We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shell Island Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

929 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Shell Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 927: English reviews
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Reviewed 12 August 2015

I attended a conference the first week in August. This place is awesome! The staff was professional, friendly and courteous and the accommodations were great. The food provided by the hotel was great as well. I want to send out a special thank you to George and his staff for all their hard work a dedication to customer service, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian1402014
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Brian1402014, Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent visit. We're glad your conference was a success and that you enjoyed the accommodations. Please be sure to visit again when time permits. Kindest Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

Pittsboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 12 August 2015

The entrance is lovely but don't be fooled. This place gives "resort" a bad name. From the crowded small lobby to being given the possibly worst room in the complex we were gravely disappointed. This was to be a three-day stay to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary and we expressed this to the folks at the front desk. They were...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank Dinah M
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dinah M, We're glad you were able to find accommodations that were more to your liking. We wish you and your husband many more years of marital bliss. Warm Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

Thomasville, North Carolina
Reviewed 9 August 2015

I recently attended a conference at Wrightsville Beach. George took care of us and made sure we had everything we needed. Shell Island Resort is a great place for holding a conference, reunion, wedding, etc. The rooms were clean, the food was outstanding, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Every room is ocean front, so you can't beat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sebas1413
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sebas1314, We're glad you enjoyed your visit with us. George and his staff enjoyed every last minute of your visit, and we all look forward to your return. Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 8 August 2015

This is a great place for a conference. Although it rained 3 of the 5 days I was there it was a great place to be. The area has lots of restaurants, shopping and beaches. Very relaxing area. No worries.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Miguel S
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Miguel S, Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. We're sorry it rained while you were here, so you'll just have to come back again! George and his staff will be ready for you. Kind Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 8 August 2015

This is a great spot to head to for a summer get-away. It is right on the beach and every... EVERY room has an ocean view. Extremely convenient to keep everyone entertained: easy walk to the beach and ocean, two pool options, restaurant in the building. And in the room: two flat screen TVs, private balcony that looks out to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bean3372
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you, Bean3327 for your kind words. It was our pleasure accommodating you, and we look forward to many more return visit. Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewed 8 August 2015

Room was clean. Attended this hotel on a business trip last week. The staff was great and George kept us going. Great job ! A beautiful relaxing place to visit. The accommodations are great. You can rent anything from a chair to surf lessons. I would go back again.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Angela B
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Angela B, Your kind words are greatly appreciated. It was our pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to seeing you again. PS Your mention of the surf lessons is greatly appreciated! Kind Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

Reviewed 8 August 2015

Every room at this hotel/resort has an ocean view! Just beautiful! The rooms are a little dated, but clean and liveable. The pool was nice, a little dated as well. Staff was very friendly. This hotel is located on the end of the island and surrounded by ocean/wetlands on 3 sides. Just amazing views. Restaurant was ok, a little over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Maria B, Thank you for writing about your visit with us. We're glad you found everything to your liking. You input about the restaurant pricing has been duly noted, as we rely heavily on the feedback from our guests. Thanks again for your kind words, and your business. We hope to see you again. Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service...

Wendell, North Carolina
Reviewed 7 August 2015

After attending a five day conference at the hotel, I have to say that the facilities are very good and the staff extremely accommodating. All of the staff that I had the chance to interact with were very personable and helpful. The family greatly enjoyed the facilities and the room was well kept. The grounds are visually pleasing and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timothy A
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Timothy A, Thanks for your kind words toward our facility and our staff. It's always a pleasure when the staff is acknowledged for their efforts. Please be sure to come see us again when time permits. Kind Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

Youngsville, North Carolina
Reviewed 7 August 2015

I attended a conference this week and brought my family along. The facilities were great and the staff was exceptional. George went beyond the norm to make sure we were taken care of. Everyone was friendly and the attention we got at our meetings and the attention my family got while I was in class was first rate! We will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathan141632
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest's and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Warm Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Reviewed 7 August 2015

I attended a conference and the worker George did an outstanding job assisting us all week it should be noted that this employee should get a promotion George is like family to our group. We look forwarded to returning and using this location as our meet place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank policeking
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Thanks Policeking! It was our pleasure to serve you, and we look forward to many more opportunities! On behalf of George and his entire staff, thank you for your business. Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

965 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (340)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Other (108)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (599)
Viewed
Amenities (69)
Viewed
Beach (23)
Viewed
Pool (38)
Viewed
Premium Double Full Kitchen Suite (76)
Viewed
Premium King Corner Full Kitchen Suite (71)
Viewed
Premium King Corner Suite (78)
Viewed
Premium King Suite (78)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Standard Double Corner Suite (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
5.4 km away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#6 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
118 reviews
4.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
5.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
25.1 km away
Courtyard Carolina Beach Oceanfront
24.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Address: 2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: ₹ 8,988 - ₹ 24,014 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shell Island Resort staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Shell Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are Ocean View, great location”
 of 5 bubbles portergg, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all of the rooms have an ocean view and well appointed kitchens !”
 of 5 bubbles kingtutNorthCarolina, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Maybe higher than 2nd floor for better views”
 of 5 bubbles WI_Muskego, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“book elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles CJS1958, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have an ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles MammaTraveler, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5