We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sherwood Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

296 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sherwood Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 296: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 10 October 2014

Sherwood Inn continues to be our favourite place in the world. We visit in early summer before the season gears up and in Fall when the season is winding down. We've never been able to visit in the summer, but I suspect it's still peaceful even if a little busier. Despite the temperatures not being quite as hot as the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NorthTDot
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review

Dear North TDot, Wow! Thank you!! What a positive account of your annual fall get away to the Sherwood Inn. I was so very pleased to read that we didn't disappoint in any aspects of your "home coming" it is very humbling to be compared to such iconic places as Rome, Florence, Mykonos and Barcelona and clearly we are doing...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 10 October 2014

My wife and I got away on a two-night mini-holiday and took advantage of the Romance Package. She has some food allergies, and Connie at the front desk conveyed my wife's needs to Chef Everett Bell, who was kind enough to leave his duties in the kitchen to inquire as to the kinds of food she could tolerate. The next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TorontoND
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review

Dear Toronto ND, I was so very pleased to read that your mini vacation on our Romance package was such a sounding success. I was happy to learn that you found our staff accommodating and eager to anticipate and deliver to all your needs; particularly Chefs Everett and Melissa as well as Jackson and Connie and I have personally accolades...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 25 September 2014

Just enjoyed an exclusive weekend wedding here which was a great success. The food is excellent, even when serving 100 people banquet style. However, the resort is tired and the housekeeping extremely poor. Carpets were dirty, towels were frayed and sheets pilled. Have spoken with the Gen Manager he assures me new housekeeping checks and balances are coming. Too late,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chlew
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review

Dear CHLEW Thank you for filling out a review following your daughters exclusive use wedding at our resort. As discussed before, we really appreciated your business and having had the opportunity to contribute towards a successful wedding weekend. You are correct in your statement that our business is all about details and more details, and I was sorry to read...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 17 September 2014

My wife and I were married at Sherwood in 2010. We returned this past weekend with our 3 month old son as guests for another wedding, and stayed an extra day just to bask in the joys the Inn offers. We spent the last night at the spectacular Robinwood Cabin, with a private dock and a fireplace which was already...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danny F
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review

Dear Danny F, Thank you for your raving review following your recent weekend wedding stay with us. It was a pleasure to read that your 'home coming" was such a positive one and that the resorts amenities, cuisine,service and staff/guests interactions were all a pleasant experience for you, your wife and child. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome...

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 11 September 2014

Booked a Maplewood Premium room for 2 nights for a golf getaway with friends. Stayed in room 514 overlooking the lake. What a disappointment! View was obstructed by trees, carpet was terribly stained (did not want to walk around barefooted), shower was cramped but worse bottom of shower door was moldy, cobwebs in corners of room. Despite the state of...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Lynda B
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lynda B, Thank you for writing a review following your two night stay with us. I was sorry to learn that you had such a negative one and would like to extend my apologies to your negative experiences with both your room and dinner in our dining room. My chef Everett has already reached out to you to follow...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 8 September 2014

Booked here for 2 night getaway with hubby. Booked a Maplewood Premium room so we had a view of the lake. It was pretty, but not sure I would spend the money on the Premium again as we really enjoyed sitting right by the water more than on the balcony. Food and service were fabulous the first night. The second...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 155004Sandy
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review

Dear sandy115004, Thank you for writing a review following your 2 night stay with us detailing all your positive experiences with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the cuisine at dinner and both lunches. I am sorry that your wine selection at dinner was delayed in delivery to your table in a timely fashion. Thank you for...

Toronto, Ontario Canada
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We spent Friday and Saturday here during the long weekend. We stayed in the main lodge of the Inn because 2 years ago we spent it there and had their largest room which was beautiful. This time the room was a bit smaller, but still very nice - the beds and linens are so soft. The only thing lacking was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JoanneV095
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review

Dear JoanneV095, Thank you for writing a review following your September stay with us at the resort. I was happy to learn that your overall stay was a positive one, and glad to read that you had returned to us following your previous visit. Thank you for bringing the vanity space issue to our attention. We have added a glass...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Came here for a family wedding. Very cool to have the whole place to ourselves for a private event. The grounds are lovely. The restaurant servers were awesome, 2 young brothers worked the whole weekend and remembered most guests names. The food was ok, rooms in the main lodge are pretty basic, cosy. The cabins are huge, a little outdated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lindzneilson
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review

dear linzneilson, Thank you for your comments following your stay with us during one of our many exclusive use wedding private events at our resort. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and your "rustic cottage" at our resort as well as our food and service and particularly the brother team of Nicolas and Jackson. Our exclusive...

Brantford, Canada
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We were part of an overnight cruise to Sherwood Inn on the Muskoka Lake steamer. On the final leg of our cruise to Lake Joseph, Sherwood Inn staff came aboard to greet us, and give us our room assignment plus book our dinner reservations. We arrived at 6:00 sharp (as scheduled), and just as we docked the skies opened. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelBUG1953
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review

Dear Travelbug1953, Thank you for your raving review following your overnight cruise to our resort aboard the Wenonah 2. I was pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and had the opportunity to enjoy everything that our resort had to offer. It is nice to see that the efforts of my staff get recognized as they...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights as part of a two week stay in Ontario, aiming to relax after a busy time in Toronto. We certainly managed that, staying in a lovely part of Muskoka. The hotel is perhaps 6 or 8 minutes drive from Port Carling and ideally suited to exploring Lakes Joseph, Rousseu and Muskoka. We couldn't fault...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mostly
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mostly Edinburg, Tnank you for completing a detailed review following your 5 night stay with us in an inn room at the resort. I was pleased to read about your overall pleasant experience during your stay. Thank you for bringing your noise concern to our attention as well as the curtness of some of our reception staff. We have...

628 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (67)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (277)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Beach (9)
Viewed
Edgewood Cottage (29)
Viewed
King Maplewood Deluxe (30)
Viewed
King Room (Lakeview) (26)
Viewed
Premium Inn King Suite (28)
Viewed
Premium Inn Queen (24)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Robinwood Cottage (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (207)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (101)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Carling
28.9 km away
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
7.1 km away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
27.0 km away
Taboo Muskoka Resort
Taboo Muskoka Resort
#3 of 8 in Gravenhurst
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
33.9 km away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
163 reviews
34.1 km away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled among towering century-old pines at the very edge of Muskoka's sparkling Lake Joseph, Sherwood Inn is a retreat unlike any other. Our charming, authentically Muskoka Inn has 49 rooms and cottages with over 80% of our rooms facing Lake Joseph. We offer a unique and memorable experience for every guest looking to escape to Muskoka. We are well known for our fine cuisine, fine wine selections and superior service. Book a memory filled conference/meeting/retreat/reunion. Golf at two of ClubLink's championship courses - Lake Joseph Club or Rocky Crest Golf Club (just a 15 minute drive.) Among the most authentic Ontario Inns, each guestroom and cottage suite at the Sherwood Inn is decorated to reflect the traditional character of Muskoka, and is complete with every modern convenience you would expect. Many rooms feature cozy wood-burning fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. Open year round for groups, 7 days a week May through October and weekends only November to April. Sherwood Inn guests can enjoy abundant on-site activities as well many Port Carling Attractions. Visitors to our elegant Inn at Lake Joseph experience gracious hospitality, luxurious pampering, and absolute tranquility. Plan a relaxing getaway today and experience life at one of the most majestic Ontario Inns. Find out why we say...visit us once, love us forever! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sherwood Inn

Address: 1090 Sherwood Rd, Port Carling, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Carling
Price Range: ₹ 7,264 - ₹ 10,250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Sherwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Sherwood Hotel Port Carling
Delta Port Carling
Port Carling Delta
Sherwood Inn Port Carling, Muskoka District, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sherwood Inn staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada
Mississauga, Canada
2 months ago
Cleveland, Ohio
over a year ago
Chatham, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Sherwood Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“main building if you have mobility issues”
 of 5 bubbles Forestree, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Maplewood building lake side is both private and have a great view.”
  • Lake view
  • Lake view
 of 5 bubbles Fraze11, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Contact the hotel to make sure you get what you are looking for, as there are a number of buildings on site.”
 of 5 bubbles aspyn2003, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Chose either a Cottage or a room in the actual Inn.”
 of 5 bubbles BreezeRidge3, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“There is no elevator in the main lodge but staff are always available to help with your luggage, etc.”
 of 5 bubbles 613travelstheworld, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay