We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cliveden House

Relais & ChâteauxUS$ 485*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 550*
US$ 485*
Great Deal
US$ 550*
US$ 550*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Cliveden House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

924 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cliveden House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 899: English reviews
Montevideo, Uruguay
Reviewed 21 October 2015

The room was spectacular, the view perfect, the food was absolutely scrumptious and the service of all the staff was totally impeccable. The flowers, the champagne and all the other attentions placed in our suite were also stunning and delicious. My wife and I could not have found a more perfect setting anywhere. I will definitely refer the Cliveden House...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean Paul B
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

These are very kind words, thank you. I am so pleased you both enjoyed all aspects of your stay and I hope you might be tempted back to visit us again one day. Kind regards Sue W

Reviewed 20 October 2015

What an absolutely wonderful place. The house and its history are stunning. The views are to die for. The food was amazing and on par with many fine dining establishments. For a special occasion or even a treat, go it is well worth it and you won't be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jobr1
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind recommendation, hopefully your visit will be remembered for a while to come and that you might be tempted back one day. Best wishes Sue W

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2015

From the moment you enter the driveway to the house to the moment you leave this has to be one of the best hotel experiences in the world. The view over the gardens for breakfast is unforgettable and the food is amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

So pleased you have happy memories of your stay with us. We have a magical spot here and I am just so pleased you found it so. We hope you will be tempted back one day. Kind regards Sue W

Swindon
Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel in a fantastic setting. The room that we had was really very nice. It was only as we started to use the hotel did we start to have problems. Very mediocre food, we asked for dessert and we were told there would be a significant wait if we ordered, breakfast was ordered and did not...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Anver Q
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

My apologies that we have given you cause to send negative feedback. I remember your party well and you seemed so happy over your late night games, but obviously that was the highlight and the other elements less so. We are sorry not to have re set your meeting room but believed you had finished your meeting at lunch time....

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2015

This hotel is beautiful. I stayed in a junior Suite which was beautiful and cozy, like going back in time to old england. There are plenty of books in the rooms and around the hotel giving you all the history of the house which is really interesting, as its only recently turned into a hotel, so full of history as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauz012001
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us for your pre baby "arrival" break, I am so pleased you like the house and especially the history. So sorry the creaking floor boards disturbed you, it does only happen in a couple of rooms so will investigate further if there is anything more we can do. Creaking floor boards can be charming but not...

Cambridge
Reviewed 14 October 2015

This venue is highly salubrious but is far too expensive for what you get. The room I had looked out over the pool and spa area where the profumo affair had its roots. This was all very grand and goes someway to define the cost. The furniture in the room, however, was unacceptably cheap and utterly pathetic considering the surroundings....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank KnownTravelWriter
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

So very sorry to learn that Cliveden, the team and offering failed to hit the mark for you during your recent stay with us. We work very hard to get the balance of old and new right at Cliveden and operating within this lovely old house always adds to this challenge. Many of the pieces once belonged to the Astor...

Montrose, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2015

We recently held a welcome dinner for a large group of national and international guests at this truly breath-taking venue. A word of caution - if you arrive by coach as we did, it won't fit through the main entrance. As a result, we were over 30 minutes late which must have been a nightmare for the kitchen- but they...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Protraveller5_11
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

It was a great pleasure to host our first Chaine event here under the current ownership. We were delighted to welcome such an international crowd. The whole event was especially important to me as it was this very same weekend that I was inducted into the Chaine. Time permitting I hope to attend a few events over the year and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2015 via mobile

Cliveden is everything a top of the range five star hotel should be. We last visited a couple of years ago and felt it had got even better since our last stay. The restaurant has been beautifully refurbished and a new chef installed. The food at breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner was fantastic and impeccably presented. Our room (Lord Astor)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz K
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

We very much enjoyed reading your review and thank you for taking the time to send it in. Really do understand your observations on the Spa and now that they house has had its full refurbishment we are turning our thoughts to the Spa area. It has had to be a gradual process as we had so much to do,...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2015

It really deserves it's newly awarded best hotel in England with the AA! The hotel is spectacular and the grounds are amazing, we walked for ages and never left the hotel grounds. The staff are excellent, they're incredibly helpful, thoughtful and relaxed. Unlike other luxury hotels, the service is not stuffy but friendly and personable. Tony, who works at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tasteoftea
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

So great for Tony to get a mention in your review, thank you. He is definitely one of the stars on our team. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope you have some great memories to treasure (until the next time) . Kind regards Sue W

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2015

I had the pleasure of staying for one night at Cliveden House in Taplow. Approaching down the main drive with the extensive, splendid and regal and house coming to-wards me, I knew I was somewhere special. Its extensive gardens and buildings smack of grandeur and opulence. The doorman immediately welcomed me, took care of my bags and chatted to me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FairCityFrasie
Sue W, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

"Somewhere special" is very much how we like to think our lovely House is perceived. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and that you had time to explore your surroundings and relax a little in the Spa. Thank you for taking a few moment to review us it really is very much appreciated. I am delighted that on...

524 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (486)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (196)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Other (143)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taplow
6.5 km away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
9.4 km away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
29.6 km away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
565 reviews
7.7 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,159 reviews
5.9 km away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cliveden is unique. One of the world's finest luxury hotels, this grand stately home is set in the heart of the Berkshire countryside, surrounded by 376 acres of magnificent formal gardens and parkland and with wonderful panoramic views over the River Thames. It is one of the finest luxury hotels near London and Heathrow Airport. Guests have included every British monarch since George I as well as Charlie Chaplin, Winston Churchill, Harold Macmillan, President Roosevelt, George Bernard Shaw, John Profumo and Christine Keeler, and many other well-known names from the past and present. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cliveden House

Address: Taplow SL6 0JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Price Range: ₹ 26,547 - ₹ 1,11,315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cliveden House 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cliveden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliveden House Hotel Taplow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cliveden House staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Southern California
Barcelona
7 months ago
Worcester
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Cliveden House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are taking dogs do stay in the Mountbatten suite as it has easy access to outside. It's also fabulous!”
UkCaro, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Lady Astor's Roof terrace is supposed to be amazing, but we didn't see it!”
AnnD136, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Inchiquin suite is great for families.”
  • Inchiquin suite
  • Inchiquin suite
  • Inchiquin suite
jenniferlH9059ZA, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get one of the suites in the main building. The Westminster was particularly nice.”
southmauijim, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room or suite in the main part of the mansion on the first or second floor for an outstanding view.”
lindawU8122UG, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Relais & Châteaux
US$ 485* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 550
Booking.comUS$ 550
Expedia.comUS$ 550
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates