We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Driftwood Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Driftwood Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Start your review of The Driftwood Inn
 Click to rate
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's an old motel. It's expensive for what you get, but your paying for the location and there is not much competition. We needed a one night stay and many B&B's wanted multi-night stays. It was clean, Pebbles (the restaurant) has the view of the ocean and there are three upstairs rooms with ocean views at a premium m price....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rockmotordad
Fort Langley, Canada
Reviewed 9 March 2017

What I would expect from a Motel. nothing fancy, friendly front desk person. Walked a bit along the ocean at night was refreshing. Did not see much of the surrounding area in daylight, so nothing to report on that. If in the area again, I would stay there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kylebenn
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Super position on the seafront, hotel replaced the town founders house which was turned into an inn, but unfortunately burnt down in 1964. Hotel is more like a motel, it serves its purpose for short stays and my room was comfortable however not sound proof.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heypresto9
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 3 December 2016

I'm not a huge fan of motels, but Driftwood is OK. Our car broke down and we had to get a room last minute, so we were glad to find anything at all. The room was rather dark and humid, but clean. Great location, walking distance to all "sights" of Sechelt. I would not hesitate to stay again, if our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karin_B_10
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

My father and I shared a room (two double beds) for two nights at this motel while in Sechelt for my daughter's wedding. Other members of our family rented rooms there as well. We were supposedly given a $10/night discount as guests of the wedding, but it was still $139/night plus taxes. The front desk staff was unfriendly and rude...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stride62
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 11 October 2016

This two storey building is surprisingly ordinary in appearance for being an ocean front hotel, but i have to say that my stay there was pleasant and i would return. i'm not sure if all the rooms have similar floorpans and decor to mine, but unless they have some nicer rooms, i would not recommend this hotel as a romantic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bmoore747
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Not a whole lot of choices in Sechelt for accommodations that aren't B&B's, and I chose this one because it clearly had better reviews than the other options. While dated and lacking the modern conveniences of a newer place, it has been kept up very well and was very clean. Front desk service was quick and friendly, and the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spacemanspiff007
Gonor Station, Canada
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Front desk personnel were friendly,We arrived arrived just before eight and was told their restaurant closed at eight. Off to Mickie Dee the only thing we could find open. Back to the room. Not one available plug in. Front desk said they had several complaints and offered an extension cord. Simple solution, just buy lamps with plugs like most other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank william1148
BobCrosbie, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I am sorry that you had trouble finding a plug; not sure which room you had but we added more plugs to all the standard rooms on our renovation two years ago. We have tried to ensure there are plenty of plugs in all our rooms as we are well aware of the need...

Salmon Arm, Canada
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Beautiful ocean front room, clean, comfortable and the most helpful and accommodating staff ever...Love returning here every time we come to Sechelt!! View was amazing and even though we could only have the oceanfront room for one night...the staff was courteous and helpful and made us feel soon welcome!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurie L
BobCrosbie, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on TripAdvisor. We get many great comments here but much fewer online.

Cochrane, Canada
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We were just traveling through and only stayed here for one night. However the hotel and area were nice enough we wished we would have stayed another night. The Inn was clean, quiet and inexpensive. The hotel is a little bit older, but very well maintained. It is right on the coast, although only about 6 rooms face the water....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dvcooper
BobCrosbie, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review; we do try to keep the place in good shape. Nice to know that it is appreciated.

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sechelt
18.5 km away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
127 reviews
25.5 km away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
316 reviews
25.3 km away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 km away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
758 reviews
1.2 km away
Royal Reach Motel
Royal Reach Motel
#3 of 5 in Sechelt
16 reviews
8.4 km away
The Tuwanek Hotel
The Tuwanek Hotel
#2 of 26 in Sechelt
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Driftwood Inn is centrally located in Sechelt, the heart of the Sunshine Coast. We are on the waterfront only a few feet away from the beach. We offer a variety of rooms including standard doubles and king rooms plus waterfront rooms and suites. Our restaurant named Pebbles serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and specializes in west coast cuisine. We also have a meeting/function room that can seat up to 55 persons. We are close to shopping, banks and many recreational activities in the region. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Driftwood Inn

Address: 5454 Trail Avenue, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Price Range: ₹ 7,590 - ₹ 10,376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Driftwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Driftwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Driftwood Hotel Sechelt
The Driftwood Inn Sechelt, Sunshine Coast
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Driftwood Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
shanghai
rocketman000 Kamloops, Canada Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

I was just a guest- not the manager or owner. so, sorry, have no idea what the facilities are like for meetings. we were a tour group. good luck

over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Driftwood Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there are only two oceanfront rooms so book ahead!! well worth it!”
325lauriel, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“try to get an ocean view room”
dvcooper, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose ocean view on the second floor.”
willm652, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“best views, quiet, dog friendly”
Rolly118, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“Choose an "ocean-front" room.”
518zahidm, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5