We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Engine Inn

02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Engine Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 125: English reviews
uk
Reviewed 6 December 2015

stayed here for one night in room 5, our photos says it all, it was paid upfront so had no choice but to stay as storm Desmond was about, we could only have a roast dinner for our tea as they had a party in having a christmas get together, so thats all we could have too, my hubby is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank happydays_carol
Manager_Engine, Manager at Engine Inn, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your review. I am so sorry about your room. The room had not been used for a few weeks and should have been checked prior to your stay. Our house keeper could not get in the day you stayed because there were no trains because of the storms but that is no excuse please accept our...

West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2015 via mobile

Recently had a 2 night break in Cartmel and stumbled across this pub whilst looking for somewhere for an evening meal. The meal was absolutely fine and good value for money, dog friendly (which is a must for us) lovely open fires, good selection of real ales, the lady behind the bar was very friendly and helpful. Would recommend if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JedonTour
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2015

We stayed at The Engine this weekend and were made to feel extremely welcome. Enjoyed the cosy fires and real ale. The food was excellent . Pub in a great location to use as a base for exploring the Lakes, Room was clean and comfortable .Would definitely stay at The Engine again,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan0109
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Stayed here for two night using it as a base for planned event in Cartmel (2 miles away). Was a little difficult to spot intitially, as the pub is tucked down a dip off the main road. Parking could be an issue? Not many spaces available and these are located just off the main road. We had a quick turnaround...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rita Q
Runcorn
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend,used it as a base to discover the lovely Lake District. It was a great location and a enjoyable stay. Our room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was tasty and we decided to eat there both nights of our stay. Sticky toffee pudding is a must. My partner enjoyed the selection of real ales. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roughyeds2
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2015

We called at the Engine at mid day and booked a table for 6 pm Arrived at 5-50 pm was shown to table 6-05 6-10 got our drinks ordered meal at 6-25-----and was told the short pastry was being replaced by puff pastry served at 6-40 only to find that the underside of crust was badly burned so we complained-----sorry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank madaca
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

This is a lovely, traditional, old village pub that feels a million miles from the hustle bustle of the city and with food, drink and service to match. The interior retains many original features and the pub has several rooms with comfortable seating to ease the blisters of the many walkers who frequent the area. The food is dimple, wholesome,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Howi58
Barrow-in-Furness, UK
Reviewed 31 August 2015

The worst customer service I've ever received in my life. Having mistakenly ordered an inedible curry - the Naga Curry, which is apparently one of those "Man Vs Food" type challenges and not *actual* food - I complained and asked for my money back. I'm a 34 year old woman who was looking for a meal with my partner, not...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank firestar24
Chris_Adshead, Manager at Engine Inn, responded to this review

Madam, the reason I videoed you was to show how drunk, abusive and threatening you were. You came to the bar demanding your money back for a mistake you had made, threatening to go on tripadvisor and any other review site you could find if I did not give you your money back.. The blackboard clearly states that the curry...

Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Three of us called in for food while staying near by, staff couldn't do enough to assist & advise, very friendly & welcoming. Lovely little place with a good menu choice. Food was quick & delicious, table cleared quickly, if ever back in the area would definitely call back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blakeleyfamily
Windermere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2015

We went here for drinks on a lovely sunny afternoon, and drank scrumpy by the River! What more could you want? The interior is old and full of character, pleasant staff and great location. I would recommend popping in if you are passing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank -80-J-

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartmel
3.1 km away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
356 reviews
3.9 km away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
237 reviews
5.8 km away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
426 reviews
3.4 km away
Abbot Hall Hotel
Abbot Hall Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
206 reviews
2.8 km away
Cavendish Arms
Cavendish Arms
#2 of 14 in Cartmel
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Country Pub with Dining and Accommodation. Good Beer Guide from 2009. Home of the Naga Viper Madras. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Engine Inn

Address: Station Road | Cark-in-Cartmel, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 7NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grange-over-Sands > Cartmel
Price Range: ₹ 4,248 - ₹ 7,843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Engine Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your Engine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Engine Inn Cartmel, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Engine Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Parking is a problem, but there is public parking over the road in the park grounds”
 of 5 bubbles 520ianb, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“can not comment on rooms”
 of 5 bubbles madaca, 14 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Any room, just not here.”
 of 5 bubbles Billy1946, 29 May 2015 | Read review
“Choose the room with a bath.”
 of 5 bubbles 249crissyn, 17 May 2015 | Read review
“We had room 4 which was on the front. No noise, great location. It was a family room with a bath and shower and tea & coffee making facilities. Plenty of space.”
 of 5 bubbles JulieL309, 11 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Toprooms.com
Travelocity
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates