We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Sandhurst

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Sandhurst
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 226: English reviews
Level Contributor
260 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We took a chance and bypassed Chester after getting off the ferry and tried a place that would set up us for the next day's travel. The large old house was decorated from decades gone by with artefacts and pictures from probably the early to mid 1900s. We were warmly greeted at the door and shown out room on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve M
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We stopped here for a 4 night break whilst visiting the area and its National Trust properties. As it says in the property description, it doesn't have a manned reception so we arranged an approximate arrival time and phoned the number that is clearly stated on the brass plate at the door which brought Roweena to welcome us within minutes.... More 

Helpful?
Thank r0bandcheryl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here as an overnight stopover a few nights ago with my young son and was more than happy with everything The Sandhurst had to offer. The house is stunning and its decor is in keeping with the period in which it was built. Our room (rm 7) was beautifully decorated, extremely spacious and very clean. I have to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Britt1972
thesandhursthotel, Owner at The Sandhurst, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review Britt it was lovely meeting you both and it's always especially nice when someone gets it here! as you did.Take care Rowena More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016

This is not 4 * hotel, it is a mediocre boarding house. No Reception, abrupt staff, tatty, tired and dated decor, gloomy room, one bedside lamp, lino bathroom floor and electric wall mounted shower with broken door, no tomatoes for breakfast, etc. Don't be enticed by misleading advertising images of bright and modern rooms or overly positive reviews. Overpriced for... More 

Helpful?
Thank John M
thesandhursthotel, Owner at The Sandhurst, responded to this review

Thank you for your review however I would like to correct a few of the issues raised to clear any confusion.We are not a Hotel and don't claim to be -we are a B and B .There is no manned reception and we make that clear in all our advertising, as we ask for estimated times of arrival to ease... More 

northfleet
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2016

just returned from staying at the sandhurst whilst attending oulton park for the weekend, we would highly recommend it, all staff friendly and welcoming, good breakfasts, excellent value, good location with easy walk to local places for evening meals, would definately stay here again

Helpful?
Thank chris o
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Lovely Edwardian villa close to Oulton Park circuit, Welsh border and Manchester. From the time we arrived until the time we left Rowena - the "lady of the house" made us feel one of the family. The property has been faithfully decorated in character including the original plans inside the front door. Our bedroom was originally the master bedroom and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We spent 3 nights at the Sandhurst and couldn't have hoped for a better place to stay. Breakfast was excellent every day, and Rowena was super helpful - breakfast at a time to suit us every day, and always a smile on a morning. If we're ever down in the area again, the Sandhurst will be our first port of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joe C
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Imposing front door hides a quirky, slightly old fashioned guest house. The welcome from Rowena was warm and the room large and extremely comfortable. The decor is a little tired but functional and we wanted for nothing. Breakfast set us up for the day and the stay although short was good.

Helpful?
Thank trigger21655
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

I stayed at The Sandhurst while visiting a local event and myself and my husband found our stay most enjoyable! We were welcomed promptly by the lady of the house who was very polite and happy to help us to our room which was exceptionally spotless, comfortable bedding and not a speck in sight! (Beautiful gardens to look out on... More 

Helpful?
Thank MissJR89
thesandhursthotel, Owner at The Sandhurst, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review it is greatly appreciated and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

My time here at sandhurst was short, just one night. We arived to an unprofessional manner, being called love or pet. As climb the desolate cold creeky stairs you realise that this is in know way a homely place, a bit to Edwardian for my liking, hot running water is common these days, but not at sandhurst. If there's any... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Henry R
thesandhursthotel, Owner at The Sandhurst, responded to this review

Seriously - why would the stairs be cold and creaky in June!! We obviously have hot water as others would comment if we didn't! I accept constructive reviews however this is just another weird and ridiculous rant from an over zealous key board warrior who didn't use spell check. More 

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlewich
5.6 km away
De Vere Cranage Estate
1.6 km away
Travelodge Middlewich
Travelodge Middlewich
#1 of 2 in Middlewich
115 reviews
6.5 km away
Premier Inn Northwich South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 km away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
9.0 km away
Wincham Hall Hotel and Gardens
6.2 km away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Sandhurst

Address: 69 Chester Road, Middlewich CW10 9EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Middlewich
Price Range: ₹ 4,924 - ₹ 5,130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sandhurst 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Sandhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhurst Hotel Middlewich
The Sandhurst Middlewich, Cheshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Sandhurst staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Sandhurst staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are spot on”
 of 5 bubbles stevebT5014DJ, 12 May 2016 | Read review
“There is an extra large family room that can sleep four”
 of 5 bubbles yvonnel8, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“ask for a garden facing room”
 of 5 bubbles robertwA6038EM, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Our room 3 at the back of the hotel was very quiet at night.”
 of 5 bubbles AnneC1963, 26 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Quieter rooms at the back overlooking the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles Calamy, 4 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay