We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Trailhead Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Trailhead Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Trailhead Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 74: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed first in a suite with the husband on the top floor of the suited building and then later in a cabin shared with friends on each end of our West Coast Trail hike last summer (just now remembered to review it). We basically chose the Trailhead because we booked last minute and they were one of the few places...

2Thank meeeohhmy
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in one of the hiker huts the night before we embarked on the West Coast Trail hike in July 2013. The place was perfect to meet our needs since we wanted a clean bed before we hit tents for the next week. The staff was also very helpful in making arrangements for us to take...

Thank Marc G
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Had an awesome time fishing and staying at Trailhead. Stayed 4 nights and fished 3 days. We had three guys in the group and caught our limit of fish. Fish cleaning, vacuum sealing and freezing done on site so it was ready for the flight home. Food was gourmet and couldn't have been better. Resort and lodge was great. Just...

1Thank CalgaryCouple_BT
Blind Bay, Canada
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Have had many great experiences while fishing with Trailhead Resort. These folks really know their stuff. Have tried other outfits fishing out of Port Renfrew but none compare to Trailhead it is what all the other outfitters strive to be, fantastic guides, clean comfortable and modern accomadations and down to earth people. Having fished the Queen Charlottes I have to...

1Thank shudann
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Like others have commented, we got bumped out of our Hiker Hilton into a suite which was not a suite but actually just a big room. The suite was nothing special with minimal towels and few amenities. Excessive noise from other guests coming and going early in the morning and late at night indicated that there was no insulation in...

1Thank Rustic-Ranger
Sechelt, Canada
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Trailhead is a focused charter fishing organization. We were a fishing group of four. We stayed 3 nights and fished two days. We caught our limit of fish and came home with each person having over 50 lbs of cleaned, portion packaged and frozen fish. I've many many trips there and every year is a little better. Food is gourmet,...

3Thank Ryleytoryn
Surrey, Canada
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I phoned to book a cabin for 5 adults a couple of weeks before arrival. After inquiring about the possibilities I was told that there was a new cabin available, the Hiker Hilton, which would suit our needs. Connie phoned 6 days before occupation date and left a message for me to call back about the reservation. When I returned...

8Thank A R
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Granted there aren't altogether THAT many option in Port Renfrew, but the Trailhead Resort proved to be an excellent home base for exploring the area before attempting the WCT. The rooms were spacious and the kitchenette was a great feature. Right across the street is the long term parking lot, and also where the WCT bus drops you off. We...

Thank Allen C
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I had booked a couple of nights at the Trailhead Resort as I was expecting to be on standby for the West Coast Trail and appreciated having a kitchenette for final food preparations. The place is good for having space to spread out, but unfortunately I was fooled by some website photos that made the place appear newer/cleaner. I am...

1Thank 478BarbaraB
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This place isn't a resort by any stretch of the imagination. The focus of the "resort" is on fishing charters & supplies. The room is large but basic except for a nice seascape mural over one bed, and sits above a fishing goods store & office.There are 2 beds, an important feature for my sister & me, a small bathroom,...

1Thank Treehiker97201
TCresort, General Manager at Trailhead Resort, responded to this review

We are sorry that you hada poor visit to trailhead but we are happy that you had such a great sleep in our resort. yes we do cater to a lot of fishers as the area is renowned for world class fishing and we also have a great deal of hiking enthusiiasts staying here as well. in regards to the...

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (60)
Dining (21)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Room/Suite (3)
Bathroom (2)
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (35)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Room/Suite (5)
View from Room (2)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Dining (1)
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Renfrew
33.4 km away
Van Riper's Resort
Van Riper's Resort
#1 of 5 in Sekiu
33 reviews
55.0 km away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort
55.6 km away
Sooke Harbour House
Sooke Harbour House
#2 of 3 in Sooke
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
#1 of 8 in Port Renfrew
54 reviews
1.3 km away
Big Fish Lodge
Big Fish Lodge
#2 of 8 in Port Renfrew
53 reviews
0.6 km away
Handsome Dan's Port Renfrew
Handsome Dan's Port Renfrew
#3 of 8 in Port Renfrew
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Trailhead Resort offers Port Renfrew accommodation two hours west of Victoria, Vancopuver Island, BC. We feature comfortable and spacious suites and cabins, with access to hot tubs and a fire pit, plus a BC fishing lodge for the exclusive use of our fishing charter guests. Explore the beauty of the west coast or sign up for one of our full-service Port Renfrew fishing charters to experience one of the most remote and legendary fishing locations in British Columbia. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Trailhead Resort

Address: 17268 Parkinson Rd | 17268 Parkinson Rd., Port Renfrew, British Columbia V0S 1K0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Renfrew
Price Range: ₹ 3,926 - ₹ 5,405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Trailhead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Trailhead Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Trailhead Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 3 was a suite. It was reasonably priced.”
 of 5 bubbles Firemonkey68, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The newer four (plus) person cabins are very roomy & comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles OneWayVancouver, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Please do not accept the Hikers Hilton - insist on staying in the main lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles 226iva, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“go somewhere else. They kept a lot of our salmon.”
 of 5 bubbles suzanneo66, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Triple confirm where you will be located on this property after booking, before arrival, and before you pay!”
  • Double mattress on lower twin-sized bunk of bunk bed. No beds in unit. Only bunks.
  • Poor lighting. Broken window (cracked & won't stay shut). No screen. Dirty. Candle 4 outhouse sm
  • Vice grip pliers to
 of 5 bubbles Mary_Anderson, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay