We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Stafford House

Expedia.comUS$ 117*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Stafford House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 201: English reviews
Start your review of Stafford House
 Click to rate
Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were a party of 6 motorbikers some who had stayed here before. We were all tretaed as old friemds, and the attention to detail was excellent. Hazel and Ian even had spreader pads for our motorbike stands for the gravel. The rooms in the hotel were just beautiful. There are also chalets in the grounds for bigger parties. Breakfast...

Thank Martin B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

EXTREMLY good service ,breakfast to die for ,room was spotless ,the hosts went above and beyond for us .best I've been too .i now understand why the reviews were so high on this hotel I've rebooked. Great location,local pub was EXELLENT and very accommodating ,I could not fault my stay ,hazel and Ian were amazing and made us feel very...

Thank Darren M
Hazel K, Owner at Stafford House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a wonderful review - wow, what can we say! We are just so glad that you enjoyed your time with us so much that you felt you needed to let everyone else know too! We just try to offer good value for money, with perhaps just a little extra. The House and Gardens do all...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very friendly , beautiful accommodation in the annex, nothing too much trouble for our wonderful hosts. Comfy, spotlessly clean, good quality accommodation set in gorgeous garden, a great place to stay with secure cycle storage. Thanks Hazel and Ian.

Thank Jenny H
Hazel K, Owner at Stafford House, responded to this review

Thank you for a wonderful review, it's lovely to know that our Guests enjoy their time with us whether they are in "Stafford House" itself, or the Lodges that we have just to the side. The garden does have tremendous appeal, so if we can look after our Guests as well as the garden and it's surroundings,,then hopefully we can't...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nothing is too much trouble for Hazel and Ian - all the little touches such as fresh fruit and fluffy dressing gowns made our stay very special. The breakfasts are out of this world. And there were red squirrels outside our bedroom window!

Thank joxx43
Hazel K, Owner at Stafford House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a lovely review. All that we can hope for is that our Guest's enjoy their time with us, and if our little red squirrels make an appearance that's even better! We just do what we do, and try to offer value for money. We add those few little extra's that you may not normally see,...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A most welcoming stay in March for ourselves and two other couples. This is the second time we have stayed and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Spotless and with a fabulous breakfast, Hazel and Ian were perfect hosts. We will return.

Thank G0rdL
Hazel K, Owner at Stafford House, responded to this review

Wow, thank you for a wonderful review! We are so pleased that the time you spent with us was as good as your first, and your next stay will be just as memorable if not better! Take care, and we will look forward to seeing you all again soon.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On holiday on our way to the Lake District I had booked a stay at the local pub, to find that the accommodation was over booked! But the landlady in the pub had arranged for us to stay with friends in Stafford House. Wow, what a welcome, the owners could not do enough for us, we were greeted with being...

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Hazel K, Owner at Stafford House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for wonderful review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and if we can offer exactly what it says on the tin, then we may be just about there! The house and garden do all the hard work, so if we can do that too it helps to make our Guests' stay...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

I am long overdue posting this review as I visited Stafford House in October. I originally planned to stay for one night while on business in the area after stumbling upon Stafford House on a last minute hotel website, however after experiencing the fabulous hospitality shown by Hazel and Ian I extended my stay to 3 nights. The house is...

Thank sarahedis
Hazel K, Owner at Stafford House, responded to this review

Wow - thank you, what a review! We feel so lucky that you chose us, and believe me the pleasure was all ours! The house and gardens do all the hard work, so if we can do the same then hopefully we shouldn't go far wrong? We are lucky enough to have a great pub in the village so that's...

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

The stay was lovely with a very warm welcome. The owners could not do enough for us, they prearranged dinner for us at the local pub and were always there should we need them. Nothing seemed to much trouble. The B&B is in the grounds of the Greystoke castle and was formally a folly, now converted to a lovely guest...

1Thank lhraxg1
Hazel K, Owner at Stafford House, responded to this review

Thank you for a wonderful review. We can only hope that our guest's enjoy their time with us here at Stafford House, so we try to think of anything that they may need, and hopefully have it to hand! Take care and we will look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Phenomenal care and hospitality given by Hazel & Ian! We felt so cared for. Hazel keeps Stafford house so well - everything is incredibly clean and specifically thought about. Breakfast was above and beyond. We were overwhelmed by the generosity and friendly care. Highly recommend for both the hospitality and the accommodation. Thank you so much! Thea & Bridie

1Thank Thea-Grace C
Hazel K, Owner at Stafford House, responded to this review

Wow what can we say, thank you so much for a wonderful review! We just do the things that probably most B&B's or Guesthouses do, but we also try to add a few little extra's that perhaps you wouldn't normally see. We also try and think of everything that any of our guest's may need during their stay, and at...

Reviewed 31 October 2016

We came as a group of 10 (2 kids) and stayed in the lodges. The trip was a Halloween business getaway and we had an amazing time. The accommodation is set in a nice scenic background with the castle a short walk away. The owners (thanks hazel) were very understanding and somehow managed to put up with all that we...

4Thank Samuel R
Hazel K, Owner at Stafford House, responded to this review

Thank you for a fantastic review. We are lucky to live where we do, and all we want to do is to help our Guests enjoy their time here. We were however taken aback as to how mature the (2 kids) were, especially the one with the beard who left driving his own car! Take care "David Kyle" and we...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (94)
View from Room (6)
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Dining (8)
Room/Suite (7)
Other (57)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greystoke
4.0 km away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
302 reviews
9.4 km away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
7.4 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 km away
Tebay Services Hotel
Tebay Services Hotel
#1 of 11 in Penrith
658 reviews
19.9 km away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
516 reviews
7.7 km away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Stafford House

Address: Greystoke, Greystoke CA11 0TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Greystoke
Price Range: ₹ 6,723 - ₹ 7,951 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stafford House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Stafford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stafford House Hotel Greystoke
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stafford House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Stafford House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The top floor en-suite room was my favourite.”
sarahedis, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the top floor room which appears to be the best”
paulwR564TC, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“From previous reviews it seems that all rooms are very nice.”
NearlymanDevizes, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“double en-suite is the best”
dangerouspie, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“View out the window had lots of wild life around”
martinthediver, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$ 117* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 117
Orbitz.comUS$ 117
View all 8 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates