We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Horizon Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (51)
Dining (26)
Room & Suite (24)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 4 hotels in Sutton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Perched on the slopes of Mount Sutton, with the ski area just beyond, Hotel Horizon overlooks the full expanse of the surrounding valley - an optimal site with a spectacular panorama. Totally refurbished in the spirit of a mountain hotel of the Alps, Hotel Horizon in Sutton offers you a choice of 24 rooms decorated with natural wood. The restaurant welcomes you thursday to saturday evening in a friendly and warm atmosphere and offers a menu with reasonnable prices. After a great day outdoor, you will enjoy the heated indoor swimming-pool, a good book by the fire place or a game with you kids in the playroom. • Hotel Horizon : CITQ Établissement # 019585 Chalet H : CITQ Établissement # 279226
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Free breakfast
Hiking
Skiing
Banquet room
Wifi
Hot bath
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Tennis court
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French
86Reviews0Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 31
  • 30
  • 15
  • 6
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Viva A wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
A very nice hotel, friendly and welcoming staffs. My boss was here on a business trip but love all the details about the hotel from the new renovation, staffs and food. He loved everything about the hotel and he will surely be back with his family for vacation. Keep the good work Rafaela.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Huttopia Marketing, Propriétaire at Horizon Hotel
Responded 24 Oct 2023
Good morning 54vivaa, Thank you for your 5 stars and comment. We are happy to read your boss loved our hotel and facilities. We are looking forward him coming back or you visiting us! Regards, The management team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
dougdnh wrote a review Oct 2023
New Hampshire3306 contributions6 helpful votes
This is a somewhat quirky, but pleasant hotel. It is located on the scenic access road to the ski area. The view is jaw dropping in most of the rooms, particularly the dining room. The rooms, hallways and lobby all have knotty pine walls and simple modern furniture giving the whole hotel a rustic Scandinavian feel. Since the king rooms were full, we had a 'family' room, which had a queen bed in a somewhat small space, and a closet like bunk bed room, which I suspect kids would love. The room was clean and had plenty of wall hooks and lighting. The two headed shower was great. The indoor swimming pool was very nice - large, clean and heated, surrounded by slip proof wooden flooring. Just outside the pool room was a spacious outdoor deck with a hot tub and comfortable lounge chairs as well as an unusual sauna out in the trees. The breakfast was basically a large selection of baked goods (some were homemade), jams and sliced melons. Having breakfast out on the front deck overlooking a 180 degree view of the mountains was a high point of our stay. Like most hotels, there were some small negatives: Since the hotel was built into the side of a hill, parking was not that close to the rooms but a good walk away - you can unload at the lobby however. Not ideal for folks with mobility issues. Strangely, the rooms didn't have fridges. There was a tiny community refrigerator, microwave and washer/dryer available, but the refrigerator was far too small for the whole hotel. All in all, our stay at the Horizon was pleasant, and we would have no problem returning.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you have any perishables with you, bring a cooler.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Huttopia Marketing, Owner at Horizon Hotel
Responded 12 Oct 2023
Dear Doug, Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. It sounds like you had quite an interesting and enjoyable stay at the Horizon! The rustic,aesthetic and breathtaking views must have created a unique and memorable atmosphere. It's great to hear that despite a few minor inconveniences like the parking situation and absence of room fridges, you still had a pleasant experience overall. The amenities like the indoor pool, hot tub, and sauna in the trees sound like wonderful additions to the stay. Thank you for sharing your detailed review, and it's good to know that you'd be open to returning in the future. Your insights will undoubtedly be helpful for other potential guests considering a stay at the Horizon. See you soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Laura D wrote a review Oct 2023
Ayr, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
Had a great stay. The staff were all very friendly. Plenty of gluten free options. Bedroom was amazing. Think it was the bridal suite. Nice sea view. Lovely breakfast the next morning. Would thoroughly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Huttopia Marketing, Propriétaire at Horizon Hotel
Responded 10 Oct 2023
Hello Laura, We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with one of our partners, if in Sutton we have a beautiful view of the mountains around we do not have the chance to admire the sea ;) Kind regards The management team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Fabianobrennand wrote a review Jul 2022
Montreal, Canada72 contributions52 helpful votes
No real breakfast. Only breads, yogurt, bagels, croissants and butter. No eggs, no cheese, no bacon, nor other type of protein. I am really disappointed. The only thing that made me book this hotel was the "breakfast included" but I felt that I was scammed. I had to go to the supermarket to eat something more substantial.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Huttopia Sutton, General Manager at Horizon Hotel
Responded 30 Jul 2022
Good afternoon Fabianobrennand, Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on your experience with us. We are sorry to read you were not pleased with our breakfast. Our breakfast included in the room is a continental cold breakfast with as you said, bread, bagels, croissants, chocolate croissants, yogurt, fruits, cereals coffee and tea. Maybe what you were looking for was an American breakfast which includes animal proteins. We hope that you were able to enjoy the room and the facilities of our hotel, nonetheless and you spent a good time in Sutton. Best regards, The management team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Montreal Foodie 1957 wrote a review Jun 2022
16 contributions1 helpful vote
Minus 10 all the way. The STENCH in the room as we opened the door was absolutely overwhelming. By the way, the key card did not unlock the door when we first arrived to the room. We had to return to the reception desk. Believe me the walk was a long one from our room located at one end of hotel and the reception desk all the way to the opposite end. Moreover, I requested a room for handicapped so all this walking was strenuous. Mind you, there was a lift at the bottom of the 5 stairs leading to the rooms but no one could get it to work. Back to the stench, finally went to local IGA to buy some Febreeze! Don’t try to get any help after 6pm, the reception desk is closed. Should you have an emergency, you are told to use the phone at reception desk. How do I know this, I called the hotel when I couldn’t find anyone at the reception desk. How many hotels do you know that don’t have a phone in the room or an ironing board and iron. You guessed it, these items are not available here! I am telling you, run the other way when you see this place. Better sleeping in your car than to book a room here!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Go some where else.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Huttopia Sutton, General Manager at Horizon Hotel
Responded 25 Jun 2022
Good evening MontrealFoodie1957, Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your experience with us. We have taken good note of each point mentioned and thank you for them. We are a little surprised by your disappointment regarding the cleaning of the room as it is usually a point very appreciated by our guests. Our reception is open every day from 08:00 to 19:00, and from 08:00 to 21:00 on weekends, as you mentioned an emergency phone is also available 24 hours a day in the hotel lobby, we would have liked to have the possibility to help you with this inconvenience. An iron and ironing board are available at all times to guests in the laundry room. Despite this, we hope that you were still able to enjoy the beautiful natural setting of Sutton. Regards, The managment team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
George L wrote a review Jan 2022
3 contributions3 helpful votes
We cancelled our trip due to the Omicron wave and were still charged a cancellation fee. Brutal disrespect of customers. If this is how management treats its customers, I can only imagine their attitude towards guests. Will never go to this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Huttopia Sutton, General Manager at Horizon Hotel
Responded 17 Jan 2022
Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. Indeed, as indicated in our terms and conditions, in case of cancellation, a booking fee of 30$ is applied, and the rest is refunded. In your case, you paid the 30$ and were refunded the rest. If the cancellation is made because of a positive COVID result (with proof), we propose to our customers to receive a credit note with the amount of the stay, to be used on the current year. Rest assured, our clients are very well received by our staff, and have a great stay here. Kind regards, Vanessa O, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michelle & Rob wrote a review Jan 2022
2 contributions
We stayed in late December. The service was excellent. The rooms were really clean. All the staff super friendly and excellent. The food was excellent as well. We really appreciated how they navigated with the surprise covid measures put in place where they had to shut down the restaurant on New Years Eve Day and how when we left New Years Day, they had a bag prepared with food and drinks ready for us for our long car ride since they could not offer breakfast in their dining room. Merci infiniment pour tout! On reviendra, c’est sûr!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Huttopia Marketing, Propriétaire at Horizon Hotel
Responded 4 Jan 2022
Hello Michelle, We thank you warmly for your comment and above all a big thank you for your very kind words towards our team. It is true that the pandemic is sometimes difficult to manage but we are delighted that the measures taken pleased you. Our priority is the satisfaction of our customers, and we try to adapt as quickly as possible. We look forward to seeing you again at the Horizon Hotel. Vanessa O, Directrice
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Honest and fair reviews wrote a review Mar 2021
Toronto, Canada283 contributions83 helpful votes
This was supposed to be a fun little local getaway with my 2 young children (3 years old and 6 months old). The cabin is cute and it’s in a nice location in the woods. However, do not stay here if you want a comfortable nights sleep or if you don’t want to make your beds, undo the beds, wash your dishes, sweep the floors and take your garbage to the dump. Upon arrival, we had to make the beds, which is unacceptable, this is a hotel. This means everyone who stays here touches the bare pillows, mattress and duvet. That’s disgusting. We then read a note saying we had to undo the beds, wash the dishes, sweep the floors and take the trash to the dump or we would be charged. None of this information was stated prior to our booking. If I wanted to clean, I would of stayed home. Of course we did all of that because we didn’t want the charge but we have a toddler and a baby. The car was full so we had to hang the garbage out the window to the dump. Are you kidding me?
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Huttopia Marketing, Owner at Horizon Hotel
Responded 29 Mar 2021
Dear MissWorldTravel, I’m sorry to hear that you did not have a good sleep because the bed did not meet your expectations. We follow specific guild lines given to us by the authorities regarding the cleaning procedures. They recommend to avoid contacts with the linens as much as possible. That is why we have left the folded sheets on your bed. The chalets are a different experience than the hotel. We have room service at the hotel to clean up and pick up garbage everyday. The chalet experience is different, there is no room service as well as no wifi or TV. The chalet experience is met to disconnect in a natural environment while being fully autonomous. Just like most short term cottage rental, we ask a minimum from the visitors before they leave. That is why we expect our visitors to take the sheets off the beds, wash the dishes they have used (chalets are equipped with a dishwasher), take your garbage to the garbage area and sweep the floor. Thank you for your comprehension, we hope that you will visit Huttopia again here in Canada or in another site overseas. Wish you best in your next adventures!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sylvie T. wrote a review Mar 2021
2 contributions3 helpful votes
The rooms are clean but small and the hotel seem nice enough but due to covid-19 everything was kind of closed. What I would suggest is to improve the communication with the customers. You have no idea what you can do or can’t do and the answers are different from each member of the staff. Ex: can I borrow some games for my kids? One day is yes and the next day is no. It is overrated for the services given.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Huttopia Marketing, Owner at Horizon Hotel
Responded 29 Mar 2021
Good afternoon Syllet, Thank you for your comments about your stay. We are happy to know you enjoyed the room and our hotel overall. We regret the confusion made by the always changing government rules due to the Covid-19 situation. We are working on improving our communication between our services and communication between the reception and costumer. We hope to see you back at our place in the near future. Regards, The direction
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Margaret R wrote a review Mar 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Just spent 3 lovely nights at Hotel Horizon. Staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were nicely appointed, spotless and the beds were super comfy. The continental breakfast was delicious -featuring locally made pastries , bagels, breads and jams. Eggs and other extras are available for a modest fee. We also enjoyed two dinners in the Bistro - the Raclette dinner was extra delicious. Great pool and hot tub. Hotel is 2 minutes by car from the ski hill. Will definitely return again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sutton area.
PRICE RANGE
₹10,612 - ₹12,617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaQuebecSutton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HORIZON HOTEL (Sutton, Quebec) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Horizon Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Horizon Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Mont SUTTON (2.0 km), Parc d'environnement Naturel de Sutton (3.1 km), and Galerie Art Plus (2.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Horizon Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Horizon Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Horizon Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Horizon Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Pleasant Cafe, Microbrasserie Auberge Sutton Brouerie, and A L'Abordage Microbrasserie.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Horizon Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Does Horizon Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Horizon Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Is Horizon Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.