We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Maclear Manor B&B

TripAdvisorUS$ 55*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lowest price we found
US$ 55*
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Maclear Manor B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 22: English reviews
Start your review of Maclear Manor B&B
 Click to rate
Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were received in a very friendly, but somewhat confused way - had difficulty, getting clear directions. We were helped with kindness, which we appreciated greatly. Some features - ground in the bath to prevent guests using them - seemed a bit strange! Couldn't one just turn off the water supply? And unfortunately the breakfast - served to two very...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank L3006UAmariao
NoelEc, Owner at Maclear Manor B&B, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our guesthouse. As the owner it is satisfying to hear that you were helped with kindness. In the interest of water conservation the baths were decommissioned by putting a layer of pot plant soil inside, with a placard explaining the reason. Simply turning off the water supply as you suggested...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived after 9pm but keys were left and access was easy. Rooms are quite cluttered but bed was very comfortable and we slept well. Breakfast was interesting with lots of choices but butter was rancid. There were lots of crocheted items on the table - very busy. Dawn was very friendly and is obviously very proud of her house....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gwynnethv2017
NoelEc, Owner at Maclear Manor B&B, responded to this review

Dear Maclear Manor Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment. I am glad that you found our beds comfortable. I am however surprised and disappointed that the butter was rancid, we have never had any issue with this before, and as I use the same butter daily, can unfortunately not explain why yours was rancid. Due...

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Lovely property and a lovely separate building that we stayed in. Attention to detail in both our room and the dining room was first class. Wonderfully helpful hosts and staff. Breakfast was superb. I would definitely recommend this place for a stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian P
NoelEc, Owner at Maclear Manor B&B, responded to this review

Dear Gillian, Thank you so much for this wonderful review, so good you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope we get to welcome you back next time you travel to Maclear. Kind regards Noël

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely venue high on the hillside overlooking Maclear. Very friendly reception from the owner Dawn . Nice room with bathroom en suite large fridge/ Freezer and microwave Sherry and chocolates on the pillows. Excellent breakfast with all Get guests around a big square table

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Supa7WP
NoelEc, Owner at Maclear Manor B&B, responded to this review

Dear Maclear Manor Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Maclear. Kind regards Noël

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Well signposted, secure, warmly welcoming, providing careful attention to detail and super comfortable with everything you need for an overnight stay. This is an ideal stopover between Durban and the Eastern Cape. I would definitely stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui S
NoelEc, Manager at Maclear Manor B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Maclear Manor, and your kind comments. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you pass through Maclear.

Richards Bay, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Staying over in Maclear was a spur of the moment decision, one that we'll never regret. Not knowing what to expect I phoned and immediately knew this is the place for us. We were welcomed like old friends and were not left on our own to figure out what to do about supper. The directions were precise and the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fransa v
NoelEc, Owner at Maclear Manor B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Maclear Manor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back on your next journey!

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 20 December 2016

The room was clean but dark with no view at all. Bad joke that it was called Nkandla but looked out onto a swimming pool filled with sand. There are other rooms inside the house with nice views however. Breakfast was very nice but why serve it with salad and cold corn kernels? The host was very pleasantired.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank F5810JMtracyc
NoelEc, Owner at Maclear Manor B&B, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not specify a room with a view when you booked, we would have done our best to accommodate you. Nkandla (Room 7) that you stayed in is one of our most popular rooms, the name was given by one our guests. In the interest of water conservation (and due to our cool climate) we...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 6 July 2016

We spent a short 2 day stay at Maclear Manor en route to Tiffendell. What a pleasant surprise to find this gem of a guest house in the small town of Maclear. Well appointed rooms and excellent service made this a wonderful 2 days for us. Dawn was an exemplary host who made us feel at home and spared no...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
NoelEc, Manager at Maclear Manor B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, your inspiring comment is really appreciated by me, my management and staff. We look forward to hosting tou again some time in the future.

Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

Myself and my family stopped over on short notice and were pleasantly surprised. Never before have we been so impressed with a Bed and Breakfast. Beds were comfy and breakfast was awesome. This guest house may have a 3 star rating but we recieved 5 star service! Anyone passing through Maclear and needing a stopover should look no further. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Excellent service ,save parking , spacious rooms ,lovely breakfast , good value ;Noel and Dawn were very friendly and also arranged a dinner venue for the Sunday evening (all the regulars were closed), Best equipped guestroom I have ever slept in !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louwrens T

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maclear hotels
1.2 km away
Alpine Bed and Breakfast
17.7 km away
Woodcliffe Country House
0.0 km away
Fairbairn Guest Farm
Fairbairn Guest Farm
#1 of 4 in Maclear
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Oak Lane B&B
Oak Lane B&B
#5 of 6 in Maclear
4 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Maclear Manor offers the ideal retreat destination for anyone seeking a break away to the country side. Situated in the beautiful town of Maclear in the North Eastern Cape, the stunning scenery and mountains offer the ideal backdrop for any moment.We offer the perfect stop for anyone visiting or travelling through the area. Located in a quiet cul-de sac, Maclear Manor offers its guests tranquillity away from the bustle of town. All our rooms have private bathrooms and are equipped with DSTV, fridge, microwave and electric blankets. Indoor braai facilities, undercover parking and wi-fi available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maclear Manor B&B

Address: 9 Schmidt Street | Maclear, Maclear 5480, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Maclear
Price Range: ₹ 3,103 - ₹ 3,620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maclear Manor B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Maclear Manor B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maclear Manor B&B staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Maclear Manor B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose any room, but ask for the cottage if you have a dog.”
johnstone_ad, 12 Jan 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in their upstairs room and will defiantly request this room again, as it has a private balcony to sit on - especially as it was in the high 30's when we visited.”
Aherin, 2 Apr 2013 | Read review
2 of 2
TripAdvisor
US$ 55* /night
View Deal
Travelocity
Priceline
Hotels.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates