We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (52)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (6)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good29%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“games room”(20 reviews)
“drying room”(30 reviews)
“youth hostel”(22 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from YHA Borrowdale
Special Offer: BOOK DIRECT: 10% OFF
Offers from YHA Borrowdale
Special Offer: BOOK DIRECT: 10% OFF
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
157
73
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
157
73
8
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomdrying roomyouth hostelself catering kitchenbunk bedscamping podstop bunkcommon roomscafell piketable footballhostel groundsreal firelake districtbeautiful locationnight's sleepboard gamesreal ale
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 243 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

This was my first stay in one of the YHA's camping pods- what a treat! It was extremely clean and cozy & I had a great nights sleep. A lot of effort has gone into making this place home for nature, the birdsong around the...More

Thank missechsinclair
Reviewed 2 days ago

I camped at YHA Borrowdale for 4 nights with my dog. I was surprised by how busy it was, which made the communal areas a bit hectic, but the facilities were well maintained, visitors and staff were friendly and being under canvas was peaceful. There...More

1  Thank Julia75
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wow! The YHA isn’t really “just outside of Keswick” as stated, but boy is it worth the journey! Some of the most beautiful scenery on the way. The hostel is based in an absolutely stunning setting. Hostel has a bar, large comfortable lounge area, and...More

Thank bradclark84
Response from Rhys M, Manager at YHA BorrowdaleResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for an outstanding review, we really appreciate it! We do have a stunning setting and it is well worth the drive down, I do agree that it isn't just outside of Keswick, I will look into getting that rectified. It is an exceptionally...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First time at a yha and presently surprised. I had a private room, two bunks and a sink. Shared showers and toilets, which were spotlessly clean. Breakfasts were very good and the evening meals were great value. Bar open all day. The location can't be...More

Thank JackieTreehorn25
Response from Rhys M, Manager at YHA BorrowdaleResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review Jackie, it's great to hear you had a wonderful stay. I couldn't agree more about our location, the river coming through the grounds is appreciated by staff too. We have a few pairs of pied flycatchers. which is great to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of my favorite YHAs- great dry room, clean dorms, really nice social areas. Filled with hikers and outdoorsy types. It has a lovely stream out front that is fantastic for a cooling paddle at the end of the hike.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Thank Sara M
Response from Rhys M, Manager at YHA BorrowdaleResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your fantastic review, I couldn't agree with you anymore. I am pleased that you rate our hostel so highly. I also take a quick dip in the river after a jog, it's great for the legs and the soul.

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Borrowdale
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 32 - US$ 187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 32 - US$ 187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (52)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (6)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ammo83
7 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Rhys M | Property representative |
Hello, Unfortunately we do not allow fires when camping, the camping field is a grass lawn and just couldn't take the damage. There is a river running through the grounds where guests sometimes make a small campfire. Kind... More
0
Votes
Patrick S
14 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Rhys M | Property representative |
Hello Patrick, Yes you can rent towels with us, we charge £2 per towel and you can retain it for the duration of your stay. Thanks, Rhys
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Perhaps not 12 - Fan noise from toilets"
Read review
"Get a pod in winter - super quiet and showers all to yourself!"
Read review
"book in advance for weekends."
Read review
"Ring the hostel and ask for there assistance, with any special requests."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing