We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
297 Maple, Sutton, Quebec J0E 2K0 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$118
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/10/22
Booking.com
$115
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/10/22
Travelocity
$118
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/10/22
Hotels.com$118
Priceline$119
Trip.com$114
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (50)
Dining (25)
Room & Suite (24)

About

#3 of 4 hotels in Sutton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Perched on the slopes of Mount Sutton, with the ski area just beyond, Hotel Horizon overlooks the full expanse of the surrounding valley - an optimal site with a spectacular panorama. Totally refurbished in the spirit of a mountain hotel of the Alps, Hotel Horizon in Sutton offers you a choice of 24 rooms decorated with natural wood. The restaurant welcomes you thursday to saturday evening in a friendly and warm atmosphere and offers a menu with reasonnable prices. After a great day outdoor, you will enjoy the heated indoor swimming-pool, a good book by the fire place or a game with you kids in the playroom.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Free breakfast
Hiking
Skiing
Banquet room
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Tennis court
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French
80Reviews0Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 27
  • 28
  • 15
  • 6
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Fabianobrennand wrote a review Jul 2022
Montreal, Canada72 contributions50 helpful votes
No real breakfast. Only breads, yogurt, bagels, croissants and butter. No eggs, no cheese, no bacon, nor other type of protein. I am really disappointed. The only thing that made me book this hotel was the "breakfast included" but I felt that I was scammed. I had to go to the supermarket to eat something more substantial.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Huttopia Sutton, General Manager at Horizon Hotel
Responded 30 Jul 2022
Good afternoon Fabianobrennand, Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on your experience with us. We are sorry to read you were not pleased with our breakfast. Our breakfast included in the room is a continental cold breakfast with as you said, bread, bagels, croissants, chocolate croissants, yogurt, fruits, cereals coffee and tea. Maybe what you were looking for was an American breakfast which includes animal proteins. We hope that you were able to enjoy the room and the facilities of our hotel, nonetheless and you spent a good time in Sutton. Best regards, The management team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Montreal Foodie 1957 wrote a review Jun 2022
16 contributions
Minus 10 all the way. The STENCH in the room as we opened the door was absolutely overwhelming. By the way, the key card did not unlock the door when we first arrived to the room. We had to return to the reception desk. Believe me the walk was a long one from our room located at one end of hotel and the reception desk all the way to the opposite end. Moreover, I requested a room for handicapped so all this walking was strenuous. Mind you, there was a lift at the bottom of the 5 stairs leading to the rooms but no one could get it to work. Back to the stench, finally went to local IGA to buy some Febreeze! Don’t try to get any help after 6pm, the reception desk is closed. Should you have an emergency, you are told to use the phone at reception desk. How do I know this, I called the hotel when I couldn’t find anyone at the reception desk. How many hotels do you know that don’t have a phone in the room or an ironing board and iron. You guessed it, these items are not available here! I am telling you, run the other way when you see this place. Better sleeping in your car than to book a room here!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Go some where else.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Huttopia Sutton, General Manager at Horizon Hotel
Responded 25 Jun 2022
Good evening MontrealFoodie1957, Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your experience with us. We have taken good note of each point mentioned and thank you for them. We are a little surprised by your disappointment regarding the cleaning of the room as it is usually a point very appreciated by our guests. Our reception is open every day from 08:00 to 19:00, and from 08:00 to 21:00 on weekends, as you mentioned an emergency phone is also available 24 hours a day in the hotel lobby, we would have liked to have the possibility to help you with this inconvenience. An iron and ironing board are available at all times to guests in the laundry room. Despite this, we hope that you were still able to enjoy the beautiful natural setting of Sutton. Regards, The managment team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
George L wrote a review Jan 2022
3 contributions3 helpful votes
We cancelled our trip due to the Omicron wave and were still charged a cancellation fee. Brutal disrespect of customers. If this is how management treats its customers, I can only imagine their attitude towards guests. Will never go to this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Huttopia Sutton, General Manager at Horizon Hotel
Responded 17 Jan 2022
Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. Indeed, as indicated in our terms and conditions, in case of cancellation, a booking fee of 30$ is applied, and the rest is refunded. In your case, you paid the 30$ and were refunded the rest. If the cancellation is made because of a positive COVID result (with proof), we propose to our customers to receive a credit note with the amount of the stay, to be used on the current year. Rest assured, our clients are very well received by our staff, and have a great stay here. Kind regards, Vanessa O, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle & Rob wrote a review Jan 2022
2 contributions
We stayed in late December. The service was excellent. The rooms were really clean. All the staff super friendly and excellent. The food was excellent as well. We really appreciated how they navigated with the surprise covid measures put in place where they had to shut down the restaurant on New Years Eve Day and how when we left New Years Day, they had a bag prepared with food and drinks ready for us for our long car ride since they could not offer breakfast in their dining room. Merci infiniment pour tout! On reviendra, c’est sûr!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Huttopia Marketing, Propriétaire at Horizon Hotel
Responded 4 Jan 2022
Hello Michelle, We thank you warmly for your comment and above all a big thank you for your very kind words towards our team. It is true that the pandemic is sometimes difficult to manage but we are delighted that the measures taken pleased you. Our priority is the satisfaction of our customers, and we try to adapt as quickly as possible. We look forward to seeing you again at the Horizon Hotel. Vanessa O, Directrice
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Honest and fair reviews wrote a review Mar 2021
Toronto, Canada281 contributions83 helpful votes
This was supposed to be a fun little local getaway with my 2 young children (3 years old and 6 months old). The cabin is cute and it’s in a nice location in the woods. However, do not stay here if you want a comfortable nights sleep or if you don’t want to make your beds, undo the beds, wash your dishes, sweep the floors and take your garbage to the dump. Upon arrival, we had to make the beds, which is unacceptable, this is a hotel. This means everyone who stays here touches the bare pillows, mattress and duvet. That’s disgusting. We then read a note saying we had to undo the beds, wash the dishes, sweep the floors and take the trash to the dump or we would be charged. None of this information was stated prior to our booking. If I wanted to clean, I would of stayed home. Of course we did all of that because we didn’t want the charge but we have a toddler and a baby. The car was full so we had to hang the garbage out the window to the dump. Are you kidding me?
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Huttopia Marketing, Owner at Horizon Hotel
Responded 29 Mar 2021
Dear MissWorldTravel, I’m sorry to hear that you did not have a good sleep because the bed did not meet your expectations. We follow specific guild lines given to us by the authorities regarding the cleaning procedures. They recommend to avoid contacts with the linens as much as possible. That is why we have left the folded sheets on your bed. The chalets are a different experience than the hotel. We have room service at the hotel to clean up and pick up garbage everyday. The chalet experience is different, there is no room service as well as no wifi or TV. The chalet experience is met to disconnect in a natural environment while being fully autonomous. Just like most short term cottage rental, we ask a minimum from the visitors before they leave. That is why we expect our visitors to take the sheets off the beds, wash the dishes they have used (chalets are equipped with a dishwasher), take your garbage to the garbage area and sweep the floor. Thank you for your comprehension, we hope that you will visit Huttopia again here in Canada or in another site overseas. Wish you best in your next adventures!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sylvie T. wrote a review Mar 2021
2 contributions3 helpful votes
The rooms are clean but small and the hotel seem nice enough but due to covid-19 everything was kind of closed. What I would suggest is to improve the communication with the customers. You have no idea what you can do or can’t do and the answers are different from each member of the staff. Ex: can I borrow some games for my kids? One day is yes and the next day is no. It is overrated for the services given.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Huttopia Marketing, Owner at Horizon Hotel
Responded 29 Mar 2021
Good afternoon Syllet, Thank you for your comments about your stay. We are happy to know you enjoyed the room and our hotel overall. We regret the confusion made by the always changing government rules due to the Covid-19 situation. We are working on improving our communication between our services and communication between the reception and costumer. We hope to see you back at our place in the near future. Regards, The direction
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Margaret R wrote a review Mar 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Just spent 3 lovely nights at Hotel Horizon. Staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were nicely appointed, spotless and the beds were super comfy. The continental breakfast was delicious -featuring locally made pastries , bagels, breads and jams. Eggs and other extras are available for a modest fee. We also enjoyed two dinners in the Bistro - the Raclette dinner was extra delicious. Great pool and hot tub. Hotel is 2 minutes by car from the ski hill. Will definitely return again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
OttawaRes wrote a review Feb 2020
Ottawa5 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed for 3 nights in a chalet with 2 adults and 3 teens. The chalet was very charming. I loved the way they were spaced out and set in the woods, felt private. There is a main floor bedroom with a double bed and lots of shelving in the room. The one bathroom is on the main level, compact but sufficient. The shower is really tiny, not a problem for us but may bother some. The main level has a small kitchenette with a microwave, apartment sized fridge with freezer, and two burners plus a toaster, kettle and coffee maker (but there is no coffee supplied, you need to bring your own). There is also a gas bbq on the deck. The kitchen has the basics for meals. The bathroom they don't supply anything so bring your own soap/shampoo etc. The upstairs had another bedroom with a single and a double bed. There was also a loft area with a pullout couch. The main level had a small living room with an additional pull out couch. Lots of sleeping options. As others have said the living area is a bit small, but we found some extra folding chairs in the bathroom utility closet so everyone had a seat. There is no wifi or tv in the cabins so bring your own games/books/music. There is free wifi and a large family room with a tv at the lodge that is a short walk down the hill. The lodge also has a pool and hot tub area you can use. When you check in, ask for firewood and they will deliver for a small fee. The electric heat works well but the wood stove makes it cozy. The hill was very close. We took the shuttle one of the days but driving is easy as well. Overall we loved the chalets. We would return in the future!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The lower numbered chalets are closer to the main lodge.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kerry H wrote a review Feb 2020
Middletown, Connecticut10 contributions12 helpful votes
Stayed 2 nights in Chalet #15. What fun to put our luggage in a sled and pull to our cottage. I had not investigaged what we were renting very well so all was such a pleasant surprise. It was a magical walk at night time down the path looking at the bright stars. The chalet was very clean and I wish I had brought some food to cook. So my tip for travelers is bring some food and some board games or cards. Our entertainment was the fire. Very peaceful!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Huttopia Marketing, Propriétaire at Horizon Hotel
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Good morning KerryH, Thank you for your excellent review! We are thrilled your time with us was so charming and awesome! We look forward to hosting you again soon for another experience! Have a beautiful day!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Powtime wrote a review Jan 2020
Indian River5 contributions1 helpful vote
Recent visit for a ski trip. Stayed several nights in a family room. I feel I got a real feel for the place Pros: very close to Mont Sutton, shuttle stop is close, ski lockers, excellent continental breakfast, discount on sutton tickets if needed, wifi was ok, very clean rooms and facilites, family room would work well for family of 4 (bunk bed for 2 in separate cove), pool and hot tub were clean. Restaurant and guest check-in staff were very pleasant and helpful. Cons: no in room mini fridge, very small hot tub (5 person limit and no children allowed in hot tub), icey switchback driveway (could have used some sanding/salt), pool/hot tub area was crowded - hotel and cabin guests using facilities. No tub in family room so if wanted to soak without the hassle of the hot tub, nope. For a ski room this place will work well.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Huttopia Marketing, Propriétaire at Horizon Hotel
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Good morning Powtime Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay at Hotel Horizon. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments on ours amenities and improvement are helpful to our upcoming guests. We look forward to hosting you again soon for another stay at Sutton. Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$118 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaQuebecSutton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Horizon Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Horizon Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Mont SUTTON (2.0 km), Parc d'environnement Naturel de Sutton (5.0 km), and Galerie Art Plus (2.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Horizon Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Horizon Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Horizon Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Horizon Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Pleasant Cafe, A L'Abordage Microbrasserie, and Microbrasserie Auberge Sutton Brouerie.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Horizon Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a sauna during their stay.
Does Horizon Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Horizon Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Is Horizon Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.