We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Stoke Place

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Stoke Place
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

613 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 607: English reviews
Start your review of Stoke Place
 Click to rate
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Check in was poor - no explanation of anything. No mention of the restaurant for dinner or breakfast or bar or anything else for that matter. The room was shocking for £136 per night. One of the worst hotel rooms i have ever stayed in. Worn, wonky and stupidly warm. Bed was shocking, creaking and not comfortable. The desk space...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeza87
Adam S, General Manager at Stoke Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, however I was extremely concerned to read of your poor experience at Stoke Place, especially in relation to the service you received upon your arrival. All of our bedrooms do vary considerably in size and layout as you would expect from a 16th century house, however we would have made every effort to offer you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I decided to take a spontaneous road trip and booked this hotel an hour before arriving. We chose it due to it being dog friendly. I'm so glad we stumbled across this beautiful hotel, we stayed in the courtyard building which has an enclosed garden area. It's so perfect for dogs, there isn't many hotels that you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank actorgirl3
Adam S, General Manager at Stoke Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback, and wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us at Stoke Place. Do return to see us again soon, and if you contact us directly to make your reservation, my team can ensure you have a fridge in your room upon your arrival. Kind regards Adam Salter General...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pure luxury. It was like being an 18th century gentleman, but with better plumbing, for a day. The house is a gem, with the main bedrooms facing due south over park land. All the public rooms are superb: it is like travelling back in a time machine to a more elegant era. And the service is wonderful: attentive but not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank countkostov
Adam S, General Manager at Stoke Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! Our team take great pride in providing a genuine home-from-home for our guests, and such feedback is a reward in itself. We shall also carefully consider your suggestion for a swimming pool in our next phase of improvements! In the meantime, I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Adam Salter General...

Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Don't get me wrong lovely location, lovely buildings but the manager is a joke. I went to a private function at the Hotel and the management seem to think it's OK for people to smoke in the building. It is normal arrival service to have your jacket taken and stored in the cloakroom. It is not normal service to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo_Maxwell
Adam S, General Manager at Stoke Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. My Reception Manager did contact you personally to explain that smoking in the building is strictly prohibited under law, and rigorously enforced by the entire team at Stoke Place. Indeed we are not aware of any incident of other guests smoking within the building, and therefore unfortunately cannot accept responsibility in this case, as was...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017

My partner and I recently stayed at Stoke Place on a Saturday and found the hotel & grounds lovely and peaceful. Since the stay I have had a terrible ordeal trying to sort out an issue between the payment and pre-authorisation payment. On arrival it was explained that on Check-in a pre-authorisation payment will be taken (slightly over the booking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RGill5
Adam S, General Manager at Stoke Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Stoke Place, but less so that you felt your visit somewhat spoiled by the error in not properly releasing the pre-authorization on your credit card, as is our usual procedure. As you are aware, I have responded to you directly already, apologizing for the error, and I...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Wife and Friends booked this for a Saturday night away, Was a little hard to find but the building itself was impressive. On arrival we were given our rooms on two different floors, ours was in the attic!! as they were advertised with "views of the stunning gardens" or words to that effect, even with mirrors and optical trickery we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davey099
Adam S, General Manager at Stoke Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, and I am pleased to hear that overall, you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the food and Restaurant. Being a 17th century building, all our bedrooms are totally unique in size and decor, those facing the back of the house having sweeping views across the Capability Brown grounds and lake. Do let us...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

5 stars! I was a bit skeptical when booked this place, knew that it is an older establishment, but decided to give it a try. Absolutely amazing- staff is super attentive, room and the view are beautiful, well kept up and very clean. Restaurant serves one of the greatest selections and any dish I ordered here is made to an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tetedee
Adam S, General Manager at Stoke Place, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Adam Salter General Manager

Windsor
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Having been past here many many times this was my first visit for a family occasion. Beautiful location, lovely building, great decor, lovely food. I would love to return to try out the restaurant properly but the afternoon tea we had was very good. Staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. I will definitely return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulFogg
Adam S, General Manager at Stoke Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent visit to Stoke Place; by all means we would be delighted to welcome you back to the restaurant for either lunch or dinner, or indeed for simply a passing cup of coffee! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Adam Salter General Manager

LONDON
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We have just got married at Stoke Place on 31/12/16 and we could not be happier with the hotel. From the moment we had our first wedding meeting to collecting all our wedding bits on 2/1/17 and of course the wedding itself, the staff at the hotel couldn't do enough for us. As the bride and groom we didn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarlyG123
Adam S, General Manager at Stoke Place, responded to this review

Very many congratulations from us all once again! Thank you also for your wonderful feedback on the special occasion of your wedding at Stoke Place; we have an excellent team, and I am so pleased to hear how thoroughly they looked after you during your stay, and on the day itself. Do come and see us again soon, and enjoy...

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Just returned home from a lovely overnight stay at Stoke Place. My boyfriend and I stayed in a Junior Suite on the top floor of the hotel. The room was perfect in every respect, great size, opulent decor and large bathroom. Breakfast and dinner were both exceptional and the waitress/waiter serving us were extremely friendly and very attentive. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChandlerDA
Adam S, General Manager at Stoke Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Stoke Place, and I was so pleased to see how much you enjoyed staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Adam Salter General Manager

327 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (269)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
2:17
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Poges
1.3 km away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
4.5 km away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
745 reviews
1.5 km away
Pinewood Hotel
Pinewood Hotel
#12 of 21 in Slough
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
560 reviews
7.8 km away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
907 reviews
7.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Modern Country HouseStoke Place is a reinvention of the traditional country house - a home from home environment, ideal for celebrations and with the feel of an aristocratic-owned private house.With 39 bedrooms, 7 individually designed private rooms seating from 8 to 200 people, extensive gardens designed by the legendary Capability Brown and a gym and treatment room, Stoke Place offers conferences, weddings, quiet getaways and fantastic dining.Recently awarded 3 AA Rosettes for culinary excellence and a Notable wine list award. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stoke Place

Address: Stoke Green, Stoke Poges SL2 4HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Stoke Poges
Price Range: ₹ 6,377 - ₹ 15,452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke Place 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Stoke Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke Place Hotel Stoke Poges
Stoke Place Poges
Stoke Place Hotel Poges
Stoke Place Stoke Poges, Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stoke Place staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Solihull, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Stoke Place staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get ones with a view or bungalows in the grounds”
 of 5 bubbles davey099, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“It's an old house, so you are up and down stairs all the time. All rooms seemed fine, based on our wedding guests feedback.”
 of 5 bubbles FlyBacon, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Regent room. Roll top bath. Separate toilet and shower. However can hear traffic from the room.”
 of 5 bubbles H3724BPsusank, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for rooms in main house”
 of 5 bubbles Gipsyjo0, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the back of hotel have the lovely Capability Brown garden views.”
 of 5 bubbles G5257UUgregc, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5