Auberge Handfield Et Spa

Auberge Handfield Et Spa

555 Richelieu, Saint Marc sur Richelieu, Quebec J0L 2E0 Canada
Auberge Handfield
Traveller (245)
Room & Suite (80)
Salon de l'Auberge
Dining (22)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 2 hotels in Saint Marc sur Richelieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Vous êtes à la recherche d'une ambiance familial et d'un éventail de services tous conçus pour optimiser et agrémenter votre séjour à Saint Marc sur Richelieu? Alors l'Auberge Handfield Et Spa vous apportera entière satisfaction. Vous profiterez de chambres relaxantes équipées d'une climatisation et d'un bureau, et pourrez rester connecté(e) pendant votre séjour car l'Auberge Handfield Et Spa propose un wi-fi gratuit. L'hôtel dispose d'un journal. De plus, dans l'Auberge Handfield Et Spa on peut bien profiter de la piscine chauffée en période estivale et du déjeuner compris, offrant un endroit plaisant pour relaxer après une journée achalandée. Un stationnement gratuit est disponible pour les clients ayant une auto. Vous souhaitez explorer les zones avoisinantes ? Partez à la découverte de l'Église Saint-Marc (0,4 km), une attraction populaire de Saint Marc sur Richelieu située à deux pas de l'hôtel. Profitez bien de votre séjour à Saint Marc sur Richelieu!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle tours
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French
501Reviews2Q+A22Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 286
  • 148
  • 42
  • 16
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Scott B wrote a review Jul 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I must say that I was surprised to say the least. The Inn was quaint but the rooms were well appointed with great views of the marina. Beds were comfortable and having a balcony to look out at the water was very calming. The spa hadn't yet opened and the bistro either but all the staff we encountered were both courteous and polite and were comfortable in either English or French.

I would definitely think about a stay here again with my partner!

Merci beaucoup!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Water view is a must!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Réception Accueil, Services aux clients/réception at Auberge Handfield Et Spa
Responded 7 Jul 2022
Hello dear guest, First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to read that your stay lived up to your expectations and that you enjoyed the room and the balcony with a view on the river. Rest assured that your lovely comments will be shared with the entire Auberge Handfield team and will be highly appreciated. We are looking forward to welcome you again among us! King regards, Océanne – Front Desk
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anthony S wrote a review Feb 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Quaint and cute inn outside of the city, provides a peaceful weekend getaway for couples.

Upon arrival reception staff were courteous and polite, explaining the layout of the inn and directions to our room very well. The room itself was clean and spacious with a view of the river (there is a balcony, but being the winter we did not go out on it). The queen bed was comfortable as well.

We had also dined at the on-site restaurant where we enjoyed a delicious meal. Food was tasty and fresh, and the rustic decor made it for a very enjoyable experience. Breakfast was also included in our package and it was just as good as the dinner service. Wait staff were polite and attentive so no complaints dining on site.

Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay at Auberge Handfield and would highly recommend it to those seeking a quiet getaway from the city.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alphonse D wrote a review Dec 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were very well received. the room was clean and comfortable. the restaurant was excellent.
The view on the river was pleasant.
The bathroom was clean with heated floors.
The restaurant staff were very accommodating considering my allergies. It had a great menu.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: I only stayed in one room, 1st floor at the end and it was very comfortable and had a view of the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Réception Handfield, Services aux clients/réception at Auberge Handfield Et Spa
Responded 27 Dec 2021
Dear Guest, First and formost we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very excited to hear that you enjoyed both your room stay and that the restaurant fulfilled your expectation. We are especially excited to hear that you chose to be with us on such an amazing time of year. We certainly look forward in seeing you again in the near future and may your holiday season be filled with joy. Wishing you from all of us here at l'Auberge Handfield a great new year! kind refgards, Laurie front desk
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rabih t wrote a review Jul 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
They changed their after checkout policy, and once checked out, you can’t stay on the premises anymore to enjoy the pool, jacuzzi, spa or any other amenities.

It was our 4th year in a row and Auberge Handfield and to find out at 11 am, after spending the night, that you are basically being kicked out, without any prior notice of such a big change in policy, which is also highly unusual of a policy for the industry, was extremely unsatisfactory.

We always stayed until the late afternoon to enjoy a snack or meal by the pool, after checkout, as our last day activity, but this was nonsensical and required a low review.

Their reasoning was that they had a lot of other customers that came to the marina docks and couldn’t keep clients past checkout … although the pool and the lounging premises were completely empty.

It was sad to be told that since check out, you aren’t considered a customer anymore and they prioritise potential marina customers over you.

Anyhow, Auberge Handfield felt like a traditional escapade for my wife and I, but this fourth year in a row will unfortunately be our last.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Réception Handfield, Services aux clients/réception at Auberge Handfield Et Spa
Responded 30 Jul 2023
Dear Client, First and foremost allow us to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to read that your stay in St-Marc hasn't been up to your expectations. Unfortunately due to other complaints, we had to change this summer our policy regarding the access to the spa and pool amenities. We have taken note of comment and will share your experience to the Direction of the Auberge. Kind regards, Elizabeth – Front Desk
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lindak54 wrote a review Jun 2023
Montreal, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The terrace is old and can really use a refresh, the plastic tablecloth had a cigarette burn in it and was not changed for new customers

The food was nice, overpriced and small portions compared to every other restaurant that served that same meal.

Sangria, nice but mediocre.

Truly disappointing as the beautiful indoor ancestral restaurant is beautiful.

Hopefully different chefs
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pick a table without a burn hole in it You can’t see the river as the banister is at eye...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Globalguy wrote a review Jul 2021
Chelsea, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
On the plus side is location. Right on the river with a view of the marina.
Normally, the dining room of the main Inn should be a plus but due to Covid only the marina terrace and bar menu is available.

On the not so good side: noise from the road, comfort of the bed and amenities are limited.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Réception Accueil, Services aux clients/réception at Auberge Handfield Et Spa
Responded 16 Jul 2021
Hi, First and foremost allow us to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to read that your stay in St-Marc hasn't been up to your expectations. Allow us to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the noise and the comfort of your bed. Rest assured that your comments about the amenities will be shared with the team and will be a part of a discussion as a motivation to improve our services. We truly hope to have an opportunity to host you again in the future. Kind regards, Elizabeth
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eric P wrote a review Oct 2023
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice room with good beds and great view of the river.
Good breakfast in the cosy restaurant. With fresh fruits, freshly baked eggs and a diversity of breads. We had to cross a busy road to reach our room.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Réception Handfield, Services aux clients/réception at Auberge Handfield Et Spa
Responded 11 Jan 2024
Hello, First and foremost, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We thank you for having selected us as home port on the Richelieu river and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Best regards, Chloe, Reception
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ombrelle wrote a review Apr 2022
Montreal, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We are currently staying here , april 23. Not one chair available to sit outside on the side of the river. All is still put away for the winter. They refused to find us some chairs. It’s a beautiful sunny day and we can’t enjoy it.

Restaurant closes early for diner. Last sitting was at 7pm. Breakfast hours are between 8 and 9. So no sleeping in late.

Breakfast was good. Room comfy..

