We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cliveden House

Relais & ChâteauxUS$ 642*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 710*
US$ 642*
Great Deal
US$ 709*
US$ 709*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Cliveden House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

924 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cliveden House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 899: English reviews
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've wanted to visit Cliveden for so long and after years of waiting, I'm happy to report that it didn't disappoint. We had a tasting lunch menu that kept us happily entertained all afternoon and then we could just about muster the strength to walk around the gorgeous grounds afterwards...The sommelier was particularly helpful and dealt with our friend's specific...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
Kevin B, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

Cliveden's team of award winning sommeliers really are second to none when it comes to advising on wines and the celler is very well stocked. I am really pleased we lived up to your high expectations after years of waiting and I hope you do not have to wait so long for your next visit. Best wishes Kevin Brooke

San Diego, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You have to splurge and stay here, at least once. Alex at the front desk was delightfully helpful and competent. Breakfast over the Parterre is a golden memory. Sumptuous decor. Great bathtub. Everything was perfect. Never saw a maid or maid's cart, but room was always cleaned when we stepped out. Incredible setting and gardens. Intriguing history. I want yo...

Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 829jamesz
Kevin B, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

For many years Cliveden has been a great generator of wonderful memories and I hope it continues to do so for many years. You are quite right, the views from the dining room, at breakfast time, across the manicured lawns and clipped box hedges down to the River Thames really are truly magical. I want you to return as well...

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had the most amazing weekend celebrating with friends at this fabulous hotel, set within the most stunning grounds. All the staff were so friendly, professional and each offered their personal touch. We were made to feel very special from the moment we arrived. Lovely rooms, with hot tubs. The 7 course tasting menu, with wine pairing was incredible, as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Awciren
Kevin B, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

Well - what can I say? I remember your visit and how much you enjoyed all that Cliveden has to offer. I have passed on your thanks to both the Michaels - both are wonderful ambassadors for the house. I look forward to seeing you back at Cliveden very soon. Many kind regards Kevin Brooke

NYC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ended our trip to London with a two night visit to Cliveden House. It was a truly remarkable stay. The history of the house is most interesting. The grounds are immaculate and the arrival is awe inspiring. We stayed in a beautifully decorated two bedroom suite, the Inchiquin, on the second level. Even though we arrived rather early, our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
Kevin B, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. The people that work at Cliveden really bring the old house to life and it is always very gratifying when their efforts are enjoyed by our guests. Alex is a true star and I have passed on your thanks to her. I look forward to welcoming you back to the house soon....

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A wonderful weekend away with friends to celebrate a significant birthday in a truly beautiful hotel. The room was lovely, extremely comfortable and quiet. Amongst the delights we were treated to a fabulous meal where we sampled the tasting menu and the boys had the pairing wines too, expertly matched by Sommelier Michael who could not have been more attentive....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _kjhowells
Kevin B, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review - Cliveden is an excellent place to celebrate with friends and you were a really lovely little group to look after - thank you for coming to see us. Best wishes Kevin Brooke

Kihei
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I spent two nights here in the Westminster Suite and we were not disappointed. We had booked many months in advance to get the best rate possible and it was still expensive to stay here, but we felt it worthwhile in order to help the National Trust maintain the property. The staff were very attentive and kind,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank southmauijim
Kevin B, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The Westminster suite is one of my favouites too with its far distant views, south, over the grounds and River Thames. The gardens are especially wonderful at this time of year - we are looking forward to the spectacular show the bluebells put on in late April. Best wishes Kevin Brooke

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The place is beautiful ! Didn't expect such a nice place ! The hotel has been perfectly renovated ! The room are nice: large bed and very comfy, the bathroom is superb, very high water pressure this is really rare ! We had a great experience ! The staff is really nice ! We tried both restaurants, we definitely recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LucasBeg
Kevin B, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

Well it sounds like you had a wonderful time. Cliveden has an amazing cellar of wine and just the right team of sommeliers to tell you all about it. You are right to recommend the boats as they have just gone back on the river looking shiny and new, after their winter spruce up, despite the fact one of them...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have been coming here for 25 years now, it was excellent then and remains excellent now. Food is very good and service is excellent too. The Waitress perhaps got carried away just a little bit by telling us her whole live story, in small increments each time she came to our table we seemed to get a further instalment. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugo W
Kevin B, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - I love the fact you have been enjoying Cliveden for 25 years - I am sure you will continue to do so. I have had quiet word with everyone in the daily staff briefing and you should not be asked such questions in future - many apologies. Kind regards Kevin Brooke

Pasadena, California
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Cliveden House is an exceptionally historic and elegant property with outstanding grounds. Read up on its rich history prior to and during your stay. You will be awed by the rare treat of being able to experience a property with its distinctive historic provenance as well as its exceptional beauty. Come and stay where Lady Astor, Winston Churchill and even...

Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
Kevin B, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

The history of Cliveden goes back over 350 years and there are many wonderful tales to tell from the Duke of Buckingham in the 17th century through to the Astors in the 20th century. I hope to see you back at Cliveden very soon. Best wishes Kevin Brooke

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We visited Cliveden House yesterday for afternoon tea. We arrived early and were warmly welcomed by Anna. Prior to tea we walked in the beautiful grounds and then Anna kindly showed us the main rooms of the House. One room was being prepared for an intimate wedding. The flowers (by Russell) were stunning. Afternoon Tea was delicious and our dietary...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichaelRex
Kevin B, General Manager at Cliveden House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I remember the day you came (I admired your lovely new car) and the small wedding was being set up in the Boudoir room - the flowers did indeed look fantastic - Russell from Blomsters certainly has a special skill. I have passed on your thanks to Anna and hope you make that...

524 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (486)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (196)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Other (143)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taplow
6.5 km away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
9.4 km away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
29.6 km away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
565 reviews
7.7 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,158 reviews
5.9 km away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cliveden is unique. One of the world's finest luxury hotels, this grand stately home is set in the heart of the Berkshire countryside, surrounded by 376 acres of magnificent formal gardens and parkland and with wonderful panoramic views over the River Thames. It is one of the finest luxury hotels near London and Heathrow Airport. Guests have included every British monarch since George I as well as Charlie Chaplin, Winston Churchill, Harold Macmillan, President Roosevelt, George Bernard Shaw, John Profumo and Christine Keeler, and many other well-known names from the past and present. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cliveden House

Address: Taplow SL6 0JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Price Range: ₹ 26,793 - ₹ 1,11,212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cliveden House 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cliveden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliveden House Hotel Taplow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cliveden House staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Southern California
Barcelona
7 months ago
Worcester
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Cliveden House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are taking dogs do stay in the Mountbatten suite as it has easy access to outside. It's also fabulous!”
UkCaro, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Lady Astor's Roof terrace is supposed to be amazing, but we didn't see it!”
AnnD136, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Inchiquin suite is great for families.”
  • Inchiquin suite
  • Inchiquin suite
  • Inchiquin suite
jenniferlH9059ZA, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get one of the suites in the main building. The Westminster was particularly nice.”
southmauijim, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room or suite in the main part of the mansion on the first or second floor for an outstanding view.”
lindawU8122UG, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Relais & Châteaux
US$ 642* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 709
Hotels.comUS$ 709
TripAdvisorUS$ 642
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates