We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
700 rue Ripplecove, Ayer's Cliff, Quebec J0B 1C0 Canada
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$346
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/09/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
$365
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/09/22
Trip.com
$310
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/09/22
Hotels.com$365
Expedia.com$365
Prestigia.com$400
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (459)
Room & Suite (82)
Dining (52)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2022 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
Situated only 75 minutes from Montreal and 15 minutes from Vermont, Ripplecove Hotel & Spa enjoys the regions premier location on a private 12 acre peninsula on Lake Massawippi, Quebec. Established in 1945, the family run luxury resort has consistently been awarded top honours as one of Canada’s finest hotels. Currently rated as a 5 Star hotel by the Quebec Ministry of Tourism and recipient of a double 4 Diamond Award for both its refined cuisine and luxurious accommodations, Ripplecove Hotel & Spa is simply one of Canada’s finest lakeside resort hotels. This exceptional hotel offers 32 luxury rooms, suites and cottages, most with lake view, fireplace and private lakeside balcony. All accommodations are individually designer decorated and offer luxurious country estate comfort in a pristine rural lakeside setting. Choose from an array of outdoor activities no matter what the season. Tennis, boating, heated outdoor pool, hot tub, bicycles; snow shoeing, skating and ice fishing are all offered on site. Nearby activities include 12 golf courses, summer theatre, shopping and farmers markets, vineyards and the internationally acclaimed “Foresta Lumina” a night-illuminated pathway and pedestrian suspension bridge located nearby at the Coaticook Gorge. If total relaxation is the order of the day, escape to Ripplecove’s Arboressence Spa, for a full range of Spa services using the internationally renowned organic Eminence Spa products. Nestled under 200 year old pine trees on the shores of Lake Massawippi, the Arboressence Spa offers the perfect setting to de-stress, detox and relax surrounded by nature. We hope to have the pleasure of giving you a warm welcome soon! CITQ - Établissement hôtelier - Hotel Establishment : 018174 CITQ - Résidences de tourisme - Tourist Homes : 296830
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Canoeing
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Tennis court
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French
645Reviews8Q+A90Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 415
  • 133
  • 61
  • 27
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Antoine L wrote a review 10 Sep
Levis, Canada18 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
Great place. Very clean. We stay on the groundfloor of the building built in 10-2021. We had a suits but there wasn’t any freestanding bathtub. A bit disappointed for the price of the room. Also i think the should clean the front of the outside patio…. Other than that, the restaurant Le Riverain qas excellent (both for dinner and breakfast). We used the fatbike, pool, hot tubs on the rook and the paddler board. Nice experience for our 6th wed anniversary. This hotel is missing just a few thing to be top notch, considering the price All and all we are satisfied and had a nice 2 nights !!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roxanne Blais, Ventes at Ripplecove Hotel &Spa
Responded 1 week ago
We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience with our hotel. We are pleased to know that you liked your suite, the food and the amenities. For the bathtub, depending of the suite, some have only shower and some have both shower and freestanding bathtub depending of the reservation. If you are planning to come visit us again, we suggest that you'll ask at the Front Desk to give you a suite that does have one. Thank you again so much for choosing the Ripplecove for your special day. We hope we will have te pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
M&A2012 wrote a review 7 Sep
Toronto, Canada686 contributions161 helpful votes
+1
We stayed for 2 nights in a prestige suite with two separate bedrooms, a fireplace in the living area, a ground floor patio right on the lakefront, and a well- equipped kitchen. One bedroom was large with a king bed, and the other a small room not much larger than the queen bed - both had their own flat-screen TV. There was one bathroom with stand-up shower, long countertop with single sink, and stacked full-size washer and dryer. The living area / kitchen space had a small table with 2 dining chairs, plus 2 easy chairs (oddly, there was no sofa/couch). The kitchenette had a fridge and freezer, mini dishwasher, Nespresso machine, and appeared well equipped for cooking. The patio had a super comfortable lounger plus 4-seat dining set. The entire building and the room seemed very new and thus immaculately clean. We loved the rooftop terrace with all of its separate lounge areas, each with their own fire pit, and two jacuzzis. The pool is lovely, with a view of the lake and a cabana with washrooms and shower. We ate twice at the Riverain restaurant and each time it was excellent, with fantastic service. The terrace, right on the lake, is a great spot. Ayer’s Cliff itself is very small, with the village laid out on one main road. We preferred the very charming North Hatley, which is a short and scenic 29-min drive to the other end of the lake. Overall this resort is very well laid out for relaxation and enjoyment and I’d totally recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roxanne Blais, Ventes at Ripplecove Hotel &Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us ! We are very pleased to know that you liked your suite and our different amenities. We are looking forward to welcoming you back !
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael P wrote a review Aug 2022
Miami Lakes, Florida55 contributions54 helpful votes
We went for the big deal package, including a high end room, plus dinner and breakfast. Each aspect was terrific. Frankly, I hate to miss a chance to complain about at least something, but all I can remember is how much we enjoyed our stay, the meals, the view, all of it. The staff was always responsive and helpful, the service during dinner and breakfast was completely professional. Truly a wonderful experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Try to eat at the restaurant, the experience was elegant.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roxanne Blais, Ventes at Ripplecove Hotel &Spa
Responded 17 Aug 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful experience with us. We are very pleased to have been able to make a difference to our staff and that you have enjoyed the food and the view. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachel S wrote a review Aug 2022
Montreal, Canada78 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
My husband and I absolutely loved our stay at Ripplecove Hotel & Spa!! We stayed in one of the new suites, which was very spacious, immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. The bed was SO COMFORTABLE, and the shower was great too. We loved our room’s private balcony where we enjoyed drinks in the evening, and breakfast in the morning. It was also a great spot for watching the ducks and beavers swimming in the lake. The grounds around the hotel and pool are beautiful, and the setting on Lake Massawippi is very tranquil. We had so much fun playing on the stand up paddle boards. Dinner and breakfast from the restaurant (Le Riverain) were both excellent too. 10/10 we loved our visit, and look forward to returning again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roxanne Blais, Ventes at Ripplecove Hotel &Spa
Responded 8 Aug 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us! We will share your comment to the restaurant team that will be thrilled to know that their cuisine was up to your expectations. Looking forward to see you again !
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AliK wrote a review Jul 2022
14 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Our stay at Ripplecove was way too short and I hate the idea of leaving this tranquil paradise tomorrow! What a wonderful experience from start to finish. It’s the perfect place for a romantic getaway, to connect with friends, have a spa escape, or bring the family to enjoy time surrounded by nature. We stayed in a regular room in the older part of the building - think old-fashioned country manor charm with narrow hallways, patterned carpet and flowered wallpaper. But everything is bright and well maintained, with quality amenities, comfy beds and nice linens. If sleek and modern is more your style, opt for a suite in the newer section of the building. Many come with private terraces and beautiful lake views, and some have full kitchens - if our teens had come with us we would have chosen this option. If accessibility is an issue then the newer building is much more suitable. The original building has lots of stairs, as does access to the boat dock / beach area. The pool deck is accessible but the pool entry is by ladder, not stairs, which could be an issue for some. The pool area is nicely landscaped with large seating areas, plenty of lounge chairs and a few large round padded beds with canopies. Towels are provided poolside and the nearby bathroom was always sparkling clean. It was never crowded or noisy during our mid-week stay. The water activities are located next to a large floating dock with Adirondack chairs - the perfect place to have a morning coffee. Single and tandem kayaks, paddle boards, pedal boats and life jacks are plentiful and available on a self-serve basis. The dock has a ladder for those who wish to swim in the lake - it’s refreshing but not cold. Kayaking at sunset on the glassy calm lake was a highlight. There are wooded paths to explore on bike or on foot, large comfy hammocks and Adirondack chairs on the lawn, another large dock with chairs in front of the restaurant and bar terrace and - my favourite part of all - a spectacular rooftop patio. Located on top of the newer wing, the huge patio has stunning views of the lake, huge seating areas with numerous comfy couches and fire tables, lounge tables, canopy beds, and two hot tubs. A perfect place to enjoy your morning coffee, soak up the sun or stargaze st night. The new building also houses the gym on the ground floor. It looks well equipped but we prefer outdoor activities when weather permits, so didn’t use it. The bar / lounge has a cozy hunting lodge feel and a lovely lakeside terrace with comfy furniture and fire tables. We opted for the breakfast included package and it was well worth it with a wide range of choices beautifully prepared and served on the lakefront terrace. The lunch and dinner menu are on the gourmet side, both offering wise and price wise. With only a two night stay we opted to venture into Ayer’s Cliff and North Hatley to try some of the other local establishments, but I’m sure the rest of the meals at Ripplecove are st least as good as the breakfast. We Service in the restaurant and throughout the resort was polite, professional and discreet. Most of the staff we encountered are francophone but very comfortable providing service in English as well as French. For local recommendations try Woods in Ayer’s Cliff for burgers, hot dogs, poutine, and ice cream. Pilsen pub in North Hatley has a superb riverfront location, delicious menu with locally sourced ingredients. and fast, friendly service. We did not try the spa, so I can’t comment on it. A few other notes - I was pleasantly surprised to see multiple EV chargers on site. Most properties have only one or two, if any. As mentioned prominently in the hotel website, there is currently some significant construction happening during the day. The noise was most audible from the pool area and somewhat less by the boat dock, but not overwhelming to us, a minor distraction at best, but something to be aware of. It was not noticeable from the dock area in front of the restaurant and the rooftop deck. Long story short, we hate to leave and can’t wait to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Roxanne Blais, Ventes at Ripplecove Hotel &Spa
Responded 2 Aug 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience with us ! We are so glad that your liked your vacation and that you enjoyed the calm and the atmosphere of our hotel as well as other of our facilities. We will share your comment with our staff which will be delight to learn that their participation has helped you create even more memorable memories. Looking forward to see you again very soon,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark O wrote a review Jul 2022
Puerto vallarta3 contributions
Mr Roy hosted us for an exceptional evening of amazing food and ambiance … Merci The whole team led by Mr Roy were outstanding ! Looking forward to another visit soon I hope. The renovations and outside terrace was well appointed / the overall experience was a 10/10.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roxanne Blais, Ventes at Ripplecove Hotel &Spa
Responded 2 Aug 2022
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your appreciation with our Mark Institution. We are always delighted to learn that we have been able to meet our customers' expectations. Your comment will be sent to Mr Roy who will certainly be delighted to learn that it has made your experience even more memorable. We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelly C wrote a review Jul 2022
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts4 contributions
We had a one night stay at Ripplecove, on our way to Quebec City. We were greeted with such hospitality. Our dinner was outside on the deck with a scenic lake view. Mr. Roy made our night so special. From the meal to wine suggestions, we had an unforgettable time.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angélique Directrice Expérience Client- Guest Experience Manager, Services aux clients/réception at Ripplecove Hotel &Spa
Responded 15 Jul 2022
Thank you so very much for choosing our hotel as your stop over. We are so pleased to hear your wonderful comments that will be shared with the rest of the hotel. Please do come back for another stay. We look forward to it.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wendy B wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
We visited the Ripplecove Hotel and Spa for a two night stay in July. We stayed in their brand new building which has beautifully appointed guest rooms with fabulous lake views. The furniture, fixtures, and equipment in these units was beautifully thought out and very high quality. The restaurant is expensive, but the service, food, and lakeside seating really makes eating at Ripplecove a memorable experience. All the facilities at this place have been recently upgraded. It is impressive.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angélique Directrice Expérience Client- Guest Experience Manager, Services aux clients/réception at Ripplecove Hotel &Spa
Responded 13 Jul 2022
Thank you very much for your recent stay. We are very pleased that all our recent efforts and investments meet your needs and expectations. Please do stay tuned for more improvements to make your stay even more enjoyable.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen A wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed in the new building with a glorious view of the lake. The accommodations are modern and comfortable, with full kitchen in our suite. Even though the exercise equipment is new, it is very limited and not well maintained. The adjustments on both stationary bikes were not working during my stay. There are no weight machines and a very limited number of free weights. There are no windows that open and the temperature was set to 79.5 F degrees, when the outside temp was 65-- too hot for aerobics. The pool is small, not good for lap swimming and doesn't open until 9am, which makes lap swimming even more challenging. There are complimentary bikes but they are electric, so bike workout also less than optimal.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Roxanne Blais, Ventes at Ripplecove Hotel &Spa
Responded 4 Jul 2022
Thanks for sharing your positive experience with our hotel. As for the exercise equipment, it is indeed very new. We are currently implementing new maintenance protocols. Despite this situation and the labor shortage that does not help, we are gradually implementing these measures. In any case, you are providing excellent improvement points. We will look to improve conditions relative to temperature, available weights and we will double-check stationary bikes to see if they are working well. Thank you to have bring these point to our attention ! Looking forward to see you again,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
traveljane wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
First the positives. The room and other facilities were clean and well kept. We each had one bad meal out of 2 nights dining. #1 Duck that was so tough it could not be easily cut with a steak knife and #2 Halibut that was tasteless. We let the servers know each time and although they appeared sympathetic, nothing was done to make things right. What really bothered me was that about half the items on the menu were subject to extra charges for those of us who had bought the "all inclusive package." For example, $10 extra for the steak, $5 extra for the chocolate dessert. This seemed very miserly considering the cost of the hotel and the inclusive package. These extra charges significantly cut down on the food choices offered as part of the "inclusive" package. Also, they were "out of" iced tea both days and one day we were told it would take too long to make a glass. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone unless they correct the dining situation and eliminate the ridiculous extra charges.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roxanne Blais, Ventes at Ripplecove Hotel &Spa
Responded 27 Jun 2022
Hello sir, First of all, thank you for sharing your experience and constructive feedback. As for the dining room, our service team received your comments about the duck and halibut and offered to change the dishes. However, it appears that you have rejected both this change and the other offer of wine or a digestive as compensation. Additional charges are listed in the Host Table Menu and always mentioned by the team at the table. It is clear that you were aware of the additional charges when you made your choices. There are no hidden charges in All-Inclusive Packages. There was indeed a shortage of iced tea. We did, however, make you an iced tea infusion (which takes a while) on both nights. In any case, please accept our apologies for any confusion or misunderstanding. If there is anything we could have done better, please let us know. If you have suggestions for how we can improve our services, we're always open to them. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$182 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
auberge ripplecove hotel ayer`s cliff, auberge ripplecove and spa
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Auberge Ripplecove & Spa
LOCATION
CanadaQuebecAyer's Cliff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
69
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ripplecove Hotel &Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Ripplecove Hotel &Spa?
Nearby attractions include La Pinte (1.0 km), Verger familial CR (7.6 km), and Centre Jardin Dansereau (2.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ripplecove Hotel &Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Ripplecove Hotel &Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Ripplecove Hotel &Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Ripplecove Hotel &Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ripplecove Hotel &Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wood's Snack Bar, Minton, and Le Riverain Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ripplecove Hotel &Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Ripplecove Hotel &Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Ayer's Cliff.
Does Ripplecove Hotel &Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ripplecove Hotel &Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Ripplecove Hotel &Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Saint_Patrice (13.0 km).