Disappointing stay for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Réception Handfield, Services aux clients/réception at Auberge Handfield Et Spa
Responded 24 Apr 2022
Hello dear customer, First and foremost, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sincerely sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. April is always a very uncertain month in terms of weather. We therefore prefer to wait until the first week of May before taking out the equipment for the summer season. However, we hope that the chairs that were provided to you in the afternoon allowed you to take advantage of the nice weather on Saturday. Also, regarding the closing hours of the restaurant, it is mainly because of the sugaring-off season which took place, exceptionally this year, at the Auberge Handfield directly. Usually, breakfast is served between 8 a.m. and 11 a.m. and dinner between 5 p.m. and 9 p.m. We are still hoping to have the chance to redeem ourselves to you during another stay. Best Regards, Océanne Reception
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacques D wrote a review Oct 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Only stayed one night but would have required a few nights more. Well appointed rooms with a view of the river and mountain from our balcony. Friendly service. We bought a package with dinner and breakfast. Enjoyed the quality of the cuisine. Close to many activities in a wonderful region. Not far from Montreal.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Réception Handfield, Services aux clients/réception at Auberge Handfield Et Spa
Responded 18 Oct 2021
Dear guest, First and foremost, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are more than delighted to read that your stay lived up to your expectations and that the view from the riverside room, the service provided by our staff as well as the cuisine from our Ancestral Restaurant stood out. Rest assured that your review will be shared with the whole team as it is a great source of motivation for everyone. We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay! Kind regards, Juliette Front Desk
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Farnaz E wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very clean. Good price for the value. The dinner at their sugar shack, buffet break fast, lake view and hot tub were in their perfection. With the smaller kids during the winter, you don't have much activity though. We are planning to return back in the summer. Hope my toddler can enjoy their out door pool.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Julie Melançon, Commercialisation at Auberge Handfield Et Spa
Responded 2 Jul 2020
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to read that your stay with us concluded on such a positive note. Hoping to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Best regards. Océanne
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gloria17689 asked a question Jul 2019
Ontario, Canada1 contribution
What spa services are offered and what are prices?
Answer from magic004
Ottawa, Canada12 contributions7 helpful votes
I am not sure exactly what is offered as my wife and I were there for one night only and did not check out the spa. I do recall seeing the services they offer on their website so you might be able to check them out that way. If not, just call them as they are really helpful.
Saint Marc sur Richelieu, Canada
Bonjour Madame Raymonde, Nous vous remercions de l'intérêt manifesté envers l'Auberge Handfield. Suite à votre demande, nous vous invitons à communiquer avec nous directement au 450-584-2226 afin que nous puissions vous acheminer les directives nécessaires. Au Plaisir! Sincèrement, Elizabeth - Réception
Lindak54 wrote a tip Jun 2023
Montreal, Canada189 contributions91 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pick a table without a burn hole in it You can’t see the river as the banister is at eye level. Foliage from the river was on my table"
Read full review
Scott B wrote a tip Jul 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Water view is a must!"
Read full review
Alphonse D wrote a tip Dec 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I only stayed in one room, 1st floor at the end and it was very comfortable and had a view of the river."
Read full review
Katherine B wrote a tip Feb 2020
Corinth, Vermont3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room on the river side with a view if available"
Read full review
Paulyo83 wrote a tip Oct 2019
Whitehorse, Canada101 contributions64 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask for waterfront."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Saint Marc sur Richelieu area.
PRICE RANGE
₹10,857 - ₹12,110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaQuebecSaint Marc sur Richelieu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AUBERGE HANDFIELD ET SPA (Saint Marc sur Richelieu) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Auberge Handfield Et Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Auberge Handfield Et Spa?
Nearby attractions include SH Karting (4.0 km), Église Saint-Marc (0.4 km), and Église St-Charles (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Auberge Handfield Et Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Auberge Handfield Et Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Auberge Handfield Et Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Auberge Handfield Et Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Auberge Handfield Et Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Grange d'Apollo, Les Espaces Gourmands, and Auberge Handfield.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Auberge Handfield Et Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Is Auberge Handfield Et Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Saint Marc sur Richelieu.
Does Auberge Handfield Et Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Auberge Handfield Et Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Auberge Handfield Et Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Église Saint-Marc (0.4 km).
All Saint Marc sur Richelieu HotelsSaint Marc sur Richelieu Hotel DealsHotels near Auberge Handfield Et Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire