We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Lodore Falls Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,934 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Lodore Falls Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,933: English reviews
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived for one night stay , to be sent to our "cell" ( overlooking a moss covered roof) felt so enclosed and actually depressed me !! I'm not a complainer , but this was just not on !! Went to reception and was attended to by Ildi , she was brilliant and hit us moved to room 226 .. what... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan P
GMLodore, Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 'Alan P', Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent one night stay. I am sorry to hear that the room you were given did not meet your expectations. I am delighted that this was quickly rectified by our receptionist Ildi. It is always lovely to receive kind comments about any individual in our... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely time at the lodore falls hotel. Nice large room, With lake view. The only downside the noisy road. The food was great, and the staff are polite and friendly. Would definately visit again. It will be even better when the flood defences are completed so that you can take advantage of walking through the hotel grounds... More 

Helpful?
Thank J6796OIjohnj
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, used to come to this hotel many years ago and service is still as great. We came with our pet dog and our Guide Dog Puppy that we are training, hotel were really thoughtful and did not charge for our Guide Dog Pup. Lovely touch in the room leaving 2 beds and bowls for... More 

Helpful?
Thank lindawwhitehead
GMLodore, Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 'lindawwhitehead', Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent 2 night break with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that our staff were very accommodating towards your Guide Dog Pup. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meals whilst staying with us, and that you found our hotel... More 

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place is idyllic in its setting, warm and welcoming in its charm and we had a fantastic wedding courtesy of all the staff who worked so hard to ensure our day was perfect. Lynsey, Daryl, Jeanette and Orsli not to mention the Chefs, the bar and waiting on staff and the reception staff. We live over 100 miles from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carley A
GMLodore, Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 'Carley A', Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent wedding with us. I am over the moon to read that you had a fantastic day, it was an absolute pleasure to host your special day. I have passed on your comments to all of our team, who are delighted that you enjoyed your... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been to this hotel many times and I love everything about it until I went last December after the outside and some of the inside where devasted by the floods, we wouldn't of gone but had already booked, we paid extra for a lake view but as there's was no real view with everything I thought that would... More 

Helpful?
Thank lisasK2001KR
GMLodore, Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 'lisaK2001KR', I am sorry your recent visit with us did not live up to your expectations. Regarding last December, as you can appreciate, the floods were completely out of our control, as was any weather that came with it. The hot tub being closed for our guests safety during that period, I am sure you can understand that the... More 

Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visit end of Oct for 2 nights with the wife and Weimaraner. We stayed at this hotel due to location and their statement of pet friendliness. The location is nice but the cleaver photo suggesting its right on the lake edge is misleading, between you and the lake is the main road (bus stops directly outside the hotel) and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank firstjohn
GMLodore, Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 'firstjohn', Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. After reading guest feedback, we took the decision to have our cosy side lounge area as our dog friendly area. In this area, the same services as our lounge bar are available. We can... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fabulous hotel in a wonderful location. Everything was perfect, the staff warm and friendly, the food exquisite and the view from our lakeside room was breathtaking. We stayed for 2 nights following out wedding and would absolutely love to stay again. Despite them having a lot of problems last winter with the awful floods, there was very little disruption whilst... More 

Helpful?
Thank denofil
GMLodore, Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 'denofil', Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent break with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a lovely honeymoon! I hope that you will visit us again soon. Kind Regards, Tom Cobley Assistant Manager More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really lovely hotel.Parking outside restricted even for disabled guests.Rooms are good size and beautifully fitted.Asked for room with shower because of my wife's limited mobility and given one with a deep bath and overhead shower.Offered an exchange for a room with restricted view but compromised after being supplied with a chair to use in the bath.Ancient lift which could not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allan F
GMLodore, Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 'Allan F', Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent visit. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. It's great to hear that we managed to find a solution to your shower problem, without having to compromise your view in your room. We do have a... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Spent a 2 night mid week break here on the basis of having had an excellent bar meal here a couple of months ago. Can't fault any aspect of the experience. Service was brilliant, nothing was too much trouble, comfortable room, good food, great location. Wouldn't think of going anywhere else in the Keswick area now having experienced the Lodore.

Helpful?
Thank Woo60
GMLodore, Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 'Woo60', Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us recently, and that you will be returning when next in the Keswick area. Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back then! Kind Regards, Tom Cobley Assistant Manager More 

Worcester
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped here for coffee and cake after walking from Hawse end. 2 coffees, a coke and 3 pieces of cake came to £20!! Cake (£3.95 a slice) was nice but coffee was very average. Wouldn't stop here again!

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
GMLodore, Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 'Paul B', I am sorry to read that you found our services and products overpriced. I can assure you that our prices are very competitive for the area we are in, and that the scenery the hotel has to offer is second to none for the area. I am glad you enjoyed the fresh cake of the day nevertheless.... More 

932 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (690)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (192)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (47)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (296)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (200)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Fell View Double Room (46)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (5)
Viewed
Outdoor Heated Pool (3)
Viewed
Outdoor Hot Tub (5)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
25.1 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
28.3 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,197 reviews
0.7 km away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 km away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,490 reviews
33.4 km away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,157 reviews
14.2 km away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel will be completely renovated at the start of 2017 and will be completed by mid-February 2017. From the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Address: | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Price Range: ₹ 10,023 - ₹ 23,183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lodore Falls Hotel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Motherwell, United Kingdom

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Lodore Falls Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a lake view”
 of 5 bubbles 27RJ52, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The lake view rooms were great”
 of 5 bubbles Haydom, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Speak to the reception staff and explain your requirements. Rooms on the front of the hotel overlook the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles Choosethebest12, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay in the house if you expect a 5 star experience”
 of 5 bubbles 561suzanneb, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Lake view is the only room to have”
 of 5 bubbles lisasK2001KR, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay