We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (1407)
Room & Suite (212)
Dining (56)
Certificate of Excellence


Certificate of Excellence
Welcome to Peckforton Castle - An enchanting Hotel in the heart of Cheshire. Rising majestically above the Cheshire landscape, the castle is both enigmatic and enchanting. Originally the home of Lord Tollemache and built in the early 19th Century, this Grade I listed building is the only intact medieval style Castle in the country. Over the years the castle has been the location for numerous movies including Robin Hood and Dr Who. Now owned by the Naylor family, the stunning exterior has been complemented by a loving and considered restoration programme resulting in a magnificent hotel and venue offering contemporary luxury and impeccable service. Services include 48 stunning individual guest rooms, conference, events, and wedding facilities for up to 180. Tranquility beauty, on site Falconry and team activities all adding up to a rather magical experience. Dining at the Castle truly is a special occasion, welcoming the public as well as hotel guests. The 1851 Restaurant offers a dining experience fit for royalty. Holder of 3 AA Rosettes and a Taste Cheshire Award. Alternatively the more informal and cosmopolitan 2010 Brasserie, located in the former scullery of the castle, features many of the amazing features of the original scullery including two cast iron cooking ranges dating back to the 1840's. Peckforton Castle's enchanting medieval style beauty and stunning location make it a truly impressive and desirable venue for weddings, christenings, birthday parties, or just about anything that's worth celebrating. Everything plays a part; the fabulous setting, stunning location, the attentive service and smiling faces, the bespoke menus and decorations. A magnificent venue for conferencing and meetings. Within the medieval walls, old and new combine seamlessly to offer state of the art multi media and conference facilities. Captivating on arrival, Peckforton Castle's unspoilt, natural beauty will stimulate and motivate, delight the eye, inspire the mind, tantalise the taste buds and leave you enchanted.
Read more
Property amenities
Room service
Free Internet
Free parking
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Good to know
Hidden Gem
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,373
  • 575
  • 313
  • 156
  • 138
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Me and my partner have just spend 1 night here for our 4th wedding anniversary. We got the deal from groupon so paid a good price. The castle is beautiful and the room we had which was a basic room was also really nice, clean and spacious. We did have a problem that we needed
Read more
Response from StevenCropper, Manager at Peckforton Castle
Responded yesterday
Dear Jade H, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your amazing five star review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. It really means a lot to us when we receive such positive feedback. I am also happy that whatever the problem you experienced was, we were not able to only resolve it but go the extra mile to make things better. I look forward to welcoming you back to the castle should you return in the near future. Kind Regards Steven Cropper
Read more
We stayed here for one night after staying at a lovely Welsh Inn the night before. The castle was impressive, the staff were friendly, the public areas well kept. Our room 501 however was up several flights of stairs, it was dark and dingy, and the view was awful looking out
Read more
Response from StevenCropper, Manager at Peckforton Castle
Responded yesterday
Dear Rosie B, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us 100%. It really is a shame you have made the decision to not return to the castle because as you will see, the majority of our reviews are exceptional and I am sure if you let us know in advance, we would be able to allocate a lower level room. As you can appreciate, being a castle it can be quite difficult to always allocate lower ground rooms however we do always check upon booking if there are any specific requests to try our best to accommodate our guests accordingly. I will pass on your comments to our House Keeping manager as we usually receive such positive feedback regarding our attention to detail. Once again, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and I do hope that you change your mind and give us a second chance. Steven Cropper
Read more
Went for Christmas meal and stay over. Ate in restaurant and meal was amazing. Had a couple of drinks in the wine cellar which was very nice. Rooms very excellent with lovely toiletries. Our third stay. Tea coffee and water in rooms. Castle has kept originality. Cant wait for
Read more
Response from StevenCropper, Manager at Peckforton Castle
Responded yesterday
Dear Navigate802686, Thank you for your five star review of your third visit with us! I really do want to take the time to thank you for your loyalty to the family and team at Peckforton Castle. It really is lovely to hear of guests who return time and time again to enjoy a relaxing stay. Thank you once again for your kind words and we too cannot wait for your next visit! Kind Regards Steven Cropper
Read more
Breathtaking location. Charming attentative staff, who went out of their way to help and show us around. Lovely room with very large bathroom and comfortable beds. Good food, especially the buffet breakfast.
Read more
Response from StevenCropper, Manager at Peckforton Castle
Responded yesterday
Dear Jill W, Thank you for your lovely five star review. It is great to hear that the staff were able to go out of their way and show you our beautiful building. I am also really pleased to hear all aspects of your dining experiences were faultless. I do hope you find time to visit us again in the future, the surroundings never get old! Kind Regards Steven Cropper
Read more
Fabulous place, had a room in the turret, amazing place. Very clean, luxurious feel. Excellent food, staff friendly and helpful. Surrounding woods ideal for walks. Spa looked great although didn’t try it. Would highly recommend and hopefully will return.
Read more
Response from StevenCropper, Manager at Peckforton Castle
Responded yesterday
Dear CarolynCabuderra, Thank you for your FANTASTIC five star review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your lovely feedback really does mean a lot to us here at Peckforton Castle. I do hope to see you again in the future, and who knows, maybe you will find the time to book into our Spa to add that extra spot of relaxation to your stay. Thank you once again for your lovely review. Steven Cropper
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
View of part of the front of the Castle.
Bed in 'Tattenhall'
Photo provided by managementPeckforton Castle
Photo provided by managementPeckforton Castle
Classic Bedroom
How much is it to self park our car please .
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi Douglas, The lagers we have on tap are San Miguel and a Manchester JWLees Lager. Bottled lagers we have are corona & peroni. Many thanks, Ellen
0 votes
Hi I could not fault the food at all and the venue is a fantastic location our bedroom was small the bed was a small double and had no air con so it was uncomfortable
1 vote
Show all answers
I would say smart-casual. Jackets for gentlemen but not necessarily ties; dresses for ladies but not evening dress.
0 votes
Show all answers
I'm sorry, I've not visited as a wedding guest.
0 votes
Show all answers
"I have limited mobility and need a walk in shower, we were up graded to an executive room and it couldn't have been better."
"Maybe we should have upgraded to a better room"
"Make sure you state you want lift access unless you want to climb steps a lot!!"
"We had a Classic room which was very luxurious and comfortable. Ask for one which overlooks the green"
"There are a lot of stairs in this hotel, but it is a Grade 1 Listed Building, so not that easy to add lifts!"
US$ 240 - US$ 272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
peckforton castle hotel tarporley
United KingdomEnglandTarporley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing