We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Stafford House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Stafford House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 195: English reviews
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am long overdue posting this review as I visited Stafford House in October. I originally planned to stay for one night while on business in the area after stumbling upon Stafford House on a last minute hotel website, however after experiencing the fabulous hospitality shown by Hazel and Ian I extended my stay to 3 nights. The house is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahedis
Hazel K, Owner at Stafford House, responded to this review

Wow - thank you, what a review! We feel so lucky that you chose us, and believe me the pleasure was all ours! The house and gardens do all the hard work, so if we can do the same then hopefully we shouldn't go far wrong? We are lucky enough to have a great pub in the village so that's...

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The stay was lovely with a very warm welcome. The owners could not do enough for us, they prearranged dinner for us at the local pub and were always there should we need them. Nothing seemed to much trouble. The B&B is in the grounds of the Greystoke castle and was formally a folly, now converted to a lovely guest...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lhraxg1
Hazel K, Owner at Stafford House, responded to this review

Thank you for a wonderful review. We can only hope that our guest's enjoy their time with us here at Stafford House, so we try to think of anything that they may need, and hopefully have it to hand! Take care and we will look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Brisbane
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Phenomenal care and hospitality given by Hazel & Ian! We felt so cared for. Hazel keeps Stafford house so well - everything is incredibly clean and specifically thought about. Breakfast was above and beyond. We were overwhelmed by the generosity and friendly care. Highly recommend for both the hospitality and the accommodation. Thank you so much! Thea & Bridie

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thea-Grace C
Hazel K, Owner at Stafford House, responded to this review

Wow what can we say, thank you so much for a wonderful review! We just do the things that probably most B&B's or Guesthouses do, but we also try to add a few little extra's that perhaps you wouldn't normally see. We also try and think of everything that any of our guest's may need during their stay, and at...

Reviewed 31 October 2016

We came as a group of 10 (2 kids) and stayed in the lodges. The trip was a Halloween business getaway and we had an amazing time. The accommodation is set in a nice scenic background with the castle a short walk away. The owners (thanks hazel) were very understanding and somehow managed to put up with all that we...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Samuel R
Hazel K, Owner at Stafford House, responded to this review

Thank you for a fantastic review. We are lucky to live where we do, and all we want to do is to help our Guests enjoy their time here. We were however taken aback as to how mature the (2 kids) were, especially the one with the beard who left driving his own car! Take care "David Kyle" and we...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Top gaffers. Very helpful and very chilled place, let us smoke up! would definitely recommend for a nice quiet place away for a weekend. Scenic views all around and a famous castle there! Great for any age whether it's a family or a stag!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david9892013
Hazel K, Owner at Stafford House, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review. We are lucky to be where we are in such a fantastic location, and also relieved that the weather was kind too allowing you to "Smoke Up your Barbecue" Thank you once again, and we will look forward to seeing you all again.

Reviewed 29 October 2016

Absolutely lovely place ran by two of the friendliest people you will ever meet. The property is beautiful & certainly different. The grounds are fantastically well kept & a real treat to stroll around. The room we stayed in was very well appointed & clean. Breakfast was of a good size & very tasty. The village itself is very quaint....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
Hazel K, Owner at Stafford House, responded to this review

Thank you for a wonderful review. We only do what we do, and all we hope for is that our Guests arrive as clients, but leave as friends. Stafford House itself does all the hard work, and if we can take care of our guests on the same level, then we may just have about cracked it. Yes, Greystoke is...

Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Have to say I've stayed here before and to start with the location and grounds are lovely. This really is a highly recommended place to stay. I've stayed in both double rooms and have not been so impressed by any other guest house . The breakfast is highly recommended too and I cant fault Stafford House in Greystoke. 10/10

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiger 1807
Hazel K, Owner at Stafford House, responded to this review

Thank you for a fantastic review. It's also lovely that you have stayed on more than one occasion and have been equally impressed each time, which is all that we could ever hope for! Our Breakfast ingredients are sourced from the best local produce, hopefully making for a lasting impression for all the right reasons. Thank you once again, and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Wonderful location Very comfortable room Not a conventional luxury hotel, but luxury comes in many forms, and Stafford House is our kind of luxury Wonderful hosts, who were so friendly and thoughtful Delicious food Having found Stafford House guest house, we'all be back again and again. Have already told friends and family about this gem of a guest house Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vivien66
Hazel K, Owner at Stafford House, responded to this review

Thank you for a fantastic review. We try to offer good value for money, along with those little extra's that many places seem to have forgotten over the years. The House and Garden can sell itself, but if we can make it even better with our local knowledge of this beautiful part of country, and a great Breakfast, then I...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2016

It is very difficult to say anything that has not already been said by all the positive reviews made to-date, except that they are absolutely correct. Hazel and Ian turned our long weekend break into a first class experience. We have not had anything like the service and friendliness they gave us, from any of the 5 star Hotels we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francesca S
Hazel K, Owner at Stafford House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a fantastic review! We only do what we do and try to offer value for money with that extra "something", and all we can hope for is that our Guest's enjoy their time with us so much that they feel they need to put pen to paper to let everyone else know. We try to...

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We were travelling back down from Scotland and wanted to spend a couple of days in the Lake District and chose Stafford House because of it's location and good reviews. We arrived later than expected and did not have time to go to the local, The Boot & Shoe, to book dinner so Hazel booked for us. Both Hazel &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lctrdt
Hazel K, Owner at Stafford House, responded to this review

Oh my, now that's really something we have to live up to! But thank you for a wonderful review, what can I say? We just do what we do, and all we can hope for is that our Guest's enjoy their time with us. The House and Garden sell themselves, so if we can do it justice with a good...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (57)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greystoke
7.3 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 13 in Penrith
918 reviews
7.7 km away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
9.4 km away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 13 in Penrith
788 reviews
9.2 km away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
314 reviews
32.6 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Stafford House

Address: Greystoke, Greystoke CA11 0TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Greystoke
Price Range: ₹ 6,622 - ₹ 8,260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stafford House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Stafford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stafford House Hotel Greystoke
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stafford House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Stafford House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The top floor en-suite room was my favourite.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahedis, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the top floor room which appears to be the best”
 of 5 bubbles paulwR564TC, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“From previous reviews it seems that all rooms are very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles NearlymanDevizes, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“double en-suite is the best”
 of 5 bubbles dangerouspie, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“View out the window had lots of wild life around”
 of 5 bubbles martinthediver, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay