We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 109: English reviews
Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewed 29 June 2015

The location is just perfect. A full sensation of staying in an island surrounded by the blue and green Indic ocean. The hotel/ villas are not the last concept in terms of architecture lines and amenities could be improved, but this is fully balance by: comfortable villas (cozy, with enough privacy and wonderful bed), outstanding staff, fully committed to provide...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bruno P
Manager_Medjumbe, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bruno, Thank you very much for your review very appreciative of the 50 shades of turquoise Medjumbe offers... The soon-to-begin refurbishment will embrace the traditional local style with a touch of modern luxury. The subtle changes will make the biggest difference but we will keep Medjumbe DNA intact while staying up to date with new concepts and amenities. You...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 15 June 2015

We spent 5 nights at Medjumbe celebrating our honeymoon and we had a fantastic time. Medjumbe island really is a special place which has to be seen to be believed. All of the management and staff were attentive and entertaining and they ensured that we had a memorable stay. We were very happy with our beach chalet which lent itself...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
Manager_Medjumbe, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sally, Thank you very much for that lovely review which has been shared with the whole team and for putting time and feelings into it. Whether you look for fun and unparalleled underwater world as divers or a sheltered place to hide your new engagement in total privacy, Medjumbe is the place to be! Looking forward to seeing you...

Reviewed 8 June 2015

This place is, as the title of this review suggests, absolutely incredible. My wife and I were there for our honeymoon and could not be happier with the time we were on Medjumbe. Anne and the entire staff made our trip unforgettable. From start to finish, this was an amazing experience. Starting with your arrival, being greeted by the staff,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Eric N
Manager_Medjumbe, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Eric, We would like to thank you for the thoughtful review you took the time to write. I was impressed by the length of it and the wealth of details given in terms of immigration and logistics: thank you very much! this is indeed very helpful to have a first hand experience shared online. We are glad your stay...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 31 May 2015

Five years ago we visited Medjumbe for our 25th wedding anniversary and had an absolutely fantastic time! We decided to celebrate our 30th anniversary at Medjumbe and we hoped that it would be just as good. Thanks to Jonathan the Resort Manager, Nick the Head Chef and Joanne the Spa/Beauty Therapist and all the staff - Tome, Adamo, Riquitto, Shorty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ACSuth
Manager_Medjumbe, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Gillian and Andrew, We are delighted you enjoyed your second stay with us and thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. The team has been proud to read your review. You are right, the staff and the location make it all, it is a very special place far from the madding world... You are...

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 19 April 2015

With light clouds in the sky and even a thunderstorm Medjumbe became " island in the sun " for us, due to the warmth of the services and the exclusivity of the nature we enjoyed. We felt to be provided with first rate service despite the fact that the villas and facilities are asking for refurbishment. Free wifi in lounge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harald S
Manager_Medjumbe, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Harald, Many thanks for your appraisals shared with the staff and sunny Medjumbe is missing your good stories and happy laughs we had before dinner! After the refurbishment, you will come again to share more and we will make sure to keep the nature intact and protected for you to enjoy. We are looking forward to seeing you again!...

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2015

My husband and I have just returned from magical holiday on the island of Medjumbe. The island for us was heaven on earth as we were so spoilt not only by the magnificent natural beauty but by Ann and her staff. The chefs prepared delicious meals , Tiago was always amiable to help us with the different activities – scuba...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helena C
Manager_Medjumbe, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Helena, The staff of Medjumbe would like to thank you for your excellent review and sharing with us your love for our little paradise. You have a point, Medjumbe is all about a unique location, tailor-made service and spectacular diving and snorkeling (without forgetting being pampered by our therapist!). Renovations will be done this year for our guests to...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 23 March 2015

This area is not so well known yet. It was a amazing surprise to find this place, the sand, the water, the service, the food... truly a diamond at the Indian Ocean. Really small, for lovers of beach and relax destinations.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jimenairobito
Manager_Medjumbe, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jimenairobito, Thank you so much for your appreciation of Medjumbe and we are glad you have enjoyed your stay among us from service to food without forgetting the island and the surroundings. Although we would like to keep it a secret, we happily share the beauties of this tiny hidden gem with all our guests. Because there is little...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 17 March 2015

This most beautiful of islands is more or less situated in the middle of the Indian ocean far from the mad pace of everyday life. The days there are timeless. If peace and quiet, beautiful sun, sand and the bluest of seas is your thing, this is the place to be. We have visited many places in Mozambique, and this...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wendythedogsaver
Manager_Medjumbe, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Wendy, Thank you very much for being our guests and taking the time to share with us your deep appreciation of Medjumbe. The island certainly cast a spell with its timeless quiet atmosphere!. The cell phone connectivity is limited...or growing lazy for enjoying too much the island?! (Movitel network) but this also helps our guests to disconnect and that...

London
Reviewed 2 March 2015

We were here for a week on our honeymoon, and had a really wonderful time. The feeling of being somewhere so remote simply cannot be put into words, and it is probably the most peaceful place we have ever been. Unfortunately we were a bit unlucky with the wind, so didn't have as many opportunities to be out on the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Traveller_C_London
Manager_Medjumbe, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Traveller_C_London, Thank you for sharing with us your experience in Medjumbe, it is true that the location is unique and serene and always an enchantment for our guests. It is unfortunate that the weather conditions were not perfect but we are glad you enjoyed your diving all the same. Since you have stayed with us, last July, we have...

Reviewed 28 February 2015

We have been there ONLY 2 days (wish we were there for a month or more...) at the end of February. The island is wonderful with white sand and crystal clear water. During low-tide the island doubles its size and you can walk for hours with amazing sceneries. Medjumbe is way way better than any other beach/island we have visited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WalterDubai
Manager_Medjumbe, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Walter, Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us and the whole staff also keeps fond memories of you two. We felt very privileged to share with you that moment of serenity and thank you for choosing us for that new threshold in your lives. You are part of the family now...

330 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (218)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Other (106)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (112)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (46)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quirimbas Archipelago
0.0 km away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#1 of 22 in Maputo
383 reviews
0.0 km away
Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts
0.0 km away
Dugong Beach Lodge
Dugong Beach Lodge
#4 of 8 in Vilanculos
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Maputo
0.0 km away
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Bazaruto Island
412 reviews
0.0 km away
White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort & Spa is a small and remote 5 star and multi award winning Island resort. It is a 50 min flight from the nearest town Pemba. The island is 1km long and 300m wide at the widest point. It has no mobile phone reception due to its remoteness. It has some of the best diving in the world with pristine corals and a wide selection of fish. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort

Address: Quirimbas Archipelago, Cabo Delgado Province 0000, Mozambique (Formerly Medjumbe Private Island)
Region: Mozambique > Cabo Delgado Province > Quirimbas Archipelago
Price Range: ₹ 56,644 - ₹ 71,248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Jovago.com, Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Coventry, United Kingdom
sydney

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All villas are excellently positioned for privacy and view.”
 of 5 bubbles arthursrestpn, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We loved 11 as it was remote enough to be removed from the main building but close enough not to be a long walk home”
 of 5 bubbles CarylRichmond, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good but I'd suggest rooms 11 and 12”
 of 5 bubbles Mpresicce, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“all Lodges comparable”
 of 5 bubbles reneschmed, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All good, but further away from the main lodge is totally silent (can hear slight hum of machinery in chalets closest to main lodge.)”
 of 5 bubbles SkyeJess, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay