We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shell Island Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

948 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Shell Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 946: English reviews
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

A friend of mine from out of town wanted to go to dinner at the beach, so we decided with Shell Island. We were helped by Morgan and Joan, and had the best service we could have possibly asked for. Not only were they knowledgeable about the menu, both bar and restaurant, but offered incredible hospitality. We will make it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ayla K
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you, Ayla for taking the time to write about your recent experience in our restaurant. We're glad you were so impressed with Morgan and Joan, and we'll be sure to pass your kind words along to them. Kind Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

Ironton, Ohio
Reviewed 20 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed here years ago and was nice Not now Run down, in need of new carpet, beds are too small and hard, appliances old, furniture needs replaced Was in indoor pool looking up at fiberglass panels that should be replaced Other than the view it was bad enough that we demanded our money and moved down the street

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank jtchevelle
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

On behalf of the entire staff at Shell Island Resort, please accept our apologies for your experience. We wish you well in your future travels. Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

Suffolk, Virginia
Reviewed 16 November 2015

Enjoyed breakfast at the restaurant in Shell Island Resort and wanted to express with pleasure, the service we received each time we ate there by one particular server named Dylan. He never hesitated to provide whatever we needed and paid close attention to details such as refilling our beverages without us having to ask. Very professional and friendly - makes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Linda M, Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. We hope to have many more opportunities to serve you in the future, and your kind words will be shared with Dylan. Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

Watha, North Carolina
Reviewed 14 November 2015

I loved staying at Shell Island. great room, great view. good prices in November. Would recommend to anyone and go back anytime. Has pool, TV, restaurant. free parking under shelter, elevator, two rooms together= kitchen, balcony.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lewiskitty
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Thanks, lewiskitty for taking the time to write about your vacation spent with us. We're happy you were so pleased with everything. Please come back to see us again when time permits! Kind Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Reviewed 9 November 2015

We held our daughters wedding ceremony and reception here and family members rented rooms here as well. Leigh was the coordinator throughout the process and went out of her way to ensure we were satisfied and un-stressed about any of the details. She offered advise and made several recommendations for everything from table linens to flowers to lighting! She provided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Susan, Thank you for your kind words. We're glad you and your guests were so pleased with everything, and we hope to see you all again sometime in the future. On behalf of Leigh and George, thank you for putting your trust in us! Warm Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

Greenville, North Carolina
Reviewed 9 November 2015

If you ever need a wedding venue, I definitely recommend Shell Island Resort. My husband and I had both our ceremony and reception in the Ocean Ballroom. The view was absolutely breathtaking. George and James were phenomenal and made everything from set-up to execution perfect. The staff was extremely friendly and provided outstanding service. The rooms were beautiful and clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CrystalKirsanova
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you, Crystal for writing such a lovely review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and we're glad that you were so pleased with everything. On behalf of Leigh, George and James, thank you for putting your trust in us. We hope to see you again sometime in the near future. Warmest Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

Wilmington, NC
Reviewed 8 November 2015

This was our third stay and it is consistently going down hill. We had our wedding reception here five years ago and came for our anniversary last year and again this year. While our unit last year was good (newly renovated unit) the maintenance levels had slumped. This year (our last) the place was terrible. The unit was not clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank OldBristolSailor
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is important to us, and we're sorry we weren't able to meet your expectations as in the past. If there's anything I can do to be of further assistance please feel free to contact me directly. It would be my pleasure to speak to you. Kind Regards, Todd...

Fulton, Missouri
Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

We enjoyed our visit with y'all, especially because of our restaurant experience. Breakfast will never be the same without Dylan, who is multi talented: efficient yet funny and friendly, you feel well taken care of, , affects whole rest of day's mood! Everyone in the kitchen was great: friendly, courteous.... What else could we ask for!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Elizabeth, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is important to us, and we'll be sure to pass your kind words along to Dylan. Kind Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager (910) 256-8696

Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

Dylan was hilarious and a good waiter who deserves a good review. Restaurant manager John was also a gem and everyone provided great service. Nice selection - Belgian waffles on point! Mi Casa su casa!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren L
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Lauren L, Thanks for your kind words. We'll be sure to pass them along to Dylan and Joseph, and we hope to see you again. Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager

Palm Desert, California, United States
Reviewed 6 November 2015 via mobile

This was a lovely spot to have a lunch out on the patio overlooking the ocean. Ryan was an entertaining waiter. I followed up my luncheon by making a Thanksgiving reservation for my family. A great private spit to enjoy out turkey dinner, then walk the beach afterwards.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
Todd R, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Mary M, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Forgive me, I am behind in responding to reviews, so I can only hope that you enjoyed your Thanksgiving meal with us as well. Hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Todd Rogers Guest Service Manager (910) 256-8696

980 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (355)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (115)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (599)
Viewed
Amenities (69)
Viewed
Beach (23)
Viewed
Pool (38)
Viewed
Premium Double Full Kitchen Suite (76)
Viewed
Premium King Corner Full Kitchen Suite (71)
Viewed
Premium King Corner Suite (78)
Viewed
Premium King Suite (78)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Standard Double Corner Suite (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
5.4 km away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
123 reviews
4.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
4.7 km away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
24.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
25.1 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Address: 2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: ₹ 13,381 - ₹ 25,016 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shell Island Resort staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Shell Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Every room is oceanfront with a full kitchenette, 1 1/2 bath and a pull out sleeper sofa.”
Beachirl, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The rooms on the first floor are behind the dunes so therefore have no ocean view.”
Y6335GKangelab, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room/suite away from the elevator”
P5979BZrobertd, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are Ocean View, great location”
portergg, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all of the rooms have an ocean view and well appointed kitchens !”
kingtutNorthCarolina, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5