We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

South Country Inn

Booking.comUS$ 105*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
South Country Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 78: English reviews
Start your review of South Country Inn
 Click to rate
Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Best place in town. (The others are scary!) Huge room. Could have been a little cleaner (looked like pizza or pasta sauce stains on the rug! rQuiet except for other guests who insisted on slamming doors and having loud conversations in the hallway. And I was unlucky in that my room had the drainpipe running past it, so when it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Way2Tyred
Midway, Utah
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We spent two nights here while visiting Cardston. There is much good here and I'll mention it first. The clerk at the desk was very helpful in checking us in, recommending a place to eat and teaching an old techno-tard how to make the TV work. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The location is great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn J
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Very clean hotel and presented itself to be very homey style hotel. Good location right at the end of the Main Street in town. Pool was an added highlight for the kids to allow them to burn some energy. We stayed on the 3rd floor and found it to be very quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
Helena, Montana
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Our room also smelled funny and everything was damp-feeling. By the next morning, even our paperback books were curling. I think it must have been caused by the fan or A/C. The room was clean but dated. Pool looked nice but we didn't use it. We probably won't stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MontanaKim
Strathmore
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

This was our 1st stay at this Inn. The front staff were professional and very pleasant. Our room was clean, however there is an odd Oder in the room, (kind of a combination of urine and Muskie). We kept the window open all day hoping to air out the smell but it didn't happen. The smell continued to linger. Hopefully...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trevor G
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Arrived late without a reservation because Waterton was full. Check in and out was fast and very efficient. Wifi was free and very good. Bed was very comfortable TV worked great I did not us the pool area but there were a lot of people enjoying. Only complaint is the walls are thin and noise rather banging was easily heard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ERDFirefighter
Clara H, Manager at South Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you will take your issue to the owers.

Greenville, Texas
Reviewed 21 August 2016

So we cut our camping in Glacier National Park short by a night because the night was cold and rainy. With no reservations, I tried to find somewhere to stay in Alberta before we headed to Waterton. With just a few minutes of cell service, I discovered South Country Inn online and called to inquire about a reservation. The VERY...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank merdyl11
Clara H, Manager at South Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for rave review. Hope you get to come again and stay for the mini-chucks.

hjf46
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

We ended up here in the middle of the night because our reservation in Mountain View was given away. I was very grateful they had a room available! We only stayed one night. The room was dated but clean. There are no elevators and no breakfast, but it seemed like the best option in Cardston.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hjf46
Clara H, Manager at South Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.

Calgary, AB
Reviewed 4 August 2016

We stayed here on our way to Montana as it is close to the border and is the best rated hotel in Cardston. The room was very clean (as were the hallways and pool area), the beds were comfy and the furniture, although a bit dated, was in decent shape so even though it is older nothing appeared to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suebee07
Clara H, Manager at South Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are working on upgrades but it does takes time.

Prince Albert, SK
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We booked this hotel as it was the best-rated hotel of the 3 in Cardston. Although the rooms are a bit tired and dated, we were pleasantly surprised by how comfy the bed was and at the amazingly soft towels in the bathroom!! The staff was nice and helpful, we had an issue in our room that the bathroom light...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Advisor21
Clara H, Manager at South Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again soon.

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardston
0.7 km away
The Outpost Motel
The Outpost Motel
#2 of 3 in Cardston
33 reviews
23.0 km away
Bear Country Inn and Suites
Bear Country Inn and Suites
#2 of 2 in Mountain View
20 reviews
39.8 km away
Montana's Duck Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 km away
Rocky Ridge Country Lodge
Rocky Ridge Country Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mountain View
103 reviews
0.6 km away
Cobblestone Manor
Cobblestone Manor
#2 of 3 in Cardston
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about South Country Inn

Address: 404 Main Street, Cardston, Alberta T0K 0K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Cardston
Price Range: ₹ 6,352 - ₹ 7,411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your South Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Country Inn Hotel Cardston
South Country Hotel
Country Inn Cardston
Cardston Country Inn
South Country Inn Cardston, Alberta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from South Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away from the back corner near the drainpipe.”
Way2Tyred, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There is a basement, so rooms that start with "2" are actually the main floor.”
merdyl11, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“No elevator but only 3 floors. All rooms the same I believe.”
Flogger21, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“As there is little traffic through Cardston in the night, there is no real need to select a room away from the road. If you are good with stairs, I would suggest an upper room as the floors are a little thin and regular walking around above can be easily heard in the room below.”
K5077PXdavidh, 16 Sep 2013 | Read review
“After wandering around town, we ate at Athens restaurant. One of the best in town.”
tdrager, 11 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 105* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 105
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates