantly greeted and shown to table, the pub has open fires and has rather an old aspect which suits the building itself. Service was quick and the food off the lunchtime specials menu was of good quality at a reasonable price. Beer/drinks prices were average and real...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Raggy0001
Cumbria
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Just south of the Kent Estuary only an hour away from my North Lakeland home is an area I find outstandingly beautiful, bordered by Arnside, Silverdale and Beetham. Over the years as an artist I have found inspiration there and drive through Beetham to visit the Fairy steps each time I go. I pass the most wonderful looking 16 centaury...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank peterliddle12
ralph028, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Beetham, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments, they are really appreciated.

Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

Booked as b&b rate of £55. Friendly welcome on arrival, shown to my room named "leighton" reasonable size with double bed and couch in the window bay. Small flat screen TV on the wall which could do with being fitted with a tilting bracket as the viewing angle when in bed is no good people are in the negative. Electric...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2015

Good staff, excellent food and accommodation - would recommend to anybody the staff were very attentive, bedrooms spotless and towels were changed daily. Food served on hot plates, as they should be. Main menu changed daily, and some of the options were very innovative. Bar staff very helpful in choosing different beers. Very busy hotel with the locals as well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corinne D
ralph028, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Beetham, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind and generous comments, we always appreciate anyone taking the time to review our Hotel, for whatever reason. Thanks again.

UK
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Found the Wheatsheaf by accident glad we did though. We asked a for a table at lunchtime although the it was busy we were seated quickly. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. The food in all honesty was superb, ver well priced, and delicious. Not fancy but wholesome just like the premises. Feels very Cotswoldy, can't wait to return....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Warwickshiregal

6 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milnthorpe
0.2 km away
The Cross Keys Hotel
The Cross Keys Hotel
#2 of 2 in Milnthorpe
109 reviews
8.4 km away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
900 reviews
4.5 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
13.0 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bolton le Sands
163 reviews
12.4 km away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf at Beetham

Address: Beetham, Milnthorpe LA7 7AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Milnthorpe
Price Range: ₹ 4,690 - ₹ 7,165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Wheatsheaf at Beetham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf At Beetham Hotel Milnthorpe
Wheatsheaf At Beetham Milnthorpe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Wheatsheaf at Beetham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is a variety of rooms, but we did not see the inside of the other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles AlanReeve, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Good hotel for hikers”
 of 5 bubbles JohnJ117, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms had lovely views.. Close to beautiful church”
 of 5 bubbles helencJ8181CF, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book another hotel which puts customer safety first!”
 of 5 bubbles lexcoups, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay over night”
 of 5 bubbles carolynl717, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5