We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shipka Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shipka Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 85: English reviews
Start your review of Shipka Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We were 3 girls and we went on August 2015. Shipka is a nice hotel but of cheap quality and not very welcoming staff. However, we haven't stayed much in our room, so we can't argue about the service. Extra bed wasn't comfortable. Breakfast was okay. Comparing to other 4 stars hotels, Shipka is not worth the fourth star.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcelle H
Nada E, Guest Relations Manager at Shipka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marcelle H, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I hope you have enjoyed your holiday at Shipka Hotel and I do apologise that you did not felt welcomed by the staff. Usually the front of house crew are very friendly and there to serve your needs. In future, I would suggest in case you are...

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Okay hotel. Food average for the price could expect anything more. Don't come to late in the sumer because we came on the 24th September and everything was closing. But Peter the pool barman made our holiday he was good company.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jade C
Shumen, Bulgaria
Reviewed 26 September 2016

The location of the hotel is very good, Wi-fi is strong and the rooms are fine. Nice pools, sauna and steam bath! But the staff is not trained and maybe missing their first seven years as they don't know how to say "Hello", "Good bye", "May I take your plate?", etc. In the restaurant you should look for your plate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aneliastd
Nada E, Guest Relations Manager at Shipka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear aneliastd, Thank you for this review. I am glad that you have enjoyed the location and the hotel amenities like the pool and recreation facilities, we did a partial renovation which is ongoing this winter for the next season, for more benefits for our guets! I am taking into consideration all of the said above and will address the...

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Stayed in the Shipka Hotel for two weeks ,the hotel is quiet as the bar is at the other end of the pool.the staff need customer relation training as the girl on the door started shouting at an elderly gent for taking an apple out of the restaurant there were a few instances like that no need to shout a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Honeymonster2014
Nada E, Guest Relations Manager at Shipka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Honeymonster2014, Thank you for the time to write this review. I am sad to hear that your expectations were not met and I will look into the matter with the maids and the front of house personnel. Taking food out of the restaurant is not allowed, however chosing the right way to expalin that is a must. So please...

Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

I normally do not write reviews even after a bad experience, but this hotel stay was so awful that i just had to share it with the administration members surely reading these reviews. The location of the hotel is good and the rooms are fine. But what was really upseting was the level of unprofessionalism of the staff (excluding Peter...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank desiree e
Nada E, Guest Relations Manager at Shipka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear desiree e, Thank you for the time to write this review. Wearing the bracelet shows the hotel staff wether the guest can have certain meal- breakfast, lunch, dinner and it is mandatory to be worn by the guest during the stay at the hotel. However, raising the tone is not an appropriate way to treat our guests and I...

Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

We reached the hotel at 12:00 am , the lobby was very crowd and unorganized,we take our room the bathroom was very very very dirty, we call the reception the answer was that they cant do anything about it till the second day, also the stuff was very rude and unfriendly.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lizasallakian
Yerevan
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Good location for reaching the beach, but bad location, because nearby hotels are very noisy. Very, very, very bad wi-fi in the room, average wifi in reception and near pool. Very, very, very bad working lifts. Very sad staff, especially in restaurant and abnormal staff in reception. We have ordered room with sea view, but we get a room with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank araycho
Nada E, Guest Relations Manager at Shipka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear araycho, Thank you for your comment. Shipka Hotel has one of the best locations in the resort and we market ourself being close to the beach and to the market street full with shops and bars. Therefore, especially in high-season July-August it may be noisier due to the fact that the resort is full with people. I hope the...

Schoneiche, Germany
Reviewed 27 August 2016

The Food wasn't the best, but you aren't in golden sands to eat. The Barkeeper(Poolbar) has a very nice bird and he looks very rich with his gold chain. He is a very nice guy (nohomo). If i come back the this Hotel, it's because of Peter an the bird.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HallebAndy
Nada E, Guest Relations Manager at Shipka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HallebAndy, Thank you for your comment. I have passed the message to Peter and we are all welcoming you again this summer! Best wishes from the hotel team

merseyside
Reviewed 11 August 2016

went on the 2nd of July and we have been there about 3 times but didn't enjoy it this year because it was vey loud with banging all times of the night and shouting, in the day someone was playing music for hours on end that gave u a banging headache. cant fault the hotel that was still clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pandapop5
Nada E, Guest Relations Manager at Shipka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pandapop5, Thank you for taking the time to write this comment. We are very happy that you have been a repeated guest and we would like to see you again!! The hotel has a great location near the beach and a lively street across. But, as you have mentioned, some things are not in our control - such as...

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Hotel overall was somewhat dull, the rooms were OK, however, the breakfast and evening meals were just awful. In fact the evening meals were so poor that despite having paid for half board, we ate out 5 nights out of 7. At breakfast they would run out of bread rolls by 9am!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
Nada E, Guest Relations Manager at Shipka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul B, Thank you for sharing your experience. I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy the evening buffet selection at the restaurant. However, we are very flexible and in such case you could always opt-out and swich to a-la-carte option. I can see from your visit that you have been on holiday in the peak season...

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (99)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden Sands hotels
0.3 km away
Bonita Hotel
Bonita Hotel
#59 of 109 in Golden Sands
92 reviews
0.4 km away
Perla Hotel
Perla Hotel
#88 of 109 in Golden Sands
122 reviews
1.8 km away
Lilia Hotel
Lilia Hotel
#18 of 109 in Golden Sands
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#53 of 109 in Golden Sands
40 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#13 of 109 in Golden Sands
182 reviews
0.3 km away
Tintyava Hotel
Tintyava Hotel
#87 of 109 in Golden Sands
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Shipka Hotel

Address: Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Price Range: ₹ 2,474 - ₹ 5,950 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shipka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shipka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shipka Hotel Golden Sands
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Golden Sands
#21 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shipka Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Shipka Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room high up and on the pool side .”
 of 5 bubbles pandapop5, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors are better and not faced to the street”
 of 5 bubbles 122lilla, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“the rooms in the taller part of the building are much better”
 of 5 bubbles danamadalina, 14 Sep 2015 | Read review
“High floors with rooms facing the main street are nice”
 of 5 bubbles PascaleK_11, 7 Aug 2015 | Read review
“The upper floors have the best sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles harryg665, 6 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5